We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel, not in city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand S Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand S Hotel
Ranked #888 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good hotel, not in city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

we stayed one night in this hotel. we lost our connection in istanbul airport and the airlines company host us in this hotel.
our room was fine, with complimentary tea and coffee. the room and also the bathroom were very clean. no noise during the night. free wi-fi.
breakfast was very good, a lot of food, local and european.
we also had dinner there, nothing special but good.
the hotel is far from city center, but if you cross the road and walk for 3 min you''l reach otogar metro station, you can take a few stops and than a bus, the journey takes 20 min more or less.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quandosiparte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    30
    19
    22
See reviews for
22
32
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Okay, this has 4 star rating but is really maintained like a 2 star. Rooms are okay but stink of cigarettes and carpets are old and dirty.

Having stayed in a lot of hotels, this was certainly the worst in Turkey. As in many other shops, restaurants and hotels, staff was helpful only when it came to basic things. The most amazing thing was the total lack of any service once payment was made. We turned from being their guests to being invisible. One of the managers was good though everyone else seemed to think they are doing you a favor.

The location is quite odd. We took this as this was near to the bus station/ Otogar but, in reality, it's hard to get there because of the big roads, probably highways, and far off pedestrian crossings. You will need a taxi to go anywhere even if it is across the road, unless you are okay with spending 15 minutes figuring out where to cross and how to go. When asked for help, staff simply said, "Take a taxi."

They seem to get quite a few tour groups and Turkish Airline passengers so maybe that's the reason for the indifference. Stay at other hotels.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My friends and I (four of us) stayed at Grand S Hotel during our first day in Turkey, Istanbul. The main reason why we chose this hotel is because it is about 15mins walk to the Bayrampasa Bus Terminal where we headed to take a bus to Safranbolu the very next day - and we wanted to just rest after a 11-hour flight from Singapore to Istanbul.

We requested for early check-in at 6am via email but was told that early check-in would only be granted if we pay 20 euros per person for breakfast. Finding this rather ridiculous, we decided to just let it be and settle the issue when we were there.

On the day of our arrival at the hotel, upon telling the staff of our room reservation, we were greeted with a "this is not my problem. your check-in time is at 12pm". We understand that it is unusual for early check-in at 6am but it would be much appreciated if the hotel staff could provide us with a solution (such as paying extra for early check-in) instead of just saying "this is not my problem". After much debate, we managed to get a room for the 4 of us to rest till 12pm - a sigh of relief.

With the poor service aside, the hotel rooms are spotless and splendid. Beds are soft and comfy with nice flat screen TV. Breakfast is excellent too with quite a wide selection of bread. The service was also much better on the very next day when we were checking out, so it could be that the hotel staff was over stressed on the day we arrived - with all due respect, he's quite an old man after all =)

All in all, if you are looking for a hotel that's quiet, near to bus station and away from all the hussle and bussle, Grand S Hotel would be a perfect choice! If you want to stay near all the attractions, I'm sure you can find something more suitable inside Sultanahmet area =)

Room Tip: If there're four of you traveling together and don't mind staying in 1 room, you can book th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hotel is too far from everything but main bus terminal.Rooms are ok for a three to four star hotel.Services are below Turkish standards .watch out if you are crossing the road as it is not that easy.Breakfast is ok.I would stay elsewhere unless i had business in this particular neighborhood and if i couldn't effort crown plaza hotel next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efesmurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

At best, internationally speaking, this is a 3 Star.

Pro
Clean sheets and bath
Helpful staff

Con
Poor lighting in bath
FITNESS AREA DOES NOT CATER TO BUSINESS TRAVELERS... OPENS AT 09:30 IN MORNING!
Poor quality soap
Bad location for sightseeing

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpatPro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

i came over on 1 oct 2011 for my honeymoon and i really enjoyed my stay very much although it is little bit far from some places but the metro made really very easy as it was across the street
and be careful from the restaurant beside the hotel it gives different prices every day although the ordered food is the same!!!
beside the hotel there are many restaurants and markets in case you need any thing and it is worthy to mention that the hotel food was great and with same prices as outside
Special thanks to the front office team specially (MOURAD) as he guided me to many lovely unforgettable tours and instructed me how to get to metro and other lovely places.
i would love to come again thats for sure

Room Tip: just follow front office choice and you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahmed h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperlonga, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

stayed here for daughters 18th birthday, lovely modern hotel but a fair distance from the sights, breakfast fab even for veggies, we had problems wiv pool as you must buy swim hat a 10 lira each and dont bother with the gym unless you have proper clothes with you! be careful of room service as some staff are perverts,we found food in restaurant next door cheap and great, try it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trsvelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Bayrampasa
1.0 mi away
Wish More Hotel Istanbul
Wish More Hotel Istanbul
#298 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.6 mi away
dab Hotel Esenyurt
dab Hotel Esenyurt
#677 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lionel Hotel
Lionel Hotel
#296 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Titanic Business Bayrampasa
Titanic Business Bayrampasa
#226 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#421 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand S Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand S Hotel

Property: Grand S Hotel
Address: Yavuz Selim Mah. Otogar Yolu No:20 Esenler Merkez, Esenler, Istanbul 34220, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #888 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand S Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand S Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing