We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$75
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
$80
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$39
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveler rating
828
180
20
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
828
180
20
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagia sophia blue mosque no lift walking distance golden horn engin terrace heart tram palace tourist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2019

I spent four nights here. The hotel is perfectly situated for a tourist extravaganza in Sultanahmet. Our room with private bath was on the second floor, and was lovely, clean, and functional. We were provided an electric kettle with a supply of teabags and teacups. Breakfast was abundant, diverse, and tasty, and served on the rooftop terrace. Be aware that if you stay at Esans, you will climb a lot of stairs. Stairs from the street to reception, stairs to your room, stairs up to breakfast. There is a railing and light, but for anyone with disability, this may be a concern. Reception staff speak English, and were very eager to assist us with our plans. Staff talked through options for our brief stay, and assisted us with bookings. We appreciated the service.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaSPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment it is very important to have your comments. So we can control our level of service.

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and Istanbul. We do everything The best food, the best authentic attractions, the best place for Turkish tea wad ... Not just tourist attractions. So they can remember better.

I hope to see you again in our hotel

Thank you
Best regards
Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

Pros:
- Excellent breakfast
- Friendly staff
- Great location

Cons:
- Noise may be an issue

I stayed at the Esans for 6 nights in July 2019. Overall, it was a good experience and I'd recommend it.

The three guys at reception who I met during my stay were each friendly and welcoming, and gave helpful advice on what to visit. I could tell they were nice guys from the start. The location of the hotel is fantastic - literally 6 or 7 minutes walk (uphill) from Sulanahmet Square, where a lot of the main tourist sites can be found including Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque.

Rooms are located on each of the four floors, with the ground floor having the two small economy rooms (where I stayed for 4 of my 6 nights). The economy size room is small, but was adequate for me as a solo traveller. The ensuite bathroom and shower was fine. The floors above have larger rooms, which are more suitable for couples or families. All rooms have double beds.

For me, one of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast, which included vegetables, olives, cakes, fresh honey, etc. All very tasty and will set you up well for the day ahead. Breakfast is served on the top floor and there's a nice view overlooking the Bosporus and the city walls. There are 3 tables on the outside patio, where I sat a couple of times.

The one downside I should note is that there is a noise issue here. This especially applies to the Economy rooms on the ground floor, which are directly next to the reception, although other rooms also have thin walls and ceilings. I should note that this was not a problem for me, as I used earplugs during my stay and I was also sufficiently tired from exploring each day that I actually slept very well. However, I know that it did affect other guests staying at the same time as me. If you're at all sensitive to noise, this will probably be an issue.

Other Istanbul tips:

- Don't buy a SIM card at the airport unless you absolutely must do. Wait until you get into the city where they're half the price.

- Check the opening days and times for the things you want to visit. Some places close on Mondays or Tuesdays. Check ahead to avoid disappointment.

- Be careful of street hustlers trying to get you into their shops or take a tour somewhere. They will start by being polite and giving you advice and then after getting you chatting, invite you into their carpet shop. In all the tourist areas, you'll have people trying to give you the 'hard sell' and it can get tiring after a while.

- If you're wanting to take a boat / ferry along the Bosphorus, consider getting the public ferry at 25 lira return. This is much cheaper than the private tours you'll see around and just as good in my view.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ebenezer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment it is very important to have your comments. So we can control our level of service.

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and Istanbul. We do everything The best food, the best authentic attractions, the best place for Turkish tea wad ... Not just tourist attractions. So they can remember better.

I hope to see you again in our hotel

Thank you
Best regards
Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

The idea behind the Esans Hotel is "essences" or "fragrances." Each room features a different fragrance diffuser with an explanation of its link to Turkish history and/or culture. We loved breakfast on the roof with its wonderful city views. The owner was very eager to make sure that our stay went smoothly, and offered advice on sightseeing and restaurants as well as super-clear directions. He was absolutely on top of our transportation request to the airport. What a charming hotel and how super-convenient to attractions and dining! One caveat--this is an historic building without an elevator. It's great for families with kids, but might pose a challenge to those with mobility issues.

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019



Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment it is very important to have your comments. So we can control our level of service.

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and Istanbul. We do everything The best food, the best authentic attractions, the best place for Turkish tea wad ... Not just tourist attractions. So they can remember better.

I hope to see you again in our hotel

Thank you
Best regards
Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

A small (10 room) hotel. Less than a 7 minute walk from the Haiga Sophia. Certainly not the typical boring modern hotel design. Very friendly and welcome staff. I particularly liked having breakfast on the roof terrace with a view of the Golden Horn. Recommended.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank 73JohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019
Google Translation


Estimado invitado,

Gracias por tu comentario Es muy importante tener sus comentarios. Para que podamos controlar nuestro nivel de servicio.

Nos alegra saber que le gustó nuestro hotel y Estambul. Hacemos todo lo posible para asesorar las experiencias y gustos locales a nuestros huéspedes. La mejor comida, las mejores atracciones auténticas, el mejor lugar para tomar té turco ... No solo atracciones turísticas. Para que puedan recordar mejor.

Espero verte de nuevo en nuestro hotel

Gracias por elegirnos.
Saludos cordiales
Equipo del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019 via mobile

I can only recommend this hotel! It is in the perfect area, it will get 5 star in all!
5 minutes walk from Topkapi Palace, 10 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Haga Sofia, buses and trams etc.
The rooms have a nice Turkish decor, they are clean and well equipped!
We stayed 3 nights.
The reception service was very good, friendly and helpful! They will book you on tours and airport transfers, they can help you with anything you need through their well established connections!
Breakfast was upstairs on the terrace, which was very nice! You have a lovely view from there. Food was lovely and again service was very friendly!
We also had a last minute issue. We booked an airport transfer to the wrong airport... OUR fault! The manager helped us arrange a last minute transfer so we don’t miss our flight 😅
Thank you again! We will be back! 😉
Çok teşekkür ederim!!!
Kamilla and Hasan

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank kammedli89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is very important to have your feedback. So we can control our service level.

We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel and Istanbul. We try best to advise local experiences and tastes to our guests. The best food, the best authentical attractions, the best place to have Turkish Tea... We want our guests to live Istanbul like a Turkish People. Not only touristics attractions. So they can remember better.

Hope to see you again in our Hotel

Thank you for choosing us.
Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews