We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to listen to the waiters arguing”

The North Shield Pub
Ranked #5,301 of 13,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Torquay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love to listen to the waiters arguing”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great pub for watching sport in a strange country but if you want to have a pleasant dining experience do not come here. The food was okay but the waiters arguing spoilt our diner. Take your ego's into the back room and let us enjoy the meal. Enough said.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scootergirlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    16
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

A million times better than James Joyce, this place had good food and atmosphere. Clean and modern inside, a good mix of locals and tourists. In a busy and competive neighbourhood they have got it right here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyinCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive pub but handy for sports”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Handy pub if you need to see a sports game and don't mind paying over the odds for a beer, they have 5/6 big screens showing all kinds of sports.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“North shield/port sheild”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First off this place is called the port shield, all the guide books call it north shields (a place close to where I live back in the UK). We went in on our first night as it was close to where we were staying, it looked inviting (there were no dodgy looking blokes trying to invite us in, or grim looking people glaring out). The prices are way to high, the food is mediocre, you can much better for less. The drinks were okay. Some staff were very friendly. One member of staff (rats tail hair cut) wonders round looking like he's hoping everyone will just leave so he can have a quiet night, is a bit rude. Overall it's okay if your knew and you wanna feel safe/ at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manizales, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just one word: bad”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Firts thing to say: Do not bother to go to this place!
It is true that these people take full advantage of a superb location to abuse of the clientele. Moody waiters, warm and foul beer at crazy prices.. I was there just gor a pint of beer and i was "greeted" with a dry "whatdoyouwant".. After two pints i paid my bill and 5 seconds after when i was already walking my way out in the street one waiter ran to me shouting "you did not pay" in the midle of the street! I showed him my receipt and he just turned back without even saying thanks or whatever...
I'm pretty sure that as long as there are visitors not aware of this travel guides such as trip advisor, this people will continue to scam other people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The North Shield Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing