We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value For Money”
Review of Hotel Novano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Novano
Ranked #40 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Good...
fantastic friendly staff. Modern rooms. Air Con, The location, The breakfasts,The location, the amazing value for money, malfunctioning toilet sorted on the day we told them about it
The Bad....
erm, not a lot really

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view but are noisier. Rooms at the back have a view of an ancient w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianChadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel Novano is very close to the major sites, though a tad difficult to locate the first time without a good map. Our room was very modern, though quite small. The bathroom was excellent - recently renovated, good sized, and ample hot water and water pressure. The bed was comfortable. We, unfortunately, had a room on the ground floor adjacent to the reception, which meant that every person entering or exiting went right past our room - which did awaken us several times. I would highly recommend you try to NOT get one of these rooms. The breakfast was good, with a good selection of items. The staff were friendly. Overall - great location, good value, good choice.

Room Tip: Try not to get one of the ground floor rooms behind reception. Lots of foot traffic and noise, sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location is perfect, close to the best attractions at Sultanahmed and delicious restaurants. The Hotel Manager is very, very attentive and pleasant, as his staff. The breakfast is delicious, clean room. I really recommend!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Novano for 4 nights recently. Staff very pleasent, polite & friendly.
Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels, bed linen after a couple of days. Everywhere
In the hotel was spotless. Plenty of choice for breakfast. We would stay at the hotel again,highly recommend. Also within easy walking distance to all sites. Room & ensuite plenty big enough
complimentary toiletries replenished.

Room Tip: Rooms on road side a little noisey on 2nights but I think they maybe larger than the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

No frills hotel, brilliant location - short walk from everything to see in Sultanahmet. Breakfast is a good mix of intercontinental and turkish foods. Very comfortable clean rooms. The family that runs the hotel is lovely. Their recommendation for food, shopping etc are spot on. They made us feel at home :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay here in Istanbul. Breakfast was better then we expected. Home made crepes one day. No balcony terrace for views, but easy to find them at other hotels around. Staff was friendly. It was very clean and water was hot. We were impressed that the windows kept out the street noise. Would absolutley stay here again. Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nudibranchsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only stayed at Hotel Novano for two nights, because we had previous reservations elsewhere in the Sultanhamet. We just used Novano to fill a two-night gap after we changed our Itinerary slightly. But we were very happy with it.

The major attractions of Old Istanbul are close enough to walk to from Hotel Novano (Hagia Sophia, the Cistern, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, a small bazaar, the museums, etc.) and there is a tram stop about ten minutes away that can take you anywhere -- including to and from the airport for just a few dollars. If you are a walker, you can walk down to the docks at Eminonu in just a few minutes, and you'll have your choice of ferries across the Bosporus to the Asian side and over to New Istanbul, etc. You could even walk to the Grand Bazaar, but it does make sense to take the tram for that, since the Bazaar involves so much exploring anyway.

Like all hotels in this area that are converted residences, there are no elevators for the multiple floors. We don't consider this a problem, but some people might. Hotel Novano is maintained in impeccable condition throughout, and presents a fine face to the street. Some of the other hotels on the block looked a little down-at-the-heels in comparison.

The room was very well furnished, if a bit cramped. Everything was in perfect condition, the bathroom was very clean and well supplied, there were wooden hangars for our clothes, and the AC was very effective and whisper quiet when we needed it. Breakfast buffet was Turkish: fresh veggies, boiled eggs, tasty olives, cold cuts and cheese, pastry, fresh juice and good coffee. Loved it all.

There is a lively street scene outside, with multiple restaurants and a variety of shops, plus a couple of small stores that are Istanbul's version of a 7/11. The latter are really handy for bottled water, snacks, etc. Some of the food at the restaurants is so-so, and at other places it it quite good. You just need to sample for yourself, but you can't beat the convenience of having a place to eat ready at hand. You DON'T want to be driving in Istanbul and should try to avoid taxis, too. The taxi drivers, like in many busy tourist areas, aren't all completely honest. If you really have to take one, have your hotel call for you. That increases your odds of getting an honest cabbie.

Some people complained in their reviews of noise from other rooms, but we heard none. Our room was on the back, and the hotel backs up close to an ancient Byzantine wall, so we had no "view" in the usual sense. However, we were MORE than compensated by the charm of having a dove nesting in the wall just a few feet from our window. She coo-ed us to sleep at night. Views are one thing, but that was special. Lovely! I'm sure it beat the view of the street.

We did not hear the call to prayer from our room, but if we had, it would have delighted us. We enjoyed it every time we did hear it, day and night, during the whole two weeks we were in Istanbul.

The only negative we felt at Hotel Novano was the lack of a computer for quests to use. We had not brought our laptop, so we had no communication with home for the time we were there. But that was not a biggee since our stay was short.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Divalis Hotel
Divalis Hotel
#275 of 1,163 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#35 of 1,163 in Istanbul
865 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#87 of 1,163 in Istanbul
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Le Safran Suite
Le Safran Suite
#86 of 1,087 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,087 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#3 of 1,087 in Istanbul
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novano

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:74 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novano 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Novano is situated in the Old Walled City and it is only a walking distance to the important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul, such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern and not more than 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. Moreover, there are many bars&restaurants serving traditional foods, shops of authentic goods and places of entertainment in the hotels district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Novano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing