We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Darkhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darkhill Hotel
Ranked #358 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“good place to stay in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

near to fantastic places , family room was very good
people there are very friendly
the price value was very good
also the trace has a good view to the sea and food there is very good
transportation is very easy to historical places

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osamakamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at our property.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Kindest Regards.Murat Topacoglu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    123
    55
    13
    12
See reviews for
74
69
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed there for three nights, three ladies in a triple room. The room was ok, large enough to accommodate three people, bathroom looks ok (not enough light at the shower though). No great view from the windows, we were looking at a pile of antennas instead of the sea, also the rooms have no balcony. Location is good, pretty close to main attractions (two tram stations away, tram having air conditioning). Service is poor though, staff not very friendly, prices at the bar are high, same for restaurant on the terrace. They do not seem to have change, you have to wait a lot of time to get your change, and when they finally find some change, it is usually half of what you were supposed to receive (even though we offered a 10% tip). Overall, hotel ok, beware of the people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satya_Sat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murat_Topacoglu, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at our property.On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some ways. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Kindest Regards.Murat Topacoglu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Darkhill hotel and had a great stay. Upon arrival our bags were taken by the valet to our room and later we were presented with a complimentary fruit basket as I had informed the hotel it was our 10th wedding anniversary and special. Later we needed an extra blanket and in a timely manner one arrived at the door.

The next morning we woke up late and missed breakfast. We were talking to the front desk about trips and mentioned we'd missed breakfast, where upon he called up to the restaurant and arranged a private breakfast for two (this was at 12pm). This service went above and beyond any other hotel I've been at.

All the staff at the Darkhill were very helpful and polite. Location was excellent, within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar, and even down to the coastal front, where we took a long walk around the coast to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia.

I highly recommend taking the day trip and half day trip to experience more of Istanbul.

Only downside? Not many eating places within direct vacinity, however, if you walk down the hill you will find more. Or if you walk up the hill you will find some too. LOTS of shops in the area, however, they were only wholesale - quite frustrating when you see an item and can't buy it.

Hotel room: excellent, staff: excellent, location: excellent.

Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwright10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at our property.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Kindest Regards.Murat Topacoglu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We found this Hotel through a combined deal with our airline ticket. After booking I checked the reviews on trip advisor and got worried. I shouldn't have been.

The hotel is absolutely wonderfull, nice new rooms, big beds, nice shower (all marble), super clean and great large turkisch breakfast.

It is ideally situated to visit the old town with all its famous landmarks. The bazaar is only 5 minutes walk away.

Staff were pretty friendly, but we had the feeling they didn't spoke english that well and are therefore just afraid to talk to you. They did try to help us with drawings and handsignalling.

The only downside I could write is the lighting in the shower. this is poor. It needs desperate light around the mirror so you can shave properly. Oddly enough it is already prepared for new lights as the cables were visable above the mirror.

You can book this Hotel if you visit Istanbul for business or pleasure without sny hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mveen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at Darkhill Hotel.We appreciate for sharing your opinions about our hotel for our visiters.And we will be happy to see you again in our hotel.We wish you the best !! Kindest Regards.Murat Topacoglu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Bad things: the restrooms inside the room are completely dark. There is only one tiny light in the middle, therefore you can't see anything inside the shower or in front of the mirror. It would be the same not to have a mirror because with this terrible illumination is impossible to see yourself.
Service is really bad. People at front desk won't help you and if by luck they talk, they are rude. If you are calling from the room they will hang up.
Breakfast was not so bad. And the room (except for the reastroom ) was fine.
Location is very good. Tram satiation almost right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dramercedesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. We wish you the best !! Kindest Regards.Murat Topacoglu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBYA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Nice Hotel, good location, nice helpful staff, BUT, these days the street in front of it is closed for huge constructions ( drilling & noise ) from 6 am to 6 pm.
If you want this hotel i advice you to reserve a room in high floor so you can avoid the noise & if you close your window you will hear nothing.
Otherwise everything is fine & honestly if i have to come again to Istanbul , i will stay in this hotel ,but i will make sure that there is no constructions around.

Room Tip: choose high floor facing the sea (5th or 6th )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADEL_LATHRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at Darkhill Hotel.We appreciate for sharing your opinions about our hotel for our visiters.And we will be happy to see you again in our hotel.We wish you the best !! Kindest Regards.Murat Topacoglu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
262 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Extreamly helpful and polite service. Good location, near to shops, bazar and blue mosque. The room and toilet were really clean. There is no coffee/tea in the rooms. Breakfast was good with lot of choice. The pool was nice and warm. Wi-fi facility was not good. Parking was not free athough it was mentioned otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at Darkhill Hotel.We appreciate for sharing your opinions about our hotel for our visiters.And we will be happy to see you again in our hotel.We wish you the best !! Kindest Regards.Murat Topacoglu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Hotel Polatdemir
#401 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#308 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
#388 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
#160 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Fener & Balat
Hotel Venera
Hotel Venera
#624 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#615 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darkhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darkhill Hotel

Property: Darkhill Hotel
Address: Koca Ragip Pasa Cad. No 9 | Laleli, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darkhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darkhill Hotel is located in Old City Istanbul walking distance to all historical places in Sultanahmet area , making it one of the best hotels to stay at while in town. The Darkhill Hotel boasts a convenient location with modern amenities in every guestroom and superb service.(Total 106 rooms) Each guestroom features amenities such as air conditioning, minibar ,hair dryer,wifi internet access, lcd tv, bathtub, separate shower and tub. The amenities and services offered at this Istanbul accommodation include elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes. For guests to unwind, the hotel offers a variety of facilities and services including massage, gym, sauna, indoor pool, and Turkish bath. Along with its convenient location in Istanbul, the hotel also offers a wide range of services and facilities to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darkhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing