We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strongly recommendable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #37 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“strongly recommendable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed with my fiance, it was my second stay there and I just can repeat that the esans Hotel is a very clean hotel, with many sweet details and the service is very friendly. TIt is situated perfectly near the topkapi palace, the hagia sophia and the blue mosque. There is also a street with restaurants, a supermarket and shops nearby.
Beds are convenient, the night was quiet. The shower is good and helps you relax after a stressy day. The heating was very strong and we didn´t fell cold although Istanbul was white of snow. The price was very good too. I just can recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Order seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchende111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is so important for us to control our service.

We pay our utmost attention to reviews to be able to monitor ourselves.

We wish to welcome you again in the future.
Thank you again.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    156
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
160
381
79
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed over New Years at Esans Hotel. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and polite, the room spic and span, the bathroom shiny new. Many choices at the breakfast, easy pickup service. The location is _perfect_, next to Hagia Sophia, almost all historical sites within walking distance. We spent New Year's Eve alone on the roof of the hotel watching the fireworks over the Bosporus and the Hagia Sophia. Close by are a number of excellent fish restaurants, where we had dinner. If you can afford the hotel, there can't be a better pick.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ca3sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

A beautiful small hotel at probably the best spot of Istanbul in Sultanahmed area. So close to everything and yet so quiet and peaceful, away from the noise of the big crowds. The staff is so friendly and helpful that make your stay even better. Beautiful rooms with all the facilities. Will definitely stay there again when I go back.

Room Tip: If you wish to sleep long, it's not going to happen as all the noises fom upstairs rooms can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cigarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Was in Esans hotel in the beginning of December 2013. Great hotel with a very friendly staff located in a very quiet place in a heart of old city. Large rooms with all facilities including safe and small fridge with mini-bar. Breakfast was very tasty and included fresh orange juice.

The only problem - awful noise isolation in a room. You'll hear all your neighbors especially above your room. So you have a chance to be waked up in a night because your neighbors moving furniture or just talking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Yönetici at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us,regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

Istanbul old city is an archeological protected site area. As most of the other hotels have in the area, our hotel has wooden 120 years old recently renovated mansion. Comparing to other hotels,we have installed polyurethane material as insulation into walls,floors and ceiling of our wooden building as extra to reduce sounds from other rooms.

It is not normal to move furnitures in the middle of the night for your above room. Some of guests may be a bit noisy during their stay in our Hotel as may in all other hotels. If our guest is very sensitive to noise and if our night reception is clearly informed about the issue, he is well trained to handle the case by proper intervention including warning other noisy guests in a polite way. As you may see in other reviews, our hotel street is very quiet and our guests have silent and peaceful rest during their stay.


Thank you. Hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Well ...the staff was extremely helpful, kind, and professional, its a family business and you really can feel it from the warmness wellcome, shortly :
1- location: awesome for those who aim to spend most of their time visiting istanbul ancient landmarks, quite for couples also.
2- value: some how expensive maybe regarding to its location.
3- service: more than excellent.
4- rooms: i stayed in the third floor room 3 "sultan room" it wa sea view and it was very nice but its not soundproof, no elevator by the way.
5- breakfast: tasty and homemade , i felt like my mother gave them a hand ;).
6- staff: i have to mention my admiration in the beginning and in the end of my review, they are the magic of this place, this non corporate hotel with its gorgeous simplicity makes you feel like you are invited in a family home.
and i would like to thank :
Engin Caskun
Aykut Tan
Emrah Badur

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I, along with two friends, enjoyed a short stay at the Esans Hotel in Istanbul in November 2013 before joining a Turkey and Greek Islands cruise.
The staff at Esans were excellent. The warm welcome we recieved after a long flight from Australia made us feel that we were visiting friends. The Esans people even arranged our transfer from the airport to the hotel, and then from the hotel to the cruise terminal.
The Esans is located really close to all the attractions in Suntanahmet, and great places to dine are just a short stroll around the corner.
The hotel rooms are nicely decorated in traditional Turkish style. The free wi-fi is an added bonus.
The breakfast offered was also really great, including freshly squeezed orange juice. The rooftop terrace would be a wonderful place to have breakfast if the weather is fine.
Overall, a fantastic place to stay in Istanbul. An experience to be fondly remembered.

Room Tip: The view from the 3rd floor rooms is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derek_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Esans hotel. It's in a fantastic location and the hotel is kept very clean. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made a real effort to be involved in our stay as well as giving us great advice on where to visit and what to do. We loved the traditional Turkish breakfast in the morning. If you want a boutique hotel rather than a chain owned hotel this is it.

Great value and great service!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing