We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark Hill Hotel, Istanbul”
Review of Darkhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Darkhill Hotel
Ranked #363 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
tunbridge wells
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dark Hill Hotel, Istanbul”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent service at all times and extremely helpful with organising trips. A very good breakfast and good dinner with plenty of choice. Our bedroom was very comfortable and clean. It is easy to get to the tram and walking distance to the Grand Bazaar. We didn't take advantage of the spa but it looked good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caroline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    123
    56
    13
    12
See reviews for
74
70
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I do liked this hotel
very clean
Rooms are good
very good services
very good breakfast buffet
swimmingpoll is very nice with amazing view to the sea
i like the breakfast area ... Its in a lovely lication
hotel is in lalaly ... Very near to markets and shopping
near to mosques ans sea

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rania_bahsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we speand 4days in istanbul and we had very bad expirence in darkhil hotel , the location its in city center in lalail area . and almost pepole says russian area there is more then 5 russinan restrant near by , but the service its good but the rooms are too small ,. i dont know how they are saying 4 star !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohsen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

First of all we do not understand why you did write this review in March 2013 even If you have stayed in August 2012 (7 months later)! The reasons for giving very bad ratings for the hotel do not seem very realistic in your review and as we see your other ratings on tripadvisor , it does also seem that it is a bit hard to make you happy .

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +90 212 638 89 00.

Sincerely,
Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Hotel is a great Choice to stay. Personal rooms food is all good. You just have to wear a bathing cap for the Swimmingpool and this one is also pretty smal. But this was the only thing what matters me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyB2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiathos, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Family of three spent 4 nights in the hotel and we are very satisfied. Walking distance to the Blue Mosque and Agia Sophia and the Grand Basar. Very close to the tram that can take you to the Asian side of Istanbul.
Clean room and ok breakfast. Room on the 6th floor with a view to the sea, open window, no problem with the traffic noise.
So much to see in Istanbul so we didn't have the time to use the Hamam or other facilities at the hotel which we would like to do next time.
Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyhnari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

staff are helpful
rooms r clean
location is good very near to Lalali station
the pool was worm and nice
there is torkish path on the hotel
it is really 4 stars hotel
i will book in it if i go again
i recommend to stay in this hotel

Room Tip: regarding to facilities..there is no iron for ironing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank aishot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear valued gust,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good location, very close to all the sights, and transport is convenient, because of its proximity to the wholesale market, exchange rates are better than around the sultanahmet area.

Clean rooms and bathrooms, bed comfortable but might be too hard for some.
Good wifi, slow, but good, better in the lobby and the restaurant area.

Restaurant food was tasty and not too expensive, breakfast was ok!

Cons
No complimentary drinking water in rooms, and hotel frowns on bringing food and drinks into the hotel. I think this unacceptable, water is a basic necessity.

They were extremely economical with toilet roll and towel, we were two in the room and they left only 1 towel and toilet roll, I had to request every time, quite frustrating.

Air conditioning was switched off, room is warm even during winter and opening the windows was not an option because the road is extremely busy and noisy.

Horrible smell from the bathroom in the morning.

Service is a bit poor, but I put that to misunderstanding , they do not speak English or any universally recognised language, if possible try not to communicate in English!

Sauna and steam room, is chargeable, only Turkish bath is free, that was misleading as website did not suggest charge.

Gym area and pool opens at 10am after breakfast, pointless when you want an early morning workout before breakfast.

Room Tip: Asks for a room in the middle of the hotel perhaps. However there are so many other nicer hotels pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +90212 638 89 00

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#307 of 1,141 in Istanbul
324 reviews
Hotel Polatdemir
#409 of 1,141 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#520 of 1,141 in Istanbul
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#359 of 1,141 in Istanbul
81 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Grand Durmaz Hotel
Grand Durmaz Hotel
#504 of 1,141 in Istanbul
148 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich
Hotel Zurich
#546 of 1,141 in Istanbul
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darkhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darkhill Hotel

Property: Darkhill Hotel
Address: Koca Ragip Pasa Cad. No 9 | Laleli, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darkhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darkhill Hotel is located in Old City Istanbul walking distance to all historical places in Sultanahmet area , making it one of the best hotels to stay at while in town. The Darkhill Hotel boasts a convenient location with modern amenities in every guestroom and superb service.(Total 106 rooms) Each guestroom features amenities such as air conditioning, minibar ,hair dryer,wifi internet access, lcd tv, bathtub, separate shower and tub. The amenities and services offered at this Istanbul accommodation include elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes. For guests to unwind, the hotel offers a variety of facilities and services including massage, gym, sauna, indoor pool, and Turkish bath. Along with its convenient location in Istanbul, the hotel also offers a wide range of services and facilities to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Darkhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing