We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #101 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. The Grand Bazaar is a few moments walk away and the hotel is in the thick of the action for shopping and the fantastic architecture the city has to offer. The tramway stop is virtually outside the lobby and you can go directly to the airport with a minimum of fuss. Breakfast isn't great but satisfactory. No bacon for obvious reasons and the eggs should be freshly cooked in a 5* hotel. The hotel is modern and well appointed but I was charged for wifi which will literally stop me from staying there again even though I am going back to instanbul again next week. The signal was also very poor and managed by a company in Switzerland so woe betied you if you have problems. Watch out for shoe-shine guys who try to rip you off in the street.... Stay away from them. The hotel door guys are great but the manager is a flash-harry in a tailored suit who makes you feel like you are disturbing his social life. Generally a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

I would like to say the reason the internet is charged is because the Hilton Hotels have an agreement with an internet server called ‘’Swisscom’’ for your safety. This agreement applies to all the hotels. On the First Floor, we have a business centre which is open 24 hours for our guests and free of charge.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town in the near future.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

The location is an easy walk to the major attractions of Old Town. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff was helpful with directions and other information. The beds are also very comfortable. The bathrooms are sleek and modern including a real hand held hair dryer all of which helped me to get ready faster and out of the door.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheresRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Doubletree Old Town is only 5 minutes walk from grand Bazaar, and 12 minutes walk to Sultanahmet (Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque). Also 5 minutes walk to Suleymanye Mosque, and just in fron of the tramway stop. Could not ask for a better place. Staff is very friendly, particularly porters (they help you with taxi fares and sometimes in discussions with taxi drivers, beware of them in Istanbul!) and rooms are clean, new and comfortable. Internet access is free at the business center and breakfast is good enough. And if you are a runner, take downhill streets behind the hotel and only 5 minutes later you will find Kennedy Caddesi, you will find (after crossing the train way) a magnificent pathway to run miles beside the Bosphorus -what an experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmy61Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for writing these valuable comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all of our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Pros:
* Good location for Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi, Grand Bazaar etc.
* Rooms are well appointed
* The staff are very attentive and welcoming
Cons:
* Rooms at the front are noisy (I'm a heavy sleeper and I was woken by the street noise) and could do with an extra layer of glass
* Wifi is not free (Come on hilton, this is an expensive 5 star hotel, charging for wifi is a disgrace),
* Minor note: TV only had 2 English speaking channels, both news

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about our hotel and your stay.
I would like to say the reason the internet is charged is because the Hilton Hotels have an agreement with an internet server called ‘’Swisscom’’ for your safety. This agreement applies to all the hotels. On the First Floor, we have a business centre which is open 24 hours for our guests and free of charge.

For the TV channels, I will inform IT Department and they will try to make the necessary changes if that is possible.

I would like you to know that I will share your positive feedback as well as the good hints for improvement with the team.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree for 5 nights during Christmas. We got a great deal since we paid less than $100 per night (I guess December is not the busiest time in the year). Great location (in the middle of the Old city). You can walk to the Grand Bazar, Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque from the hotel. The tram stop (which I think is university) stops right in front of the Doubletree. Yet, the area is slightly pushed away from the all the tourist traps which was nice. The hotel is brand new and clean. The rooms look like the pictures. We didn't get the breakfast because we thought that it was too expensive. Breakfast wise, you have lots of options a few blocks from the hotel.
One down side is that the drains in the bathroom tend to smell. Not an overwhelmingly bad smell but we ended up closing the bathroom door during our stay.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a centrally located, new, clean and reasonably priced hotel (at least in December) in Istanbul, this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to send these valuable comments.

I am overall glad to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us.
I also appreciate your comments regarding the room you stayed. I want to apologise for the inconvenience that we may have caused; your comments are well noted as we're trying to solve this smell problem currently.

We have open buffet breakfast and according to Hilton standards we define the prices.

Thank you once more for your valuable comments; we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Having stayed at a number of Doubletree hotels in the U.S. which are perfectly fine, but no super upscale, this hotel is better than a Hilton. Very modern rooms with high style bathrooms. Very modern and new. We had a family of 4 and took two rooms - one a king and one with two twins. They were connected and worked out great! The hotel also has a very nice spa area with a gym, whirlpool and hamman. The kids loved it.

The location is right on the tram route, so you can catch it to anywhere. It is also close to the Grand Bazar and about a 15 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, etc. Very convenient.

If I had to pick a few cons - we were given a corner King room which was very spacious. The twin room was much smaller, but still comfortable.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay!!

Room Tip: try to get a corner room, which will be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for having shared your candid feedback with us and having taken necessary time for that. We appreciate your valuable comments.

As you say, The Hotel is very close to the touristic places of Istanbul.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul very soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

the hotel great location and service was very good. Yes the room is alittle small but very clean quite.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctenneen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town. For your next accommodation you can try our deluxe and suite rooms which are larger.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#62 of 1,171 in Istanbul
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,171 in Istanbul
2,720 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
#157 of 1,171 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Address: Beyazit Mahallesi, Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $69 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and homelike surroundings at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Istanbul - Old Town hotel. Our friendly and attentive staff will even greet you with our delicious chocolate chip cookie. Set in the heart of Istanbul's old town on the Historical Peninsula of Turkey, the contemporary DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel is only 30 minutes east of the airport and is the nearest hotel to the famous covered Grand Bazaar. Visit attractions such as the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace near the hotel or discover this exciting city by foot. Retire to a spacious guest room or suite at this Istanbul hotel. All rooms are stylishly decorated and are fully equipped with modern amenities. Upgrade to a suite for extra space, including a separate living area and beautiful terrace, ideal for relaxing on sunny days. Host a meeting or celebrate a special event at the DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel and choose between five flexible meeting rooms or the stunning top-floor ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing