We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff, great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sultan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sultan House
Ranked #157 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and helpful staff, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were at the hotel with a small child, our experience is perfect - very friendly and helpful staff, elevator almost to room (we went with a baby carriage), rich breakfast, the opportunity to take tea on the terrace overlooking the Blue Mosque ... Perhaps the only thing I can criticize is the quality of wine :) I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamperina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    120
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
207
224
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hattingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice hotel with excellent service, friendly atmosphere and perfect location (historic sights all in close distance). The breakfast was freshly prepared and the room was (although ours was located in the basement) quite large and comfortable.

Room Tip: In the basement you don't hear the muezzin in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 610Alfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Sutan House for 7 nights during our visit to Istanbul, and the hotel couldn't have been better. Perfect location literally one block from the Hippodrome on a very quiet back street with a 2 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia, very clean smallish rooms (by US standards) with excellent breakfasts. The staff couldn't have been nicer - very helpful for any request we had, and they all spoke good English (especially Yunus at the front desk). Highly recommended for your stay in Istanbul - they made our holiday totally stress-free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nijifrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

An excellent little hotel. The location is ideal for the sights. There is a good restaurant close by. The staff are helpful and can give direction to this and other restaurants, sights, etc. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 7 nights in September 2012. The location of the hotel is in the heart of old town, a walking distance of many landmarks of the city like Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Palace Cistern, The Hipodrome Square, The Turkish And Islamic Arts Museum, and not far away from Grand Bazaar.
The Breakfast at the hotel was nice and The staff were very friendly and helpful (Jihan, Ramadan and Younes)
Two things that i wasnt impressed with:
1. We booked a triple room and we got a double room with an extra bed which was not comfortable.
2. The hotel owner was unfriendly, inhospitable and rude. We were five minutes late and he threatend to send back the driver even though we paid for the airport transfer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahiya-mishmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanhouse, Owner at Hotel Sultan House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi rude hotel owner writting :)

I want to beleive that there was a communication error because of languages.
Let's reply your 2 complains;

1-) You booked 2 double rooms for 10 days couple of months ago. But prior very short time of your arrival you informed that you are coming as 3 people and you wil stay only 7 days in case of 10 days. So there was no penalty for you for this changes. We offered you 1 double and 1 single room but you choiced that room. Even the room coposed 1 large double bed and 1 single bed, not extra bed. You stayed there as 3 ladies.

2-) We don't have our own car for airport transfers. So we rent it from a proffessional travel agency. This is not our business and we don't earn any money from this service, we are just helping our guests. That's it.
The tranfer car was there on time but 2 of ladies was missing. More less 10 minutes overed the pick up time. Then i kindly asked ; Does your friend's got mobile phone to communicate. Then i said the car can not wait you too much because will go to another hotel after you. They are so busy. I was trying to help you because the paid money was yours and the car was yours.

It's not fair to say me "unfriendly, inhospitable and rude" we just saw each other there for few minutes. As i told at the beganning i guess it was a communication error.

With my best regards.

Zeynel BOZKURT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent in all respects ,From the moment we met the staff ,at this extremely well located hotel, we felt welcomed and well informed of what we should consider doing during our stay. We were escorted to bedrooms that were clean and spacious. All together, staff (Younis,Ramadan & jean) service, breakfast, and location make the cost of our rooms an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank younis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A family run hotel and fabulous location, literally a stone's throw from all the historic sights. Located just 1 minute walk from the Hippodrome, the spot avoided the hills and was in a quiet area. Younus, at the desk, was very helpful and was keen to help us plan our stay and excursions, however we had already booked these before arriving. before leaving for Istanbul Younus was helpful in answering our queries over the phone and via e-mail. Jehan and Ramazan were also great and happy to help us with whatever we needed including free Wi-Fi and printing. Ramazan helped to resolve our transport debacle with the transport company at 2 o'clock in the morning. Having said this, the hotel is happy to arrange for transfers, for a reasonable charge. Our room was clean, had a mini bar, TV with some English channels and air con. Some very nice Japanese artwork adorned the walls. The room was turned down each day by a conscientious maid, loads of complimentary toiletries and the bed slippers were a novel touch. Only let down was that it was too small to be a family room, beds were crammed in against the windows so they couldn't be opened and the extractor fan in the extremely small shower room had been 'extracted'! Great power shower though. Breakfast was ok, cold meats, nuts, olives, salad, cereal, French toast and boiled eggs. In spite of a couple of minuses the hotel was better than some we have stayed in, definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not too busy ask for a larger room. they are quite accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamina_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#167 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#91 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#145 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Sultanahmet
Emine Sultan Hotel
Emine Sultan Hotel
#172 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan House

Property: Hotel Sultan House
Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Dizdariye Cesmesi Sokak No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sultan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultan House is a converted Ottoman House located in Sultanahmet, one of the oldest and most colourful quarters of Istanbul, It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, just at the corner of Hippodrome. The Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes by walking, This is a lovelyjust opened hotel end of 2010 for couples and families with it's 10 elegant rooms and 4 annex appartment equipped with modern amenities and a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby. All the rooms are quiet and comfortable; furnished and decorated. The Obelisk is in front of the hotel and the Blue Mosque is across the street. You are just a few step away from the history and beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing