We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #103 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed three nights here as tourists. This place is a decent walk from Topkapi and Blue Mosque, but it is better to take the Tram for 4TL or using IstanbulKart for 2.15TL. IstanbulKart can be used by up to 5 people on the same trip - so it was perfect for our family.

The breakfast included in the hotel is excellent with multiple types of food - perhaps as many as 50 to 60 different items and made-to-order omelets.

No complaints with the hotel, but next time it might be better to stay closer to Topkapi/Blue Mosque.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank razi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was very happy with my stay at this DoubleTree. The rooms are of a 5 star standard and mine had a very comfortable bed with separate sitting area. I did struggle to find many english language tv stations though.

Service was great with staff very keen to please and the breakfast buffet was terrific with a huge selection including some great Turkish options.

Location was good as there is a tram stop right outside to take you to all the attractions of the old town area of which there are many. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Flyer_dotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I wish to commend on the service rendered by the front desk receptionist, by the name of a Mr. Serkan Duygan. The service rendered upon check-in was superb. Had difficulties in room door security lock as well as at the breakfast lounge. Mr. Serkan took the trouble to walk with me to the respective places to make sure everything was alright.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Phaik Har Daphn... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found our team member to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

It is good location. Tram Station is just in front of the Hotel. Good Breakfast. Wifi is chargable. NO Toothbrush, No Bathrobe, No bathtub. Grand Bazaar is walking distance or one stop by tram. From IST airport, it takes 40-50 min by taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank PaulLim120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I am a Hilton Diamond member and used points for the stay so I can't really say if it's a good value, but if you are coming on a vacation, avoid the other hilton properties as they are a taxi ride to all the sights.

This location sits right in front of a tram stop, which we used to get everywhere for 3 lira each ride ($1.50 usd). From there you can really get everywhere. We only used a taxi one night and it became obvious early on that the best way to get around is via the tram. The hotel itself is very clean and new and the staff were friendly. Our room was very comfortable and insulated enough that you will probably sleep through the 5 am call to prayer. The concierge desk will help direct you and make reservations.

Save yourself a boatload in cab fares and stay here if you're going to stay at a hilton property.

I did get a haircut in the spa (not knowing that it was actually part of the hotel) and it was very expensive. If you need spa services look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Doubletree in Old Town is in a great location because it is within walking distance to the major sights in Istanbul like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, Galata Bridge and the pier for the Bosphorus cruise. It is also very convenient to get to from the airport although you need to take the Metro and then the street level Tram.

The service was very good. When we checked in, we didn’t realize that our room faced the major street and the tram line. Needless to say, my wife didn’t sleep very well that first night. When we explained the situation to the front desk, they immediately offered other room options and had one of their staff take us up to 2 different rooms to decide which was acceptable.

The buffet breakfast was very good in offering hot and cold items. There was a large selection of fresh, canned and dried fruits, cold cuts, made to order eggs and omelets, cereals, pastries and breads. Service was generally good and efficient with refills of coffee and juice.

Concierge service was very good with directions and pointers. When we told him we were going to the Grand Bazaar, he told us to remember to exit at Gate 7 since that gate is closest to the hotel. The Grand Bazaar is massive with lots of twists and turns so you will probably not exit from the same gate that you entered and will be completely lost. Knowing that we should exit from Gate 7 made it easy to ask for directions to that gate and once we exited, we immediately recognized where we were.

Overall a great hotel stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I really enjoyed my seven night stay here. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar and about a 30 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and other attractions. There is a very convenient tram stop just outside the hotel that makes getting to places near the Istanbul Modern or Taksim very easy. As for the hotel, the room was clean and fresh which a decent mini-bar. Room service was excellent. The staff were very attentive and friendly. I'd highly recommend this hotel for a visit to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Ordu Cad. can be noisy, so if you're a light sleeper, request an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harleybearBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Address: Beyazit Mahallesi, Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $72 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and homelike surroundings at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Istanbul - Old Town hotel. Our friendly and attentive staff will even greet you with our delicious chocolate chip cookie. Set in the heart of Istanbul's old town on the Historical Peninsula of Turkey, the contemporary DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel is only 30 minutes east of the airport and is the nearest hotel to the famous covered Grand Bazaar. Visit attractions such as the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace near the hotel or discover this exciting city by foot. Retire to a spacious guest room or suite at this Istanbul hotel. All rooms are stylishly decorated and are fully equipped with modern amenities. Upgrade to a suite for extra space, including a separate living area and beautiful terrace, ideal for relaxing on sunny days. Host a meeting or celebrate a special event at the DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel and choose between five flexible meeting rooms or the stunning top-floor ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing