We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for seeing Istanbul's sights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #117 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for seeing Istanbul's sights”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We only had 24 hours in Istanbul so sightseeing time was limited. We wanted a hotel in a great location to maximise sightseeing time and this hotels location is perfect. 5 minutes walk to the fascinating Grand Bazaar and close to other attractions. The hotel is top of the range for hilton Courtyard hotels. I wouldn't go as far as saying its 5 star but definitely an excellent 4 star. I used the spa which was lovely and Hilton Honours members got a 15% discount.
I felt the price paid for the room was a bit steep but no doubt there's a premium for the location.
I would stay here again if returning to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    633
    156
    41
    33
See reviews for
351
671
180
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Fantastic stay that exceeded my expectations
We stayed here in September 2013 for 4 nights. I had wanted to stay in the normal Hilton but the rates were much higher and I wanted to be near the old town.

The location is very good, not too far from the airport and very close to the Grand Bazar and attractions of the old town area. There is a tram stop right outside. The trams are 3 TL (£1) paid with tokens from a vending machine. They are modern and air conditioned but can get very busy. It is just 3 stops Cistern and other great attractions. You can take a Taxi but the traffic is crazy so I would suggest a tram or walking.

I have gold status with Hilton which often means an upgrade to the exec floor. This hotel does not have an exec floor but they do include breakfast WiFi and a number of offers and vouchers to make up for this. We had a nice modern room on the first floor, it was very clean and offered all that we require. It would have been nice to have a bath rather than a shower but I think this is normal in Istanbul.

The staff were fantastic. The made us feel very welcome, they even noticed it was my wife's birthday when entering our passport details and were quickly to our room with a birthday cake including candles. A very nice touch.

The breakfast buffet was quite good, not as good as some hotels I have stayed at but it was not expensive, we were quite happy. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast but did use the roof top bar which has some (limited) views across the city and to the sea.

There are spa facilities but we did not use these.

We hope to go back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel right in the middle of Old Town Istanbul. The location simply can't be beat! You have a tram stop directly outside the hotel that takes you to all the popular spots in Old Town and the Taksim area. The hotel itself is very clean, modern, and very comfortable. My room was a standard King and had more then enough room and amenities to please. While I was there I took advantage the spa which was outstanding, the pricing for a Turkish Bath and Swedish Massage was outstanding and the services provided were top notch. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If you are looking for modern western style hotel with good service in Old Town, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel was modern, new, and seemed nicer than most Hilton hotels I have stayed at in the United States. It is located in the heart of old town Istanbul, about a 10 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Grand Bazaar. The hotel is beautiful with an ultramodern style and new furniture and amenities. The breakfast buffet was excellent and served a variety of traditional Turkish foods as well as western foods. I loved this hotel and will stay there again when I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank emchavez678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Johns Trip to Double tree by Hilton Istanbul (Old Town) was a wonderful experience - a bit on the costly side but lots to see - food was excellent and a real overall exciting experience - would recommend the Hotel to all - Just a little costly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

my husband and i stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. the hotel is nice and clean and has good access to the main tourist places in Istanbul. The staff were very friendly and in particular the concierge was very helpful in explaining what we could do in the city. There is a tram station outside the hotel which was very convenient and attractions such as the grand bazaar, blue mosque and Hagia Sofia are a short walking distance. we both enjoyed our stayed at the hotel. the only downside was as we were checking out the staff tried to charge us for breakfast which we never had. however after explaining that we never had breakfast at the hotel we were let off. would definitely recommend the hotel to others if staying in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSF786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 5 nights The hotel is listed as being 5 star but it definitely wasn't 5 star. I did not find the staff friendly at all. We were a gay couple and found that the staff ignored us. There were always staff standing near the door and not once was a door opened for us. At one stage as we walked towards the entrance a staff member had his back to us and went to open the door. He then turned around and saw that it was us took his hand off the door and walked off. In regards to the room the beds were very comfortable, however there was the smell of mould in the room, which we raised with staff on two occasions and nothing was done about it. On the third night myself and my partner got sick. As a result of being sick I ended up turning the air conditioning off and opening a window. The next day myself and my partner felt better as we had the window open all night with the aircon off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerkelpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and would apologise for this negative experience.Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town very soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#115 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#74 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,197 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#87 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing