We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and modern hotel in the heart of old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #116 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“New and modern hotel in the heart of old town”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was a very good stay and an excellent choice. I was nicely surprised by the modern design and the fact that this hotel is new. I first was thinking about Barcelo hotel on the same street but when arrived I was so glad that I had chosen Doubletree - Barcelo is way too old and not modern. Doubletree has a very nice terrace with food and wine available.

I need to say though that their double rooms are very small - no space at all... and you would need to pay for internet connection extra ( around 7 EUR). Breakfast is buffet style but not really excellent that would make you eat their every morning and besides it is way overpriced (around 20 EUR per person). Some of the rooms face the oposite building or the windows are inside of the hotel and you do not have the view at all...

In sum, I'd still recommend staying in this hotel if you need to be close to Sultanahmed of Istanbul as it is one of the best avaialble in this area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay.

I would like to say the reason the internet is with charge is because the Hilton Hotels have an agreement with an internet server called ‘’Swisscom’’ for your safety. This agreement applies to all the hotels. On the First Floor, we have a business centre which is open 24 hours for our guests and free of charge.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

I look forward to welcoming you soon and try to show you our improvement.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    633
    156
    41
    33
See reviews for
351
671
179
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I happen to visit istanbul with my mom and my friend last week and we stayed at the doubletree the entire time. Everything about the hotel was awesome. The staff by far were exceptional. Everyone from the door man to the receptionist to the spa people were soo friendly and soo nice. They are soo attentive and help you with anything at any time of the day. My favorite was Kemal. He was a gem. He used to suggest restaurants to eat at and would call them and make reservations for us. Some of those places even have their own shuttles that pick you up from the hotel to take you to eat at the restaurant and would bring you back when you're done.

Another thing is that it is so close to the train station. You walk outside and there it is. This made travelling to different places so much easier. In addition, you're only a 10 minute walk from sultanamet, grand bazar, and hagia sophia as well if you don't want to take the train...

The hotel has a good breakfast and their spa was awesome. It has a steam room, sauna, jacuzii and a turkish bath, which were all free to the hotel guests plus a 24 hour gym.

The only thing i didn't like about our room was that the bathroom has a slight odor of drainage but besides that I couldn't find a thing wrong with the place. I loved turkey and being in this hotel probably helped it even more..

I would definately stay at this same hotel if I go back to Istanbul..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mswathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

First of all, I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared
with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their
efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This hotel is really on the money - location is near enough to the Old Town without being in the middle of it, it is right at the tram stop, service is excellent, staff friendly and courteous, rooftop restaurant is terrific

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you take it... some small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge/Paris
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We spent a great week at this hotel. All the staff were wonderful and very accommodating, particularly the reception, security, room making and breakfast staff- they really all helped to make it a wonderful holiday and we were treated royally .

The location was very good for exploring the city as the tram stop (Laleli) is right outside (although it's a short and interesting walk from the hotel to the main sites of Sultanahmet).
The hotel is sparkling new- it's spotlessly clean (and the room-making staff do a brilliant job). The beds, bedding etc are really really comfortable (infact we slept better there than at home). I liked the wet-room and the amazing shower (although my husband missed a bathtub). Rooms are perhaps slightly on the small side for longer stays. We had a paid a small supplement for a terrace, but it had no proper view (the door was locked anyway) and there was too much to do in Istanbul to spend any time on it, so on out next trip, we'd probably just take a regular room (which I think was no smaller anyway).

The breakfast buffet was a treat (with a fabulous lady chef making omelettes and pancakes) and superb baked goods. The staff really went the extra mile to help out (eg giving us breakfast as 6am one morning becasue we were leaving on a trip).

In short, we had a brilliant stay at the hotel and adored Istanbul. I can't wait to go back there and would definitely stay here again. Full marks to the hotel management and keep up the standards!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arletty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared
with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their
efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The rooms were very nice, the beds comfortable and the staff very friendly. As other reviews have said, the location was good for sightseeing in the old town and once you have got the hang of the public transport, it's easy enough to get further afield.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virgc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed in the Doubletree for 3 nights in April. On arrival we were brought to a room overlooking the busy main street (dispute asking for a quiet room). Even at 11pm you could clearly hear the cars racing by so we called down and were moved to a room with windows opening to the inside of the hotel (not ideal but quiet). For 2 days the aircon wasn't workin properly and dispite it "being fix" 3 times the room remained 27/28 Celsius, and without a window to the outside it was very uncomfortable. After them suggesting they send up an engineer for the 4th time we put our foot down and insisted to be moved. They were apologetic and responded quickly, moving us to an upgraded room on a quiet street with aircon (perfect!).  So we had a lovely 3rd night there. It seems it's a bit of 'luck of the draw' to what room you get. 
Apart from the aircon problems we had a nice stay. The breakfast was great, a huge buffet spread with everything from eggs/bacon to pastries/cereal and fresh fruit/juice. The staff were friendly (not always helpful but they tried). 

The location is good. It's in walking distance to the main sights and right beside a tram stop. 

It was an average hotel stay and for the money there are probably many other hotels worth checking out, which is what I will be doing if I ever return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volkan_vural, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay.

We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and would apologise for this negative experience.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul very soon.

Sincerely,

Volkan Vural
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#77 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing