We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #122 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked this hotel for 8 days and we were very impressed by the wonderful staff! We checked in late and were welcomed by the night manager, Ekrem Tekin. He was so friendly & accommodating! We booked 3 rooms & stayed in 421, 422, & 430. The rooms were nicely & newly decorated & they were clean. The only problem was noise from the street, it seemed there were people out & talking at all hours of the night & early morning! The windows need to be double paned at least! If not for the noise I would have given our stay a 5, sorry! Breakfast was good & there was lots to choose from! The location was great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerswoodfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    623
    154
    41
    31
See reviews for
339
660
174
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Pakistan
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The service was very nice, with excellent food and drinks. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was quite big with a wonderful terrace and the bed was fantastic. A sweet and pleasant sleep. We have been arranged by the hotel a very nice tour of the main attractions in Istanbul which was conducted by a really smart and nice guide.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sorin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the doubletree for a few days in November. The hotel was clean, my room was very comfortable, and the staff was kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet has a really nice selection at an affordable price. They also have tons of pastries that were amazing.

My favorite aspect of the hotel though was its location. I wanted to be near the sites in Sultan Ahmet and that was definitely the case. The Grand Bazaar is hardly a 5 minute walk, then the Blur Mosque and Aya Sophia are just a few minutes beyond that. It was very safe to walk around as well.

The hotel had nice amenities including a day spa.

If you are looking for reputable accommodations and want to be close to Sultan Ahmet, this is definitely a great option. I look forward to returning here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonOnMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We arrived at the hotel off a red eye very early in the morning and as a (lowly?) hilton gold, we were given exceptional treatment! The front desk actually had our room ready (we booked a suite) which really helped us get situated and get a great start on the day!

Regular rooms may be on the small side, per the norm with Europe, but we booked a suite which was very spacious with an outdoor balcony as well.

Breakfast spreads in the restaurant were large with the bread choices being the highlight to us. Staff all went out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome throughout the property!

I think the highlight is the location as it's really in the heart of the old town. I don't think you could get a better location with the tram literally in front of the hotel!

We will choose this property again the next time we visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed at the Doubletree Hilton Old Town in Istanbul for one night for business. It exceeded my expectations from the minute I arrived.

The location is good. In the old town a short walk from the Grand Bazaar, and then down to Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque etc. The tram (outside) takes you directly there as well as across the river towards Taksim. If you want to save money, take the metro and tram from the airport. It's usually packed but it will drop you outside the hotel at the stop Silisi.

The lobby is very impressive. An internal atrium dominates the space with excellent lighting, rich colours, very comfortable quality furniture with lots of seating, a bar and lounge which then leads to the breakfast restaurant. Think modern boutique hotel and very plush. It was also beautifully decorated for Christmas. Not the Doubletree style I had expected (which was a relief). It feels very 5 star.

The staff are professional and friendly. I was given a beautiful corner room which was a very good size and the bathroom was also large. There was a king bed, good size desk with all the right plugs to get connected, an armchair, lots of mood lighting, and plenty of space for luggage. Quality throughout. The bathroom had a large walk in shower with rainforest shower-head and a large sink area. It was very modern and impeccably clean. Lots of quality toiletries.

Breakfast, which was included in my rate, was very good. Cooked to order omelets and fried eggs. Hot options included turkey bacon, potatoes, scrambled eggs, vegetable dishes and local turkish delicacies. Think I also saw a waffle maker. The cold options were a variety of cereals, lots of bakery options, fruit and salad items including Turkish items which were great. Extensive selection and all very good. Coffee and tea were freshly made to order. The dining room is large but well designed and feels like a restaurant rather than a breakfast room. It operates, I understand, only at breakfast as there is a roof top al-a-carte restaurant. It has a glass wall which overlooks the street and makes for great people-watching. The rooftop restaurant also looked nice with great views over towards the water. The menu looked like it had a decent variety of dishes. Given the limited time of my stay, I didn't eat there but it looked worth giving it a go, especially if you want to convenient meal after a long day. There weren't that many good restaurants near the hotel, with most located down towards Sultanahmet 15 mins walk away.

The hotels also has a spa which I saw but didn't try and looked very nice. As a guest, I received a discount voucher to both the restaurant and spa.

My only gripe was wi-fi. It isn't free unless you're a high tier HHonours member. I got it free, but perhaps the hotel should re-consider this policy as I know many other local 4-5 star properties are offering it free to all guests and, these days, it's like charging extra for shampoo or towels given it's something almost everyone uses.

Al in all, this place is fantastic and I'll be back for sure. Excellent quality in a decent location for holiday makers. In my opinion,it should be a Hilton not a Doubletree, but regardless, it's a credit to the brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFreeman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all of our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having stayed in a few double trees over the past few months i was pretty impressed with this one. The location was very good - but also the hotel seemed to have more character than the rather bland and clinical doubletrees that i've stayed at.

The spa and fitness center is very good.. as is the service and restaurant!

I recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany, Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed there 3 times already: great location, friendly staff and beautiful hotel - all shops nearby and you can dine quite fine - also nice lounge for meetings and very very helpful hotel staff - would go there any time again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eurotripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,495 reviews
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,039 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing