We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Introduction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Urban Adventures

Istanbul Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.49*
and up
Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family...
Ranked #9 of 72 Food & Drink in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Istanbul Urban Adventures offers unique and authentic day tours around Istanbul. They range from 2 hour to 1 day adventures and uncover back streets, hidden gems, and fascinating sights. Step into the lives of locals, find out what makes the city tick, and get acquainted with the local food, culture, and traditions of Istanbul. A local expert guide will provide the knowledge and lead you through a fantastic urban experience.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Introduction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This tour does only cover the main tourist spots of Istanbul, but that's a good thing as it gives you a decent taster and allows you to decide where to spend more time. The guide, Can, was friendly and knowledgeable and we had a good time. You are out in the open a lot though so be wary of the sun/rain depending on the time of year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripMember05062015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    69
    9
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Istanbul tour worthwhile for an Overview of the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our tour guide, Can (pronounced Jan) was knowledgeable, professional, friendly, and enthusiastic about his job. The tour is called "Hidden Istanbul" and is a walking tour. We were lucky enough to just have a small group which meant more access to the guide's knowledge. The name of the tour, however, is a misnomer as you hit the main tourist spots that anyone could easily find independently. This walking tour gave us a great sense of the general history of Istanbul and helped us to place ourselves geographically in Istanbul.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CityPrincess_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok walking tour ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I happened to be the only person for the day when we did the Hidden Istanbul tour so effectively got a private tour.

My guide was knowledgeable and very kind, but there was an extreme amount of information and I just felt like I was getting talked to the entire time. It also seemed to me that a large part of it was the regular tourist trail rather than 'Hidden Istanbul' and it seemed a bit pointless walking through the grounds of the palace and Aya Sofia when you don't actually go into these places as part of the tour.

Helpful?
Thank Massweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of my time in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My time in Istanbul was absolutely amazing however the home-cooked tour was definitely one of my favorite parts. Our tour guide, Tolga, was so nice and incredibly friendly. The family we had dinner with was so humble yet did everything to make us feel comfortable, I will never forget this experience. The children were adorable and so sweet. Not only that, but the food was incredible, I have never had such amazing grape leaves in my life! We ended the night at a shisha lounge which completed the entire experience. I highly recommend this tour to all, you will not only enjoy yourself but also eat great food and get a very authentic experience that is unforgettable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home-cooked Tour - An unforgettable experience with Erkan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Well, I was little sceptical initially when booking this home cooked tour in Istanbul because price was suspiciously low. oh boy, I was sooo vv wrong, we had one of the best experiences ever. We met our guide "Ekran" at around 6pm on 27th March. He took us around for a short walk, explaining history of all monuments on our way. on reaching this local family home, we found them to be v welcoming. My wife really enjoyed with their kids and we actually felt like at home. After leaving this family home, we went on enjoying Turkish tea and Sheesha at one of popular places. The whole tour in itself was a great experience.

For us, one of the major highlights of the tour was the guide himself. Erkan and his friend (sorry I forgot her name) were great and fun guys to be with. From Turkish history to culture, and from education system of turkey to latest economic reforms and developments, they answered every question of ours very politely and in v detail. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wish to visit turkey and see both sides of the picture.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MurtaxaCheema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Urban Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing