We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip in Turkey”
Review of Darkhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Darkhill Hotel
Ranked #379 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Business trip in Turkey”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stay at that that hotel because it was in the center of the city and also because it was close to the T1 tram line. Just 50 meters. The location of the hotel is really and very safe. All the staff of the hotel was really gentle and helpful. I don't have any complain at all. The breakfast was excellent in the roof of the hotel with great view at the sea. The room was clean and all the rest was fine. I suggest it to everyone who want to travel there but keep in mind that for going to expo center at the airport you have to take one tram and one metro line. So the apprx. Time is around 35 minutes. The positive is that you are in the center and you can go for a walk at night

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantinos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    124
    56
    13
    12
See reviews for
74
70
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Remodeled roof top restaurant was a hit with our group. Food was good. It was convenient to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Bazaar, banks, airport, etc. Bathrooms are very nice with large showers and lots of sparkling tile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Perfect for the tourist with it's convenient and safe location. Friendly and helpful staff. The roof top restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. Good food and excellent views of Istanbul. Rooms were ok, with remodeled/updated bath. Hotel was quiet. we were part of a 48 member tour group and overall I heard good comments from my fellow travelers about the Darkhill Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsWithJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while we were on a Gate I tour of Turkey. The location of this hotel was fabulous. Walking distance to the Grand Bazar and one block away from the hotel to the tram which takes you to all the must see sights. The hotel staff was so attentive and helpful. We arrived 2 days before our tour started without our luggage. It was early in the morning and they got us into a room right away. The hotel made numerous calls and we retrieved our luggage. The rooms were spacious enough for my husband and myself and the food was delicious. I especially liked the pool and spa with the Turkish bath and sauna at no charge. (massage extra) The location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

-The most fantastic thing about this hotel is it's location. Honestly, there isn't better. The hotel is placed in the middle of a small shopping district with restaurants all around. You can get to anywhere by the tram/metro, especially if you are a tourist. The tram stop is a minute walk away and very affordable and easy to use.
-The hotel itself was very nice. When I read the reviews about this hotel, I was expecting the worst, but really I don't see what everyone is complaining about.
-Staff were so helpful and kind, even though sometimes there was a language barrier, it wasn't hard to find someone who could understand you.
-The breakfast was ok but could have been better. I suggest to the hotel that they put more kid friendly choices such as a wider variety of cereal and maybe even waffles or pancakes. If you like cheese and meat, you will love this buffet, as there is a wide variety of these types of food. They changed the hot platter everyday but then circled back to the same stuff all over again. Overall, it was good, but could have been better. For egg omelets and orange juice, you had to pay, which I found a little ridiculous.
-The rooms were a bit small as were the beds but nothing unbearable. The view was nice. The carpet was a little stained, but the room was regularly cleaned. The bathrooms were very clean and the water was always hot and refreshing, always good after a long day of sightseeing.
-Don't depend much on the TV as most of the channels are in Turkish. At night there are more English channels, which have some good shows.
-The Wifi depends on the room that you are in, but was good for us.
-Unfortunately the terrace and rooftop pool was closed when we stayed at Darkhill so we had to use the indoor pool which had some great jets, good for muscle relaxing after a long day of walking. We also used the free spa services such as the sauna and Turkish bath. They were both very enjoyable.
-I suggest that you do not use the airport transportation from the hotel because it is very costly.
-Hope you find my review helpful. :)

Room Tip: 5th Floor but sometimes you can hear construction noise from the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Positives: Great view at the top terrace. Nice design. Decent breakfast. Close to train station. Clean.
Negatives: It took them ONE HOUR to get us into our PRE-BOOKED room (though they were kind enough to arrange a prayer space for me in the meanwhile).
The room was pretty small.
I was not informed that the view from my room would be a brick wall on all sides/my neighbour's room.
I called before midnight to ask for a thin blanket as there were none provided (only bed sheets). They never sent anything up. Worst of all, it was my honeymoon night.
Overall, I wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esma238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +90212 638 89 00

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

darkhill is a hotel where i would never stay again! toilets always stink! they never cleaned good enough.. i always saw hairs on the ground where i did know they didn't clean good enough.. always a bad smell.. new remodeling the terrace, so we had no chance to see it..becsuse of the remodeling it was really loud .. this hotel was too expensive! it was worth it for the half price what we paid.. then i would give a good feedback.. but for that price and for the 4 stars its just horrible.. small rooms.. small restroom.. loud..no parking allowed! so u have to pay for a otopark what is reallllyyyy expensive.. we paid a lot! and juat for stupid parking.. expensive hotel ..and parking paying over 150TL for 4 days.. it's turkey and its the same price like Europe or america wtf?? ahh yeah a iron is not allowed: )) they have no iron in the rooms.. they iron for u and everything in euro.. its expensive! we had our own iron and they just took it! they didn't ask and tell us they just took it.. where i asked where my iron is they said irons are not allowed it can burn the whole hotel: ))) is soo funny for me because hotels where i went to always gave irons and never saw that they took my stuff from me.. thats rude for me! I'm using a hair straightener why u guys didnt took that? it can also burn u guys hotel: ))) the reason for no iron is they wanna make money and they want iron ur stuff: ) breakfast is bad just tryed one day and no more.. not muxh options ..didn't like it.. turkey is not that! u guys have to show the real turkey and the beautiful good sides from it..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snow86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear snow8 ,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
You were aware exactly the hotel rates when you have booked the hotel with your own will! So If you have paid maybe nothing , you would give good feedback?
We do not allow irons in the rooms due to general safety because we had a bad experience before by a hotel guest who has forgotten the iron plugged which could be burn the hotel room.
The hotel has no own parking place ,and does not force the guests to pay the parking fee even it is cheaper or higher .This could be only your own decision to accept paying the fees for any services which the hotel does not provide at the property.
The reasons for giving very bad ratings for the hotel do not seem very realistic in your review and it does seem that it is hard to make you a happy guest, just because you did not want to pay for anything.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely,
Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#300 of 1,149 in Istanbul
325 reviews
Hotel Polatdemir
#418 of 1,149 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#376 of 1,149 in Istanbul
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#516 of 1,149 in Istanbul
237 reviews
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
#543 of 1,149 in Istanbul
178 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#595 of 1,149 in Istanbul
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darkhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darkhill Hotel

Property: Darkhill Hotel
Address: Koca Ragip Pasa Cad. No 9 | Laleli, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darkhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darkhill Hotel is located in Old City Istanbul walking distance to all historical places in Sultanahmet area , making it one of the best hotels to stay at while in town. The Darkhill Hotel boasts a convenient location with modern amenities in every guestroom and superb service.(Total 106 rooms) Each guestroom features amenities such as air conditioning, minibar ,hair dryer,wifi internet access, lcd tv, bathtub, separate shower and tub. The amenities and services offered at this Istanbul accommodation include elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes. For guests to unwind, the hotel offers a variety of facilities and services including massage, gym, sauna, indoor pool, and Turkish bath. Along with its convenient location in Istanbul, the hotel also offers a wide range of services and facilities to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Darkhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing