We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, great price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Levanten Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Levanten Hostel
Ranked #70 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience, great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've been there for 2 nights and the hostel is really clean the personal of the hostel are great and always want to reccomend about some places and things that a turist must know about Istanbul, its well located near to the taksim square so also you can take some kebabs for a good price, its near to the port and to the metro and tram! Defenitly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRUNOY707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
6
17
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been in this hostel with my friend for my holiday, It was so great place, The staffs were so friendly and they always provide to you feel yourself like in your home, The rooms and bathrooms were so clean, they really care about the cleanup,Also Levanten is just 5 minutes to city center by walk, I think if u ll go to Istanbul,Levanten Hostel is good choice,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elwira22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Pomorskie, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went to Istanbul for 3 days with my friends and we stayed in Levanten and it was reallyyy great hostel, close to the city center and seaside. The rooms and bathrooms were clean .They are always trying to keep clean bathrooms. The staff was friendly , they always helped us, If you want they always arrange some sightseeing and it's really great. So finally, if you are in Istanbul and you are staying in Levanten you will feel yourself like at home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one week and had a great experience. The rooms were very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the hostel, in general, was clean and everything was quiet for good sleeping. The price was good for a double room with a clothing cabinet that was useful for our extended stay. The kitchen is quite small, but it is manageable if people share and alternate usage time. The bathroom was painted one day, but the smell disappeared after just 24 hours (it is necessary to paint sometimes so there is no reason to be irrationally upset). The hostel is in a nice neighborhood, close to the Dia market and to Istiklal road with the famous shopping and historic tramway. The metro is nearby so you can easily go to the old town, Sultanamet, unless you walk for about 40 minutes. We stayed on the first floor so there were fewer guests using the restroom, therefore, it wasn't an issue. The hostel is very pleasant and everything is just simple. Everything you need is there and it is affordable, unless you want the Four Seasons down the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgt1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I recently stayed in this hostel luckily only for two nights.. I felt like it was Big Brother's house, with the eye of the BB (that is the hostel owner in our case) always watching us; he didn't hesitate to rush in our room without knocking just to check what we were doing. So forget the term privacy in this residence, along with the term safety, with the dorm- doors without keys, to lock them. Even when we asked for a key, he refused to give us one.
Needless to say that the linens were in a terrible condition, and again we had to ask for them, although it was clearly stated beforehand, that they were to be provided. The strong smell of oil paint made our staying there even more unpleasant.
Although the region is quite alright, there are plenty of other options around where you will feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Foteini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights with some friends on December 2012. A friend booked it after looking at the pictures but they were proven to be very misleading...As soon as we entered the hostel, the smell of paint penetrated our noses. After this first surprise we 've found out that there was just one bathroom for the whole floor (12 of us plus don't know how many from the rest 2 rooms). At least the bathroom was kept clean by a young guy that was also stalking us, staying outside our rooms all the time- don't know if this was a weird way of hospitality to make sure if we need something or just to spy and tell the owner what we 're doing. Really annoying though...The owner himself was quite annoying as well making comments like "don't be late at night", "don't drink alcohol" etc and was occupying the lobby with his friends all the time making it impossible for other people to stay there... Furthermore he didn't provide a genuine 24h reception service - not for asking crazy stuff but just to open the door! The furniture and the sheets were dusty and generally dirty and a friend even had himself a sheet with blood stains on! All in all, the hostel is nicely located but I would look for something better with that price...Paint smell can be very disturbing and waiting to go to the bathroom can make you lose precious time of visiting the amazing Istanbul!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zisios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orestiada, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed with my friends for two nights and our experience was horrible.
The rooms were really dirty and they had an unbearable smell of paint, that made it impossible for someone to stay there.I had to use my asthma inhaler in order to get though the night. We have asked for ''clean'' sheets and towels, but instead one of my friends slept on a blood-stained sheet. The whole floor had only one bathroom, with broken plumbing, that we fixed ourselves in order to use it.The staff was really arrogant and rude.
You can find more decent and friendly places to stay in Istanbul. Don't let Levanten ruin your holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kpapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#90 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#10 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Sisli
Green House
Green House
#14 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Sultanahmet
Piya Hostel
Piya Hostel
#138 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Beyoglu
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
#31 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levanten Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levanten Hostel

Property: Levanten Hostel
Address: Cihangir Mahallesi Purtelas Sokak No:42, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Levanten Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap,clean,comfortable and best location ever! We set in a XIX century building and we are few steps away from Taksim Square. If you are a young traveler looking for a cheap and clean hostel in Istanbul, then the Levanten Hostel offers you the perfect solution for your holiday. The hostel is strategically located in the heart of the city center, thus allowing you quick and easy access to all the major attractions. Levanten Hostel is excellently positioned for discovering the marvels art of Istanbul!Offering cheap,comfortable and clean guest rooms in Istanbul, the Levanten Hostel makes for an excellent choice if you are planning a trip to this famous Turkey's destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Levanten Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing