We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again- Excellent location, especially for tourists”
Review of Darkhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Darkhill Hotel
Ranked #379 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will go again- Excellent location, especially for tourists”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

-The most fantastic thing about this hotel is it's location. Honestly, there isn't better. The hotel is placed in the middle of a small shopping district with restaurants all around. You can get to anywhere by the tram/metro, especially if you are a tourist. The tram stop is a minute walk away and very affordable and easy to use.
-The hotel itself was very nice. When I read the reviews about this hotel, I was expecting the worst, but really I don't see what everyone is complaining about.
-Staff were so helpful and kind, even though sometimes there was a language barrier, it wasn't hard to find someone who could understand you.
-The breakfast was ok but could have been better. I suggest to the hotel that they put more kid friendly choices such as a wider variety of cereal and maybe even waffles or pancakes. If you like cheese and meat, you will love this buffet, as there is a wide variety of these types of food. They changed the hot platter everyday but then circled back to the same stuff all over again. Overall, it was good, but could have been better. For egg omelets and orange juice, you had to pay, which I found a little ridiculous.
-The rooms were a bit small as were the beds but nothing unbearable. The view was nice. The carpet was a little stained, but the room was regularly cleaned. The bathrooms were very clean and the water was always hot and refreshing, always good after a long day of sightseeing.
-Don't depend much on the TV as most of the channels are in Turkish. At night there are more English channels, which have some good shows.
-The Wifi depends on the room that you are in, but was good for us.
-Unfortunately the terrace and rooftop pool was closed when we stayed at Darkhill so we had to use the indoor pool which had some great jets, good for muscle relaxing after a long day of walking. We also used the free spa services such as the sauna and Turkish bath. They were both very enjoyable.
-I suggest that you do not use the airport transportation from the hotel because it is very costly.
-Hope you find my review helpful. :)

Room Tip: 5th Floor but sometimes you can hear construction noise from the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    124
    56
    13
    12
See reviews for
74
70
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Positives: Great view at the top terrace. Nice design. Decent breakfast. Close to train station. Clean.
Negatives: It took them ONE HOUR to get us into our PRE-BOOKED room (though they were kind enough to arrange a prayer space for me in the meanwhile).
The room was pretty small.
I was not informed that the view from my room would be a brick wall on all sides/my neighbour's room.
I called before midnight to ask for a thin blanket as there were none provided (only bed sheets). They never sent anything up. Worst of all, it was my honeymoon night.
Overall, I wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esma238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +90212 638 89 00

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

darkhill is a hotel where i would never stay again! toilets always stink! they never cleaned good enough.. i always saw hairs on the ground where i did know they didn't clean good enough.. always a bad smell.. new remodeling the terrace, so we had no chance to see it..becsuse of the remodeling it was really loud .. this hotel was too expensive! it was worth it for the half price what we paid.. then i would give a good feedback.. but for that price and for the 4 stars its just horrible.. small rooms.. small restroom.. loud..no parking allowed! so u have to pay for a otopark what is reallllyyyy expensive.. we paid a lot! and juat for stupid parking.. expensive hotel ..and parking paying over 150TL for 4 days.. it's turkey and its the same price like Europe or america wtf?? ahh yeah a iron is not allowed: )) they have no iron in the rooms.. they iron for u and everything in euro.. its expensive! we had our own iron and they just took it! they didn't ask and tell us they just took it.. where i asked where my iron is they said irons are not allowed it can burn the whole hotel: ))) is soo funny for me because hotels where i went to always gave irons and never saw that they took my stuff from me.. thats rude for me! I'm using a hair straightener why u guys didnt took that? it can also burn u guys hotel: ))) the reason for no iron is they wanna make money and they want iron ur stuff: ) breakfast is bad just tryed one day and no more.. not muxh options ..didn't like it.. turkey is not that! u guys have to show the real turkey and the beautiful good sides from it..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snow86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear snow8 ,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
You were aware exactly the hotel rates when you have booked the hotel with your own will! So If you have paid maybe nothing , you would give good feedback?
We do not allow irons in the rooms due to general safety because we had a bad experience before by a hotel guest who has forgotten the iron plugged which could be burn the hotel room.
The hotel has no own parking place ,and does not force the guests to pay the parking fee even it is cheaper or higher .This could be only your own decision to accept paying the fees for any services which the hotel does not provide at the property.
The reasons for giving very bad ratings for the hotel do not seem very realistic in your review and it does seem that it is hard to make you a happy guest, just because you did not want to pay for anything.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely,
Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It was very difficult to communicate with the staff. Only sometimes we could find somebody with a decent English, understanding us and we could understand him. The room was a little dark and the flooring not very new anymore. The bathroom was o.k. and so were the amenities. The breakfast had a good choice with only funny that one has to pay for fresh orange juice and eggs (boiled eggs are free) . But this is minor. Wi-Fi in the rooms was very slow or no connection possible and have to go to the lobby/reception area. The location is excellent both walking and by tram. It’s a little bit noisy in the early morning when the windows are open. One should may be choose a higher floor. As a resume there are or sure better hotels but may be also more expensive. For a stay for 3 or 4 days it is acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors with a view and not opposite the next buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetgelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great hotel! I liked it! Comfortable, clean,very good services, great staff (special thanks to Devrim, Ali, Sezer for the kindness and helpful), good location (near old city, tram,shopping)! I have only one recommendation please add extra dishes during breakfast:). Next time I will stay only in this hotel in Istanbul!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReshilA307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent service at all times and extremely helpful with organising trips. A very good breakfast and good dinner with plenty of choice. Our bedroom was very comfortable and clean. It is easy to get to the tram and walking distance to the Grand Bazaar. We didn't take advantage of the spa but it looked good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caroline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I do liked this hotel
very clean
Rooms are good
very good services
very good breakfast buffet
swimmingpoll is very nice with amazing view to the sea
i like the breakfast area ... Its in a lovely lication
hotel is in lalaly ... Very near to markets and shopping
near to mosques ans sea

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rania_bahsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#304 of 1,155 in Istanbul
328 reviews
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
#545 of 1,155 in Istanbul
178 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#507 of 1,155 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#407 of 1,155 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Hotel Polatdemir
#432 of 1,155 in Istanbul
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darkhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darkhill Hotel

Property: Darkhill Hotel
Address: Koca Ragip Pasa Cad. No 9 | Laleli, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darkhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darkhill Hotel is located in Old City Istanbul walking distance to all historical places in Sultanahmet area , making it one of the best hotels to stay at while in town. The Darkhill Hotel boasts a convenient location with modern amenities in every guestroom and superb service.(Total 106 rooms) Each guestroom features amenities such as air conditioning, minibar ,hair dryer,wifi internet access, lcd tv, bathtub, separate shower and tub. The amenities and services offered at this Istanbul accommodation include elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes. For guests to unwind, the hotel offers a variety of facilities and services including massage, gym, sauna, indoor pool, and Turkish bath. Along with its convenient location in Istanbul, the hotel also offers a wide range of services and facilities to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darkhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing