We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and modern hotel but be aware of the various issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #125 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New and modern hotel but be aware of the various issues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

HHonors Diamond writing a review here... Being a diamond member and a world traveler means that I've stayed at lots of different Hilton properties through out the word. I have to say that the DoubleTree at Istanbul Old Town definitely ranks towards the bottom of the list of hotels. There is no problem with the hotel's "hardware" sort of say - the decor, furniture, restaurant, spa and all facilities are quite new and modern which is a plus. However, there are simply too many other issues with this hotel which have led to this 2-star review. First of all, please do not consider this a 5-star hotel - even though the hotel may be newer (and therefore more modern/nicer) than some of the 4-star hotels in Istanbul, the DoubleTree is by no means comparable to a true 5-star such as the nearby Four Seasons. I mean, there is often very little difference in terms of facilities between a 4 vs. a 5-star hotel and rather you would expect perfection or simply better services at a 5-star compared to a 4 which is not our experience here. Speaking of location, DoubleTree is 3 tram stops away from the old town area where Haiga Sophia, Blue Mosque and all the sights in the old town are. This is about a 15 minute walk, or a short tram ride away. It is true that the hotel is conveniently located directly at the tram stop; however, I do not consider the location to be "great" or "brilliant" like some other posts have suggested. If you have to/want to stay at a Hilton property in Istanbul, it is correct that this is the best location. However, there are many many hotels (including 4, 5-star luxury properties) located directly in the Sultanahmet area where all the sights are. The issue with the location of the DoubleTree is more related to the fact that the hotel is in the middle of a very busy shopping district. Though not a long walk to the various historical sites, there is very limited restaurant choices around the hotel. In addition, the surrounding of the hotel is also very noisy. The hotel is on a very busy street where the tram runs. We had a room facing a side street and even then there were noise issues through out our stay until very late at night. One could only imagine how loud it must be if your have a front facing room! In comparison, a hotel in the Sultanahmet would generally be surrounded by more greens, nice cafe/restaurants and a much quieter night. An additional thing to be aware of is the hotel's false advertising on its website. Doubletree's website mentions that it "is the nearest hotel to the famous covered Grand Bazaar" and this is simply not true! The hotel is 1 tram stop away from Grand Bazzar yet there are lots of hotels which are directly located at the Grand Bazaar area all of which closer to the Grand Bazzar. I am not sure how or why DoubleTree thinks that they are the closest hotel to the Grand Bazzar. :( The service level at the hotel is also a bit of a miss-or-hit and certainly not what you would expect for a 5-star. Out of the 4 nights we stayed, we received turn-down service for 2 nights only!? I wonder why this is - initially we just thought that there's no turn-down service which is fine, but then we got a turn-down service one night. Housekeeping is also quite unprofessional. A man from housekeeping actually opened our door in the morning (around 9am) without knocking or any prior notice at all! This is simply unacceptable as we were in the middle of dressing! Furthermore, our reservation was for two guests which the hotel is very well aware of, but there is only one bathrobe and one hand towel in our hotel room! Well, there were two hand towels when we arrived, but ever since the second day, housekeeping decided to only give us one hand towel. We never had a second bathrobe either. On the morning of day 2, we stopped by the front desk (since there is no dedicated concierge desk) to get a map and some walking direction. We were told that we should buy an Istanbul card (it's like a metro card in NYC or an oyster in London). We were informed by the hotel staff that we will need to pay 10lira of deposit on each card and in return, each tram journey will only cost us 1.9lira as opposed to the standard 3lira fare. The hotel staff also told us that at the end of our stay, we can simply return the card and get our money back. He wrote down all the numbers on a piece of paper, so we definitely got the information from him "correctly". We confirmed again with him that we could get all the leftover credit back and the deposit and he said yes. Happy that we found a good deal, we bought two cards at the place we were told only to find out that all the information was WRONG! The deposit is actually 6lira, and there is actually 1lira service fee for the card, the tram journey with the card is actually 2lira, we only need one card between us (as you can swipe it twice), and that we would not get any leftover credit back! Unfortunately, we only found out at the end of stay when we tried to return the card that we wouldn't get any leftover credit back. Again, another piece of incorrect information provided by the hotel. To be fair, DoubleTree did at the end refund our remaining credit back (but not without hassle) - we had to deal with some very rude staff to get this done. Their immediate reaction after we explained what happened is that "who told you this?" Rather than being appologatic, the staff at front desk when we checked out was rather rude with some attitude one should not expect. It has completely ruined our holidays... My OH had a Turkish bath at the hotel spa one night, and after he returned back to the room, I noticed that his face, arms and body were very very red. He told me that it felt rather painful and it looked like a severe case of sunburn to me. We've both had Turkish bath a few times before, so it wasn't something new. We called the hotel careline and a lady came to our room. She started out not very understanding (for example, saying that this is normal, etc.), but to make a long story short, a doctor was called with medicine prescribed and a diagnosis was made. At the end, things were handled OK (acceptable level), but the reaction and the handling by the hotel staff of the incident initially was not really well. Perhaps the personnel just lacks experience and may get better next time, but I certainly don't want to be some training tool for their experience - at least not when I pay to stay at a 5-star property. On the last morning, both of our keys stopped working at 11:10am when we returned to our room from breakfast. Luckily, there was a staff working on our floor, so we simply talked to her and not have to go all the way to the front desk. She checked her paper and told us that our room has been checked-out already which is very strange as we didn't check-out, and didn't even receive a bill in our door for express check-out either. She then phoned front desk who asked to speak to me to confirm our identity. I asked him over the phone how come the key has stopped working when check-out isn't until noon. He said that there may be issues with the magnetic strip, which I don't believe it's true as both of our two keys stopped working - don't you think it's a bit "interesting" that both keys stopped working at the same time on the last morning? What's even more strange is that on the last morning before we checked out, housekeeping attempted to come in and clean our room (knocking on our door this time). It actually woke us up as it was just around 9am. I know we could've had the DND sign out, and we didn't simply because one would not expect housekeeping to come on the morning of your check-out day. All in all, the service at the hotel is probably around a poor 2-3 star hotel quality, the decor/interior/facilities may be 4-star, the restaurant prices are definitely 5-star (read very expensive), and the room sizes are also very small (only enough floor space to pen one luggage, but not two!) English speaking personnel is not always available at the spa. In addition, my OH got dirty looks and was shown the clock/time when he went to the spa at 9:15pm (the spa is open until 10pm everyday) - it was a case as if the staff would like to clean up and leave early and therefore tried to stop him from using the spa at 9:15pm. We would not recommend this place for your Istanbul trip. Though the furnishing and look of the hotel are good, there are simply too many issues and incidents. The service level is generally quite poor as well except for the great restaurant staff (both the cafe on the ground floor and the roof-top terrace, though expect high prices...) I would like to add as a last note, that yes, you do receive DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies at check-in (standard at all DoubleTree hotels) and yes you will sleep on the DoubleTree beds (read - rather soft).

Room Tip: Don't get a front facing room as the main street is very busy and noisy. The rooms are very sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank standardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor. We have reviewed your comments with our team in detailed and would like to say some things about it.

First of all, I would like to state that we are a 5-star hotel which is appoved by Ministry of Tourism and trying to give "best" services to our guests and mostly get good feedbacks as a result (it can be seen from our ranking here and other sites). There are different hotels closer to Sultanahmet than our Hotel but as you said if you want to stay at a Hilton property and at a chain hotel we are among the most proper ones around the area. There are eight doors of Grand Bazaar, we could not understand which one you mentioned. But we are ten minutes walking distance to Beyazit entrance.

According to the standards, Housekeeping makes room control every morning but they knock the door two times and if there is no reply they enter to the room. If you state your complaints to Reception about the room noisiness and missing bathrobe or some other things they will immediately care with you. About Istanbul card problem, our Reception paid 38 TL to you to compensate your loss of money without hesitation.

As a result of body scrub, it is normal to have some blowsy in your body. Although upon your request, we called the doctor and covered all the expenses.Your key cards may be stopped because of a systematical problem as our staff said. Otherwise such a thing is not possible for our Hotel and I would like to say that you can be sure there wasn't an intentional action.

In spite of your negative comments we would like to thank you for your positive comments related our hotel decoration and restaurant staff. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Timuçin Derelioğlu
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    611
    151
    41
    29
See reviews for
331
652
166
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to pretty much everything, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, etc. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable, with super soft beds that it was hard to get out of! Breakfast was superb, with the best coffee I've had in a hotel for a long time! Hotel was clean, well maintained, and although a little pricey, still good value for money. But special mention must go to the staff, who were all exceptional, from reception, to breakfast, to the room cleaners, every single one without exception, served you efficiently and with a smile on their face, and that really made the difference! Would definitely return. Well done Doubletree!

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe rooms have nice balconies, and are quieter, but not necessarily the best views. You mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delory123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Timuçin Derelioğlu
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI, UAE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall services of the hotel were excellent, rooms, staff, food and hospitality of the management. Beside that, the location of the hotel is in the middle of the old town where you will be able to visit all the historical places in Istanbul. Although, rooms on the road side is too noisy.

Recommended strongly

Room Tip: Go for deluxe rooms and avoid the road side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alowais7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Timucin Derelioglu
Rooms Division Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location is great for exploring Istanbul. From the airport, just an hour on the metro and tram gets you to the front door. Once at the hotel, most sites are an easy walk or tram ride away. The hotel itself is fine -- clean, modern rooms. The breakfast is quite good. Staff were helpful with the few questions we had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swingspan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The doubletree hotel close to the old town allows you to get excellent service at a quite good location, close to all old places you will like to walk.
As a gold member of hilton the perfect service was outstanding.
Great place to come back as Istanbul is a pleasant and vibrant huge city with lots to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PABLO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Yes, we liked our stay. The room was on the smaller side, but bed was very comfy and bathroom
lovely. Our room faced the busy Ordu Caddesi. When we came back from a day in the city, it was so much fun to watch all the hustle and bustle outside, that we did not care about the noise...A big plus is the tram-stop just in front of the hotel. Staff and service was always friendly and welcoming. We did not have meals in the hotel. For breakfast we went to a small cafe, just a little way down the street in direction to downtown. We could sit outside and they had lovely local
pastry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location is perfect since its close to almost if not all the major tourist areas like Grand bazzar, Topkapi sarayi, Blue Mosque. The room was quiet and clean. The hotel security was superb (metal detector). I enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: Free Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#126 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
#157 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing