We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location. Great Cookies. Watch Out for Scammers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #106 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location is good - easy to walk to the Sultan Ahmed Mosque (Blue Mosque) and the Grand Bazzar. I admit, since we were on vacation from work in Afghanistan, I booked the hotel for the free cookies, as I have often stayed at DoubleTree hotels in the past....but luckily the entire hotel experience was great! The bathroom shower had a stale water smell to it, but that may be because of the proximity to the harbor water. They have a great spa that offers Turkish bath experiences, as well as traditional massages and access to steam rooms, jaccuzi, and saunas. The hotel staff was very helpful when asking for information about the area. The only downside is there are many scam artists and pickpockets in the area. One of the "shoeshine accidently drops his equipment" guys tried to scam us out of money. We laughed and walked away - I don't think he was too happy. Oh well, overall, it was a good hotel stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,850)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We found the hotel to be modern and ideally located to all local tourist attractions. The Grand Bazaar was just 5 minutes walk away. The rooms were quite spacious and well decorated. The tram stop right outside the hotel connects to Sul Ahmet area and Takshim Square. The only drawback was that the hotel is only 4 floors and located in a busy street. So street noise can travel to your room (in case you are a light sleeper). And for Hhonors Diamond members there is no lounge here (so no free drinks)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent three nights at the Doubletree Old Town exactly a week ago and had a wonderful time. The hotel is ideally located for visiting the main tourist attractions in the old town, about five to eight minutes walking distance to the Grand Bazar and 15 to 20 min to Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the Cisterne. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel, the T1 line takes you directly over the Galata bridge to Beyoglu.
The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient with anything you need, from explaining directions, how to get the tram coins or finding a chemist's that is open during the night.
We loved the breakfast. You have your international classics, but plenty of Turkish specialities, too. Everything was delicious.
The Spa is on level -3, but very beautiful and classy, we didn't get any massage or treatments, just used the sauna, hammam, whirlpool and relaxed. Wonderful. We also had a look at the gym.It is well equipped and reasonably sized for a hotel gym, although we didn't have any time to do a work out there ourselves with all there is to do and see in Istanbul.
The only negative thing we detected about this hotel were the rooms towards the main street.The first night we had a room facing Ordu Caddesi, and it was quite noisy. The hotel is relativley new and I was surprised how much of the noise outside was heard in the room. The tram seemed to be going right through our room...
I spoke to the reception staff the morning after and they promised to take our luggage to a quiet room during the day, When we came back in the afternoon, everything was done. We had received an upgrade to a corner room on the the same floor, that is 3r floor, with a beautiful terrace going round the room and a huge, very bright bathroom. Our only regret was we couldn't spend more time in this beautiful room.
If you want to stay somewhere in the Old Town I can only recommend this 'little' Hilton.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main street, Ordu Caddesi, they are very noisy. If you have the chance to get...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunstar1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel twice.
Doubletree was never my first option and the photos of the facade did not convince me, besides I try to avoid popular tourist areas.
However it was a great surprise in all aspects.
When I first arrived it was raining as hell and when at the front desk I was pouring...the agent at once offered help and the towel. I got a nice cookie and the check in was fast and accurate.
The room was excellent. Not too small but state-of-the-art furniture, tv, bathroom and all the rest. Perfect design also in the common areas. Free internet on the 1st floor is a big plus.
I actually liked all of it.
Toilets at front desk were spotless!
Staff is striving to provide a superior service and speak quite good English, which is not common in Turkey.
The first time my room was towards the back and some noise due to bad closure of the window could be heard. Second time got a room into inside atrium which was ok but I always prefer fresh air from outside.
It was the best hotel in Istanbul ever. It was much better than other 5*hotels.
I would prefer the spa a little biger and seperate for men and women. Sometimes couples tend to be very close and sit in the jacuzzi for hours.
Did not bother with details.
Oh..the shower in my room was an absolute delight!!
Teserküler

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a short city break for us recomended for any travellers that like food culture and history! me and my partner were attracted to to the location of Hilton Doubletree and was not disapointed with it - it is close to the Blue Mosque Grand Bazaar and all the other monuments. fantastic to walk to the locations or the lazy option is to take the trams. This city is buzzing with life and after a long day I recommend the spa at Hilton! fabulous hammam clean one of the best we have visited! Although the location was excellent the hotel is more of a buinesss convention centre and the staff were not very hospitable but this did not make our stay any less pleasurable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shy-Khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend for 2 nights and this hotel met our expectations. Overall the hotel is very good with very good of service and convenient location. Hotel looks very recently renovated both in the common areas and inside the rooms. Internet in the room is very fast. There is also very good restaurant on the 5th floor.
The only reason why I put 4 out of 5 is because they claim to be 5-star hotel. They are not, mainly because of the small details that are missing. On our arrival day it smelt very bad in the bathroom for the unknown reason and we had to call the reception to fix it. Room is quite small, which can be expected in Paris or London, but not in Istanbul. There are also no bathrobes
Not really big issues, you need to be perfect to be truly 5-star hotel

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows facing the internal lobby
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntonLysenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

I look forward to welcoming you soon and try to show you our improvement.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Istanbul Old Town Doubletree for three nights at the beginning of our weeklong stay in Istanbul. Overall, I would say that it's a quality hotel in a central location to Istanbul's sites marked by outstanding service by the people who work there. We got an amazing rate for Thanksgiving week, and because we're Diamond on Hilton, they gave us a street-facing view. They said that they were fully booked for our stay and couldn't upgrade us to a suite, and the hotel did look busy. Whenever you get a street-view room, you're worried about the noise and if it would filter in, but the room itself was very well-insulated from noise, and even on a busy street, noise was not a factor except for one night when it seemed like all the stray dogs in Istanbul barked in unison at 3AM.

The location in Sultanahmet was central, and the hotel was directly in front of a tram stop, which was very convenient. Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque are somewhat walkable if you want to explore the Old Town, but the tram makes everything convenient.

There service was very friendly throughout our stay, and everyone spoke very good English.

The room was very modern, but not very spacious. Whenever you are dealing with a hotel in an old part of town, you run the risk of having small rooms, and this hotel was no exception. The amenities were everything you expect from a Doubletree Hotel in America, with the exception of the bad instant coffee in the coffee maker. The bed was firm and the rooms were cleaned well. We were actually surprised at how modern the interior was considering the location in the Old Town.

The buffet breakfast downstairs was very comprehensive. It had all the Turkish breakfast items as well as American ones, with both hot breakfast and cold. Unfortunately, because the tours of Istanbul provided breakfast, we weren't able to take full advantage of the hotel's breakfast, ...and the one day we could wanted to eat breakfast, we overslept and showed up 10 minutes after it closed. (All the breakfast items were still there for a full breakfast service, but they didn't allow us to just pick up some stuff, but instead gave us anything off the breakfast menu.)

I would definitely recommend this Doubletree because it is a modern hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#111 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#68 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Address: Beyazit Mahallesi, Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $74 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing