We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sultan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sultan House
Ranked #163 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Sultan house hotel is a nice hotel to stay, and located very near Sultanahmet Mosque and environment, think of the many famous markets and restaurants. From day one we felt more than just visitors of the hotel, thanks to the staff. The staff is very friendly and makes your stay pleasant, Ramazan one of the staff was extremely friendly and respectful to all of us, always asked how we were doing and if we wanted something, thank you very much for this. Yunus the manager, a very funny and friendly person made our stay pleasant. We stayed at the hotel with a group of 6 persons and were all very satisfied with our stay. Our room was cleaned every day which we appreciated very much. If we needed something, we were helped by the staff optimally. The breakfast was very good, fresh and delicious!! I/we recommend this hotel to everyone, and will definitely come back.

Thank you all!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    120
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
207
224
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location, you are very close to the topkapi palace. sultan ahmet, aya sofia and yerebatan sarnici. In Sultan House you will feel yourself as a sultan and the staff is very friendly (ramazan) and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay in the Sultan House was truly amazing. We had the best 2 weeks in Istanbul thanks to the hospitality of manager Yunus. The other members of the staff such as Ramazan and Elif were also very helpfull and kind. The rooms are cleaned everyday by mrs. Deniz. We stayed with 4 people in one room and we had more then enough space for all of us. The location of the hotel is wonderfull, everything is within walking distance. The subway and trams are very close to the hotel. I would truly recommend this hotel to everyone who is in search of great hotel, you will have no regrets. Thank you to everyone at The Sultan House, you made a visit to Istanbul an unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,

Zeyneb Polat

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeynebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

When me and my friend checked into this hotel we were told that our room needs to be serviced and we would have to change rooms in the course of our stay.The room was actually in the basement and had no access to daylight.The moisture in that room was so high that there were black spots on the wall.So we lived like Bilbo Beutlin for 3 nights but at least we had 2 seperate beds.One morning we were asked to pack our belongings in case the servicemen would come that day.So we needed to pack our suitcases but left our valueables in the safe.The manager wanted us to give him our valuables but we refused.When we came back we were told that we did not have to change rooms but our extra bed "had been broken after the manager sat on it".Next day we had the bed back.I just do not like being lied to.When you want to book a room make sure to have one above the ground level otherwise you will be staying in a basement chamber for 100eurosa night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

we stayed there 7 nights. This review includes positive and negative points about the hotel.
negatives:
Rooms are very small. Don't rely on internet pictures at all! they are not at all like the pictures. Some rooms don't have ventilation( I mean WC of rooms) and it causes a very bad smell. beds are not comfortable. you can not sleep easily because of so much noise and mosquito. After check out if you miss something in your room you can not find it again. My mom miss her shoes and they said they threw it away in garbage! also I saw another family from Lebanon (when I waited in lobby to go to airport) that they missed some clothes and received the same reply.

and positive notes:
-Hotel has a Mr. Ramezan!! He is the kindest people I have met. Very kind and careful. he he help you for everything and smile always.
-Location of hotel is the best. just walking to all the famous places in Sultan Ahmad.
-Breakfast is good.It is not continental but delicious.
-hotel has a good balcony in 4th floor. If you think you can not tolerate your small room , you can go there and smell fresh air and enjoy the Sultan Ahmad view.

Room Tip: -Be careful about the basement room. I think nobody can not stay in it. it is in lobby where people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNaghibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had only two days in Istanbul so location was key as we didn't want to take cabs/bus etc to get to the main attractions in the old city. This location is awesome - a block away from the center of the old city but on a little lane so it doesn't feel busy/crowded. The rooms are fine - not the four seasons - but for a family of 5 or 6 it's great as they have a room that can be a triple or quad which is hard to find in European cities. The fourth floor has a little terrace as well, and that's the floor with the quad room - so that is nice as well.

Room Tip: Email them ahead if you want a triple or quad room for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlingmomof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here and loved it. Flexible and accommodating staff. The best room daily room cleaning we have ever had. Odd thing to call out but the guy was an artist. Our room looked out on the Blue Mosque and was an ideal starting point to get to know Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#173 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#86 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#288 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#229 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#102 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan House

Property: Hotel Sultan House
Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Dizdariye Cesmesi Sokak No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sultan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultan House is a converted Ottoman House located in Sultanahmet, one of the oldest and most colourful quarters of Istanbul, It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, just at the corner of Hippodrome. The Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes by walking, This is a lovelyjust opened hotel end of 2010 for couples and families with it's 10 elegant rooms and 4 annex appartment equipped with modern amenities and a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby. All the rooms are quiet and comfortable; furnished and decorated. The Obelisk is in front of the hotel and the Blue Mosque is across the street. You are just a few step away from the history and beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing