We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to all major attractions, great value & quality”
Review of Hotel New House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New House
Ranked #663 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to all major attractions, great value & quality”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A very pleaseant small ish hotel just across from the Blue Mosque, very helpful staff too.
We got a taxi from the airport and our driver couldnt find the hotel, so the hotel sent an employee to meet the taxi and then he carried our bags back to the hotel.
Very nice spacious double rooms, well equipped, and clean.
The breakfast is somewhat basic, but wholesome. Definitely would recommend for the money
They have changed the name to the Hotel New House by the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I don’t know why but you can find this hotel under two names: Angelo Home or Amber inn, how you wish to call it there isn't a better location for a hotel in Istanbul.
Reception, sitting room and breakfast room are practically the same but the bedrooms (at least mine and those of my friends) were wide and the bathrooms (although without window) had modern equipments, always cleaned every day.
The breakfast buffet is made in the Turkish way, you can find dried and fresh fruits, a variety of local breads, cheese and meats, olives but not sweet croissants, if you want warm coffee or milk have only instant powder, on the other hand the tea is really strong.
Personnel was very helpful and kind, especially the good looking Melissa.
To visit Istanbul and Bosphorus we had a two days tour very well organized by Shetours: first they collect the tourists from the various hotels and after they divide people in other minibus according to their languages.
Our guide Ferda was very efficient and knowledgeable and thanks to her we could visit all the historical sites skipping the long queues
The cost of the tour was included in the package of the hotel, certainly cheaper than the prices shown on the Shetours flyer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A very well located hotel and would recommend staying there, we had a spacious triple bed room for 4 of us (inc a baby) but the bathroom was tiny with no vents. At walking distance to lots of places and next to Cemberlitas station (go to the Hammad just round the corner, really good), walking distance to Sultanahmet where everything is.
The staff are lovely and really helpful; very hospitable. the breakfast is basic and has little to offer as a hot meal; but it does the job. definetly not a 4-5start hotel, i would say a good 3star, they call themselves a boutique hotel but it has no original features others than being an old building in a good location.

Room Tip: Choose the room to suit your needs, we had a triple bed room as we were two adults and two kids and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dapperjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I do not see how hotel sites say this is a four star hotel, it isn't, and it it weren't advertised to me as such I would probably give this place a better review. As other reviewers have commented, this hotel features wonderful staff who really want you to have a good experience in Turkey. The location is perfect, right near the Cemberlitas tram stop and no more than 10 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and the Topkapi Palace. The Grand Bazaar is 200 meters away. We were offered tea and coffee upon check in and really made to feel welcome.

The room itself was more than big enough for my family and was well appointed, to the three star standard. For this to be a four star, as many booking websites (and the hotel itself) claim it is, it would need to be better furnished. The shower didn't seal properly, meaning that the tile floor was soaked after the first shower of the day. The hotel also didn't replenish the sheets even after we had stripped the bed following spilling something all over the bed. A four star would do this standard: Heck, Travel Lodge would do this standard. There was also a lot of dust lying around. We could also tell that the bathroom was not cleaned daily. Breakfast was basic and unchanging. I got tired of the same bread, olives, cheese and tea on offer daily. I will say that this hotel offers reasonable airport transfers so if you stay here I suggest using them.

There are better hotels in the area, but this one is a bargain. It was acceptable for a family holiday, but I would return to other neighborhood hotels, notably the nearby Pierre Loti, before I would come here. If you get a bargain, come here for friendly staff and 2.5-3 star accommodation, but do not expect a 4 star experience. Also, some of the websites say this hotel has a restaurant and bar, I did not find them here so if you enjoy these conveniences, stay elsewhere. There did appear to be a rooftop terrace but it was well below freezing when we were here so I didn't check it out. The beds were also sort of uncomfortable, but nothing horrible. On check out, they asked us to leave our bags in the room instead of leaving them behind the desk. I felt rushed out because as we were collecting our bags a large group of Russian tourists had arrived and probably needed the room. They did send a guy to help, but the lift here is tiny so a whole family's bags took multiple trips and we were on an upper floor. If they needed the room, just tell us to leave the bags downstairs, especially since they knew when we were leaving because they arranged the shuttle. Otherwise, service was top notch.

I won't come back here if I return to IST, but there's not reason a budget conscious traveller should not stay here for a short duration.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_Yank83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed after xmas. Rooms well heated n nicely decorated. Rooms of hotel decor but in block of flats. Breakfast buffet rudimentary n just less than 10 tables available n most of them is in the waiting lounge. The owners were helpful n courteous. Had a moody guy on our last morning when asked him if we could leave our suitcases for safekeeping since our flights were late at night. Location v.good- grand bazaar nearly nxt door n other attractions and nice restos/cafés are within walking distance. Got conned by lastminute.com by booking this hotel as a 4 or 5* secret hotel which is not.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rozli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

5 nights 5th to 9th Nov. Twin Room. Booked as secret hotel via Last Minute.com
If you arrive at night & have to take a taxi into Istanbul I can guarantee the taxi driver will struggle to find the hotel - so beware. But - by Metro/Tram it couldn't be much easier, get the metro to the main intersection at Zaytinburnu, swap top the tram (T1) through to Cemberlitas, walk back the way you came about 50m towards the mosque, and the road to the hotel is opposite (and next to the barbers shop - who incidentally do an excellent shave).
The Room (#301) was good albeit a little small. I have no complaints about the cleanliness, even the toilet & bath/shower were good, the breakfast was a different story. Cheese that looked lke it was cut & set out the night before, bread similar. Although if you ask for more you will get the fresh stuff and in general thats very tasty, with the various jams / marmalades manages to fill a small hole. Other than that, other than what is loosely called the ommelete, theres olives & tomatoes. Tea is ok, coffee a bit ropey. Much better to get a pastry & a good coffee just down the road.
Location - as said above & by other guests, the hotel is easy walking distance to the main square, the Blue Mosque & Aya Sofia, everything else is just a tram ride away.
Beds - comfortable & clean, bedding not changed everyday.
Safe - Yes there was a safe in the room, but this was not fixed to the wall/floor/wardrobe, in fact you just lifted it on to the bed so that you could get easy access. Enough Said.
Staff - were helpful although it wasn't as if we pestered them for anything more than extra milk or coffee sachets for the room.
All in all, I'd go back to the Angelos Home; but would next time try to book direct & try and save a few quid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I booked this hotel through Lastminute.com's 'secret hotel' deal, and I can honestly say their description was totally misleading!! This hotel is not a 'luxury boutique', it is not 'stylish', it is bog standard and not very clean. The toilet in the room was dirty on arrival and not cleaned through the stay, the toilet in the lobby was so disgusting I was retching when I came out- I made the huge mistake of picking up the toilet brush. Still makes me feel nauseous to think about it now.

There are good points- this hotel is literally just off the main street in Sultanhamet and a 30 second walk to the Çemberlitaş tram stop which links you to the Taksim Square area's night life. It's also walking distance to all the sights in Seraglio Point (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace etc.) You will find that the taxi drops off/picks up from the bottom of the hill that the hotel is at the top of, so be prepared to drag luggage up and down again!

The beds were comfortably firm and the room (double and single for 3 people) was very large. The staff kindly offered an extra bed but it was a very uncomfortable camp bed so we didn't use it. The air con is good, make sure you keep the windows closed, I was bitten to pieces overnight. It was definitely something flying rather than anything like bedbugs or fleas.

And lastly the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful (but don't ask them to recommend somewhere to eat, they'll send you to their mate's place round the corner which isn't great).

Room Tip: Lastminute claims this hotel has a sea view. I couldn't see the sea from any angle- our room ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayfair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
#656 of 1,149 in Istanbul
44 reviews
Comfort Elite Hotels Sultanahmet
#307 of 1,149 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#260 of 1,149 in Istanbul
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Ali Hotel
#262 of 1,149 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Emporium Hotel Istanbul
#810 of 1,149 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#191 of 1,149 in Istanbul
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New House

Property: Hotel New House
Address: Emin Sinan Mah. Evkaf Sok. No:6 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #663 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New House was open in the historical city center of Istanbul in 2012 to serve you, Esteemed Guests.Embraced modern hotel business and the notion of excellent quality service, our hotel went into serviceLocated in the city center, the hotel is so close to all places such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum and Topkapi Palace where all historical and touristic beauties of Istanbul and Ottoman and Byzantine cultures are engaged. Also these places can easily be reached by walking or by tram.We are here to make your holiday get comfortable and meet all your expectations and desires. A 24 hour-room service, friendly staff, good quality and smiling faces are here to welcome you. Through out your stay you will discover the cultural richness of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That is our aim to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. A breathe from the glamour Ottoman sultanate lodges. Renovated authentic style and modernized Ottoman decoration are embrancing an ancient house and changing it to an impressive hotel.Hotel New House offers a variety of clean and comfortable rooms at a great price. Each one is appointed with air conditioning and en suite bathroom facilities.Hotel New House offers an airport pick-up service from both Ataturk and Sabiha Gökçen Airport,All rooms are equipped with 22 inc LCD tv, Air-conditioning, direct dial phone, smoke dedector, minibar, safety-boxes and private bathroom with shower , hair dryer, evaporated mirror and phone.Free wireless internet access is available in Hotel New House lobby and all rooms, should you need to stay in touch with work or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing