We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our best doubletree experiences!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #123 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of our best doubletree experiences!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We arrived at the hotel off a red eye very early in the morning and as a (lowly?) hilton gold, we were given exceptional treatment! The front desk actually had our room ready (we booked a suite) which really helped us get situated and get a great start on the day!

Regular rooms may be on the small side, per the norm with Europe, but we booked a suite which was very spacious with an outdoor balcony as well.

Breakfast spreads in the restaurant were large with the bread choices being the highlight to us. Staff all went out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome throughout the property!

I think the highlight is the location as it's really in the heart of the old town. I don't think you could get a better location with the tram literally in front of the hotel!

We will choose this property again the next time we visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    618
    154
    41
    31
See reviews for
338
658
169
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed at the Doubletree Hilton Old Town in Istanbul for one night for business. It exceeded my expectations from the minute I arrived.

The location is good. In the old town a short walk from the Grand Bazaar, and then down to Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque etc. The tram (outside) takes you directly there as well as across the river towards Taksim. If you want to save money, take the metro and tram from the airport. It's usually packed but it will drop you outside the hotel at the stop Silisi.

The lobby is very impressive. An internal atrium dominates the space with excellent lighting, rich colours, very comfortable quality furniture with lots of seating, a bar and lounge which then leads to the breakfast restaurant. Think modern boutique hotel and very plush. It was also beautifully decorated for Christmas. Not the Doubletree style I had expected (which was a relief). It feels very 5 star.

The staff are professional and friendly. I was given a beautiful corner room which was a very good size and the bathroom was also large. There was a king bed, good size desk with all the right plugs to get connected, an armchair, lots of mood lighting, and plenty of space for luggage. Quality throughout. The bathroom had a large walk in shower with rainforest shower-head and a large sink area. It was very modern and impeccably clean. Lots of quality toiletries.

Breakfast, which was included in my rate, was very good. Cooked to order omelets and fried eggs. Hot options included turkey bacon, potatoes, scrambled eggs, vegetable dishes and local turkish delicacies. Think I also saw a waffle maker. The cold options were a variety of cereals, lots of bakery options, fruit and salad items including Turkish items which were great. Extensive selection and all very good. Coffee and tea were freshly made to order. The dining room is large but well designed and feels like a restaurant rather than a breakfast room. It operates, I understand, only at breakfast as there is a roof top al-a-carte restaurant. It has a glass wall which overlooks the street and makes for great people-watching. The rooftop restaurant also looked nice with great views over towards the water. The menu looked like it had a decent variety of dishes. Given the limited time of my stay, I didn't eat there but it looked worth giving it a go, especially if you want to convenient meal after a long day. There weren't that many good restaurants near the hotel, with most located down towards Sultanahmet 15 mins walk away.

The hotels also has a spa which I saw but didn't try and looked very nice. As a guest, I received a discount voucher to both the restaurant and spa.

My only gripe was wi-fi. It isn't free unless you're a high tier HHonours member. I got it free, but perhaps the hotel should re-consider this policy as I know many other local 4-5 star properties are offering it free to all guests and, these days, it's like charging extra for shampoo or towels given it's something almost everyone uses.

Al in all, this place is fantastic and I'll be back for sure. Excellent quality in a decent location for holiday makers. In my opinion,it should be a Hilton not a Doubletree, but regardless, it's a credit to the brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFreeman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all of our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having stayed in a few double trees over the past few months i was pretty impressed with this one. The location was very good - but also the hotel seemed to have more character than the rather bland and clinical doubletrees that i've stayed at.

The spa and fitness center is very good.. as is the service and restaurant!

I recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany, Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed there 3 times already: great location, friendly staff and beautiful hotel - all shops nearby and you can dine quite fine - also nice lounge for meetings and very very helpful hotel staff - would go there any time again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eurotripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and is walking distance from major attractions . Although this area is congested a bit but the proximity to the grand bazaar and othe places is great . also public transport is available right outside the hotel . Hotel facilities were satisfactory and the staff is hospitable . The breakfast is good could be better . They gave us an early check in and late check out which made it very convenient for our flight timings. Nice for a short stay and to explore istanbul 's major attractions in a short time . Would stay there again .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monikachawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during our recent trip to Turkey and it was great. Wasn't too sure about the location as the taxi ride from airport took more than 1.5 hours but we found it to well located once we had time to explore Istanbul. Getting the tram was easy as the stop was steps from the hotel. The only downside is that there weren't that many restaurants in the immediate vincinity of the hotel ( decent food can be found in a couple of tram stops away or 15-20 walk slightly uphill). We had breakfast daily at the hotel and the spread were good, although it was getting a little boring after so many days. But we didn't get tired of the Turkish coffees during breakfast!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street was not too noisy, and we had an angled view towards one of the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bxs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A BIG BIG THUMBS UP FOR THE LOCATION! it is so close to all the tourist attractions that everything is practically a stone's throw away. good "Hilton" standard rooms, great menu for food, elaborate breakfast spread. the chocolate chip cookie they offer you when you check in is delicious. We had a great stay and would love to return to Istanbul. Fell in love with the food, city and the people.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chicu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#121 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#129 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
#153 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing