We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$75
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
$80
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$39
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Kim D
New York City, New York
8772
Family-Run Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Historical Istanbul
Review of Esans Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 11, 2019
The idea behind the Esans Hotel is "essences" or "fragrances." Each room features a different fragrance diffuser with an explanation of its link to Turkish history and/or culture. We loved breakfast on the roof with its wonderful city views. The owner was very eager to make sure that our stay went smoothly, and offered advice on sightseeing and restaurants as well as super-clear directions. He was absolutely on top of our transportation request to the airport. What a charming hotel and how super-convenient to attractions and dining! One caveat--this is an historic building without an elevator. It's great for families with kids, but might pose a challenge to those with mobility issues.
Date of stay: June 2019
Nearby Hotels
0.5 miles from Esans Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
0.5 miles from Esans Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel exterior
3.2 miles from Esans Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
0.5 miles from Esans Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
0.5 miles from Esans Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Istanbul
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveler rating
828
180
20
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
828
180
20
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagia sophia blue mosque no lift walking distance golden horn engin terrace heart tram palace tourist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

A small (10 room) hotel. Less than a 7 minute walk from the Haiga Sophia. Certainly not the typical boring modern hotel design. Very friendly and welcome staff. I particularly liked having breakfast on the roof terrace with a view of the Golden Horn. Recommended.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank 73JohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019
Google Translation


Estimado invitado,

Gracias por tu comentario Es muy importante tener sus comentarios. Para que podamos controlar nuestro nivel de servicio.

Nos alegra saber que le gustó nuestro hotel y Estambul. Hacemos todo lo posible para asesorar las experiencias y gustos locales a nuestros huéspedes. La mejor comida, las mejores atracciones auténticas, el mejor lugar para tomar té turco ... No solo atracciones turísticas. Para que puedan recordar mejor.

Espero verte de nuevo en nuestro hotel

Gracias por elegirnos.
Saludos cordiales
Equipo del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019 via mobile

I can only recommend this hotel! It is in the perfect area, it will get 5 star in all!
5 minutes walk from Topkapi Palace, 10 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Haga Sofia, buses and trams etc.
The rooms have a nice Turkish decor, they are clean and well equipped!
We stayed 3 nights.
The reception service was very good, friendly and helpful! They will book you on tours and airport transfers, they can help you with anything you need through their well established connections!
Breakfast was upstairs on the terrace, which was very nice! You have a lovely view from there. Food was lovely and again service was very friendly!
We also had a last minute issue. We booked an airport transfer to the wrong airport... OUR fault! The manager helped us arrange a last minute transfer so we don’t miss our flight 😅
Thank you again! We will be back! 😉
Çok teşekkür ederim!!!
Kamilla and Hasan

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank kammedli89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is very important to have your feedback. So we can control our service level.

We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel and Istanbul. We try best to advise local experiences and tastes to our guests. The best food, the best authentical attractions, the best place to have Turkish Tea... We want our guests to live Istanbul like a Turkish People. Not only touristics attractions. So they can remember better.

Hope to see you again in our Hotel

Thank you for choosing us.
Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location right opposite the Topkapi palace. It's clean and room was large enough for 2 people. Though they could remove some of the furniture to create more space. The floors are wooden and we could hear the guests above us which was irritating when you're trying to sleep. The 3 guys on reception were so friendly and helpful and made our stay there perfect. I was contacted prior to my stay on WhatsApp to ask if I needed any help. When we got there one of them arranged for a tour agent to come and speak to us to organise our Cappadocia trip. This was really helpful as it meant we didn't need to spend time looking for one ourselves. Though I would warn you if you do book make sure you get an email with your itinerary as there was a miscommunication between us and the tour agent that we met with. The breakfast was average. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Priya000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is very important to have your feedback. So we can control our service level.

We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel and Istanbul. We try best to advise local experiences and tastes to our guests. The best food, the best authentical attractions, the best place to have Turkish Tea... We want our guests to live Istanbul like a Turkish People. Not only touristics attractions. So they can remember better.

Hope to see you again in our Hotel

Thank you for choosing us.
Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

The hotel is really nice and clean, just as you can see on the pictures. The breakfast room is on the rooftop with amazing seaside view! There is a wide range of choice of food even for people with dietary restrictions which is very helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect, you can walk almost everywhere in the old town.
But what makes this hotel really unique is their staff members. Whatever you ask from them they are there to help. Whatever you didn't even ask - they help anyway! Whenever you enter there's always a hand to help with the luggage, whenever you exit they provide you tons of information regarding where to go and what to see and if you would like to just sit down at the reception - which looks more like a living room - you'll be offered with complementary water or tee immediately. You arrive to Istanbul as a stranger and you leave Istanbul as a family member. I can't wait to go back again!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is very important to have your feedback. So we can control our service level.

We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel and Istanbul. We try best to advise local experiences and tastes to our guests. The best food, the best authentical attractions, the best place to have Turkish Tea... We want our guests to live Istanbul like a Turkish People. Not only touristics attractions. So they can remember better.

Hope to see you again in our Hotel

Thank you for choosing us.
Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

It's a family run hotel in the heart of the tourist district in Istanbul. It's a 10 minute walk to places like Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, the tram station etc. The rooms are clean, spacious and well done. We are a family of 3 and with a pullout sofa we didnt feel cramped in the room.

But the best part about the hotel is not the location. Its the warm and caring service from the staff. They were very attentive right from checkin to tips for places to eat and shop. So much so that the staff handed over their personal travel cards to us so we would travel. Thanks Cetin and Onur! If we come back again to Istanbul, we won't waste a moment looking for another place to stay.

PS: The hotel doesn't have a lift. But the hotel staff will offer to take the luggage all the way to the room. So it wasn't really a problem for us.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank rram_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is very important to have your feedback. So we can control our service level.

We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel and Istanbul. We try best to advise local experiences and tastes to our guests. The best food, the best authentical attractions, the best place to have Turkish Tea... We want our guests to live Istanbul like a Turkish People. Not only touristics attractions. So they can remember better.

Hope to see you again in our Hotel

Thank you for choosing us.
Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews