We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location. Pleasant, but for one thing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #125 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location. Pleasant, but for one thing...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a well located, clean and modern hotel. Walking distance from the major sights of Istanbul. There is a convenient tram stop right in front, though we preferred to walk. Friendly staff, especially at the reception, who always had a greeting for you. Rooms were clean and nice, though a bit small for a Doubletree, but okay for Europe.
The only downside was the bad smell of sewage gases in our bathroom in the mornings. They sent in the maintenance crew every day, but practically they just sprayed some deodorant and that's it. Only on the third day did they change our room on our insistence. This marred an otherwise pleasant stay. Was inconvenient to pack and unpack just to move in the same hotel.
I note that other guests have also complained about this. It is some basic problem in the plumbing. Hope that they can sort it out soon.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front overlook the street, and it is fun to people watch. Good sound insulation, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumainMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

I look forward to welcoming you soon and try to show you our improvement.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    611
    151
    41
    29
See reviews for
331
652
166
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

we got the hotel for 170 per night which is pretty good for 5star (i think more like 4.5). the location is very good, walking distance to everything in old city or just across from metro line. rooms were good size and noise was very low to none (we stayed on street side). dont follow their recommendation for restaurants just use lonely planet for good picks. overall easy experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was ideally located and for a 5 star hotel the rate was reasonable.Perfect for shoppers who must take a tour to the grand bazar located 7 mins walking distance from hotel.Also the blue Mosque is about 10 mins walk.The rooms were spacious and clean.The coffee/tea making facility
was helpful.The staff were friendly and helpful always.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowsubmarine117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

First of all, The location is just perfect because it is very close to the most important places in Istambul such as mosques, historical places, and monuments. Second, the service was excellent and the staff was very professional and friendly. Finally, the room, even tough it wasn't big, it was clean and cozy little room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danitza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about our hotel and your stay.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Turkey Double Tree
Stayed here for two days and had a wonderful time! Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and efficient in our check in. The location was the main reason for staying here. Although it was manic getting into the main town from the airport, as the traffic was awful, it was definitely worth the ride. We did have issues with the reservation team and the price of our stay, initially; however, after a few phone calls and emails, the problems were resolved.

The Room
- We stayed in a deluxe room on the third floor. Although we had a terrace, it was only useful and large enough if you wanted to smoke
- The rooms are not large, but they are well equipped and comfortable

The Facilities
- Definitely no Executive Lounge! So if you are frequent user of Hilton, there is no happy hour nor tea. They do provide discounts on food and drinks at the restaurant. It is a shame.

The Food
- Average. Although we did just have breakfast and did not try the room service nor the dinner restaurant

The Location
- You are at the heart of the old city and next yo one of the tram stations - 10 mins from the Grand Bazaar and 20 mins to the Blue Mosque
- As you are in the touristic centre, you will be often hassled to buy something from the moment you step out of the hotel
- The taxi from the airport will cost you about 42-50 Turkish lira

Other things to consider
- If you need a visa, get it on-line before coming here. Although the border control staff are very friendly, the queues are endless!
- No need to worry too much about using taxis. Most, if not all, use meters
- The staff in the hotel from the front desk to the cleaning ladies were excellent and made us feel very welcome
Overall, if you are in Istanbul for just a few days, this is highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bos
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staff was great for advice on local things to see. Roofdeck bar was great for people watching the locals. located right on the tram line, so you have access everywhere. Tram is the way to travel within the old city. No interesting restaurants that close (walking distance), but the tram solves that

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bordeauxbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

location is great. rooms smell smoke and we asked for toils every day for some reason they forget to stack the room with toils, breakfast buffet was very good and the front desk/concierge/restaurant staff are very good especially the concierge they come out of their way to show you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

I look forward to welcoming you soon and try to show you our improvement.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#126 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
#157 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing