We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dai Pera Istanbul Cuisine

Dai Pera Istanbul Cuisine
Reserve with
Dai Pera Istanbul Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Description: Dai Pera situated very close to Galata Tower, Istiklal Street, St. Antoine Church. Dai Pera is a small authentic restaurant presenting home style Istanbul Cusine. The Chef Arzu Gurdamar owns and runs the place and personally approaches and serves the guests explaining her dishes.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This cosy place is located in the heart of Taksim. The hospitality and the food was fantastic. I will visit again next time I visit Istanbul!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    87
    17
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, very nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Good istanbul cuisine, good turkish wines - a little bit expensive.
Very nice and cosy atmosphere.
Nice and polite staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAZIL
Level Contributor
355 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Narrow and Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very cosy restaurant in a busy alley!
I loved its wine chart, tasted good Turkish Wines and asked for Dai Pera's main dish.
No relevant cons.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandreBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Most disappointing dining experience in Beyoglu.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We picked this restaurant because it was the restaurant with the best reviews in the vicinity of our hotel. I also checked the restaurant website and got a good impression.
When we entered the restaurant we were given a tiny table with two chairs very close the the neighbouring chairs. The restaurant looked good with eye for decoration. The other guests were all rather young locals and/or travellers and this did not not seem to correspond with the impression we got from the reviews.
We chose three mezzes: olives with walnut, roasted carrots with creamy yoghurt and zucchini with crumbled almonds. The arrived on rather small dishes (half the size of normal mezze dishes). We tried all but were quite disappointed with the tastes. The olives were rather sour (our mistake maybe because the menu mentioned the pomegranate molasses), the creamy yoghurt was quite sour and all but creamy, and the zucchini was served in sour yoghurt (which was not mentioned on the menu). The crumbled almonds were represented by some brown crumbs on top. Even though the dishes were small we did not finish any of them.
For main courses we had chosen the lamb and artichoke and the sole fish sauté. The lamb was recommended in the other reviews. The lamb was served in a green brown sauce with brown rice and some salad. the sole fish turned out to be cubed strips of fish in an orangebrown sauce (certainly not tasting of saffron) with brown reheated mashed potatoes (which chef ever serves fish with mashed potatoes?). This fish was not sole. I tried some pieces and was very disgusted with the taste of the fish in the sauce and with the mashed potatoes. The waiter had noticed my disappointment and immediately offered me to choose another dish free of charge. However my partner was not really enjoying the lamb and we decided to give up this restaurant. When I complained that the fish on my plate was not sole, he just said: "we use frozen fish". Really! in this city where there is fresh fish all around. And why call it sole if it is not?
The good thing was that they did not charge me for the main course.
However I really wonder how this restaurant got all these good reviews. I would certainly never recommend this restaurant when there are so many better dining places in Beyoglu.
Also the prices on the menu are far too much for what is served. The dishes are just small quantities, not like most restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LinAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning contemporary meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Serious cocktails and stunning food! Relaxed atmosphere with pleasantly surprising decor details. Good english from our servers allowed us a relaxing break from the hectic main streets. Definately worth making time for a visit for drinks or dinner or both. Our lamb dishes were exceptional and the long island ice tea and lynchburg lemonade cocktails were impressive ( taste &appearance). Good music, great location, a treasure to have found midst the bright lights and boom of the main streets.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M0LDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dai Pera Istanbul Cuisine also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Dai Pera Istanbul Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing