We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated although a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #127 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well situated although a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice hotel well situated to visit, although less so for business travelers who will spend a long time in the taxi to reach the main business districts. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel looks quite recent, with nice modern decoration, convenient bathroom with walk-in showers). Not the best quality though and it will surely age badly but fine for now.
My main criticism is in the soundproofing of the rooms, as the windows (I tried two different rooms, on different sides of the building, including the "quiet","back" side) do not close well. However, to my rather good surprise, the noise level drops during the night, although you may still have the sensation to nearly sleep in the street...)

Room Tip: rather on the back side, although does not make a big difference in the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mans25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

I look forward to welcoming you soon and try to show you our improvement.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    611
    152
    41
    29
See reviews for
332
652
166
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is well situated near the grand bazaar (about 5-10 minute walk) and where the other top sights are - the Blue Mosque. Hagia Sophia and Topkapi (about 15 minute walk). The tram line is right in front of the hotel and will take you to those sights, or if you want, all the way to the end where Taksim Square is. It costs 3 TLs and you can buy the tokens from a machine at each stop. The hotel is modern with comfortable amenities - I would say very similar to other Hilton/Double Tree properties. A non-smoking floor available. The breakfast served on the ground floor cafe is pretty decent with a mixture of western and Turkish items. The service staff is very nice. There is also a roof top restaurant that looked to be pretty fancy. Did not get a chance to eat there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
251 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friends and I had just gotten off of a 12 day cruise that ended in Istanbul, and we wanted to stay in a central location that would make it easy for us to walk around to see the major sites. This hotel was perfect. It had a modern decor, and was up to the typical Hilton chain standards. It was opposite a tram stop and within easy walking distance to the famous sites. We actually didn't even use the tram, and were able to walk to the Grand Bazaar (which was very close), the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and even down to the waterfront and Spice Market and to several shops and restaurants. I am a Hilton Honors member, so I was upgraded to a room with a terrace (but not a great view), and was given a warm baked cookie upon arrival, free water bottles in the room, and free internet and free breakfast, The staff was friendly, but I do have one complaint. We asked for a dinner recomendation and wanted authentic Turkish food. The front desk attendant had a brochure ready to hand to us and ended up sending us to a very expensive seafood restaurant under the bridge, where the views were great but the food was terrible. The fish that we ordered was cold, did not appear to be fresh - possibly reheated poorly, and the food had no taste at all...very disappointing. We would have been better off using a recommdation from Trip Advisor and not listening to the guy at the front desk. That is the only reason that I rated the hotel "very good" instead of "excellent", was because of this. It was almost as if he was getting some sort of commission to send us to an overpriced bad restaurant. Very very disappointing. Anyway, back to the positives - Breakfast was good in the Terrace Restaurant in the lobby area, where they served a buffet breakfast. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but do avoid asking for restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: I stayed on a 3rd floor terrace room, 328, and it had a terrible view on that side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvLuvLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,


First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.


Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Never having visited Istanbul before we wanted to stay in a central location where it would be easy to get about. This hotel was the answer. Opposite a tram stop and within easy walking distance to the famous sites it provided a welcome haven after spending time in the daily hustle and bustle outside the doubletree doors. Staff welcoming and friendly and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on arrival. Because of that we had plenty of room, a wonderfully comfortable bed and a terrific shower room plus a more conventional bathroom. Very very comfortable. Breakfast excellent with ever patient and friendly staff and a great choice of food. Terrace Restaurant and bar quite expensive but the tranquil atmosphere was welcome after a day of sightseeing. Food very tasty. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to any leisure traveller.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexH522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arrived to a respectful reception, warm cookies and a nice room. The room was a bit on the small side (room 323). The hotel location was great. The security at the entrance was disconcerting but understandable, safety first and all. The restaurant on the 5th floor was quite good, i enjoyed my curry chicken dish very much! The concierge were the best, they helped out with transportation, restaurants, luggage, directions, etc. Suggestion, when in Istanbul, get a private tour guide that is a government licensed professional guide, best decision i ever made, just being able to skip to the front of a 1 to 2 hour line wait to get into some of the museums and other sites was AWESOME!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent location to stay in Old Town Istanbul. One block to get on tram. 6 blocks to Grand Bazaar. Walking distance to Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Great restaurants near by. Plus I felt very safe staying at this hotel. Plus it's right across the street from the University. The staff here is phenomenal and very helpful. Staff was honest of what restaurants to go to and not to go to. If I wanted to visit Old Town I would definitely stay here again. Plus if you want to do a turkish bath the hotel has wonderful spa to do this. I thoroughly enjoyed a turkish bath.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I like Doubletree because as a Hilton, I know I will get consistently good service. Room was nice, well equiped and while a little on the small side, was plenty of room for two people. Shower/bathroom was exceptionally nice. The staff was super friendly, and the Terrace resturant was excellent with a great view of the Bosphorus.

The breakfast (included for Hilton Honors) was a nice combination of American fare and local dishes and was very good.

The only drawback was the grossly overpriced bar downstairs...$12 for a diet Coke is insane.

Room Tip: Have been here twice...get a corner room if possible, as they are a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kravmaguffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#123 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
#160 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing