We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but why shut the pool?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Ranked #96 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, but why shut the pool?!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent hotel in the really, really nice area of Kadikoy. Overall, the main tourist crowd stay mainly on the European side, so staying in the Asian side for a while allows a slightly more 'local' feel to the holiday. Overall we loved Kadikoy and wished we had stayed for longer.

The welcome cookie is a very nice touch and the junior suite we were staying in had the most amazing views all day (including sunset) and the room had very generous proportions.

The one downside was the pool - although fantastic, it shuts at 6pm, so everyone is chucked out before sunset. This was very disappointing as the mid-day heat can be a bit much, so late afternoon/early evening is the nicest point to sit by the pool - it's not really possible to fully relax when you're handed your bar bill at 5:30 knowing you'll have to leave soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudload1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    424
    98
    38
    14
See reviews for
211
442
80
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in Kadikoy for location near family. Pool was beautiful but closed at 6pm so no sunset. Room was very average and never good cool enough. Comforter was too short for bed and came only to waist. Restaurant near pool - waiter was very rude to us one day when a storm approached and restaurant was empty except for one table. We were not allowed to sit at a table unless we ordered food. We only wanted to order drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We only had 1 night in Istanbul for a flight layover. I knew we wouldn't have time to see all the sights, so I chose this hotel for its views of Istanbul. It did not disappoint! We arrived as the sun was setting, and the view across the Bosphorus was stunning.

We were given connecting rooms, as we were traveling with our kids. As diamond members, both rooms had fresh fruit bowls and local treats, as well as several bottles of water. The area surrounding the hotel is walkable with many cafes & restaurants. Breakfast was abundant. The ferry terminal to Old Town is right across the street and arriving into Old Town via ferry was a highlight.

We used a combination of money and points, which made our wonderful stay extremely affordable.

Room Tip: High floor, facing Old Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BETH V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HulyaAkgun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear BETH V.,

We were delighted to have you staying with us and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul Moda.

Many thanks for posting your kind comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Hülya Akgün
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at DT Moda before/after a group tour of Turkey (our first). We wanted to stay at an international-style hotel with amenities, good access to public transport, and a non-touristy neighborhood with local shops, restaurants and pedestrian atomsphere. DT Moda was beyond my expectations in most every aspect. From the minute we left Ataturk airport, Concierge Mr. Baris Aksoy had provided every detail for us to reach the hotel by shuttle bus and public ferry, including how to find, buy & use the IstanbulKart public transit pass; we saved hours of traffic (and $$), beautiful ferry views of the city & sea and a short walk to the hotel. Its stylish modern glassed-in exterior and 10 stories make it unmistakable when arriving at Kadikoy ferry terminal. For daytripping DT Moda is close by either subway or ferry to Old Town, Taksim, various palaces, & Bosphorus ferry (also public!).
Upon check-in we were warmly welcomed by Ms. Bermal Gul, Guest Relations Specialist and as HiltonHonors Gold member, we were upgraded to a corner suite with a panoramic view of the neighborhood, ferry port, sea and Sultanahmet in the distance. Room amenities were all of good quality. The buffet breakfast was extensive, high quality & variety; the bar is spacious with high ceiling and chill vibe. The business center staff helped us use the internet effectively (the only place in Turkey where we didn't have troubles with connectivity and the Rogue keys that do not correspond to the English keyboard). The fitness center and spa facilities were free, clean and high quality. Concierge Baris is very friendly, talented and helped us a lot with bookings and shows, area maps & timetables, and recommendations for dining, shopping, and neighborhood attractions. Staff members are all well-trained, genuinely friendly, exceptionally helpful and generally English-fluent. I loved that the restaurant tables have cards that say: "Dear Guests, we share our excess food with our little pet friends; therefore please don't place toothpicks and napkins on your plate"! That so matched with Istanbul's kind care for their street animals.
We read a lot about extreme traffic congestion and mediocre hotels & food in the tourist center, but our stay at DT Moda made our first trip to Istanbul really enjoyable and relaxing. If one wants to experience this world-class city beyond the monuments but with easy access, DT Moda is an excellent choice and I would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Corner views or port views are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmith919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HulyaAkgun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Gsmith919,

We were delighted to have you staying with us and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul Moda.

Many thanks for posting your kind comments and I have already shared your comments with our team and this will motivate us to keep our momentum for seeking service excellence for our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Hülya Akgün
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorne, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

For our first visit to Istanbul we were going to stay in Sultanahmet (Old City) in one of the "character" small hotels, however we decided to stay across the Bosphorus in the Kadikoy area ~ so glad we did! Very good value (compared to the "character" small hotels).
Fabulous and very spacious and comfortable hotel in an excellent position with a lovely rooftop pool. Very relaxing stay with lovely and very helpful staff, great breakfast buffet. In fact we almost didn't want to venture out!
The ferries leave from the quay across the road and it's only 4TL (£1.15) for the lovely 15 minute crossing to Eminonu (Old City) for all your site seeing and shopping.
Also there are several good local restaurants and bars round the corner from the hotel.
We can't wait to return.
Particular praise must go to Erkan on reception and the Concierge (whose name also began with an E I think) very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenShorne_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HulyaAkgun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear doreenShorne_Kent,

We were delighted to have you staying with us and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul Moda.

Many thanks for posting your kind comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Hülya Akgün
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lovely hotel. Roof-top pool was very nice after much walking round the city - shame the pool closed so early (18:30). Friendly staff. V good public transport connections: ferry/bus/underground. Didn't get to try the indoor pool/spa - maybe next time....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alicia Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HulyaAkgun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Alicia Mary C.,

We were delighted to have you staying with us and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul Moda.

Many thanks for posting your kind comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Hülya Akgün
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

After staying in different Hilton brand hotel for more than 100 nights, this hotel meet all my expectations, the hotel also very near to most of amenities, including Metro, Ferry and Bus terminal, the only disappointment was the performance of Internet access, which I believe is the country wide issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HulyaAkgun, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear BernardL.,

Thank you very much for staying at the Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul Moda.and for complimenting us on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read you found our hotel satisfactory in so many aspects and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Hülya Akgün
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
#122 of 1,150 in Istanbul
526 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#78 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,159 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#116 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Address: Caferaga Mah. Albay Faik Sozdener Cad. No: 31 | Kadikoy, Istanbul 34710, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Kadıköy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Istanbul - Moda is a contemporary hotel with a prime coastal location on the Marmara seashore in the cosmopolitan Moda - Kadikoy districts. Explore the Asian side of Istanbul, an area of traditional bazaars, tea gardens, Ottoman architecture, historic churches, and shopping. The modern tower features floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Old City Peninsula. If you are visiting Istanbul for business or vacation, enjoy proximity to the Kadikoy Ferry Docks, with continuous service to Istanbul's European side. Take the underground, just blocks from the hotel, for convenient access to the eastern parts of the Asian side. Experience the first Hilton Worldwide five-star hotel on the Asian side of the Bosphorus. You'll be greeted with our signature warm Chocolate Chip Cookie as you arrive in the sleek lobby. Convenience, elegance and adventure await you. Enjoy views of Bosphorus Strait and Old Town from our guest rooms and suites. Plan an event in one of twelve meeting rooms with views of the Bosphorus. Choose from a variety of dining options, from rooftop dining with Mediterranean specialties at 360 Istanbul East Restaurant Café & Bar to international favorites at The Doubles Restaurant. La Gazetta Café and Bar serves light meals, cocktails and spirits, wine, coffee and tea. Relax with a cocktail or cold drink at the rooftop pool and bar. Experience hammam, 'the traditional Turkish steam bath,' or indulge in a revitalizing treatment at the spa. Highlights • 245 rooms on 10 floors, consisting of 70 guest rooms, 101 deluxe rooms, 36 executive deluxe rooms, 10 corner rooms, 24 junior suites, 3 suites and 1 presidential suite, most of them has spectacular sea views with connecting, non-smoking and accessible rooms. • Free Wifi in rooms and public areas • Easy access to the European side by Marmaray Tube tunnel, walking distance to ferry port • In the heart of the Kadikoy district on the Asian coast of Istanbul • 30 minutes from Istanbul's airports • Near underground station to the Eastern parts of Istanbul • Rooftop pool and sparkling seasonal indoor pool and spa with Turkish hammam • Executive Lounge for executive rooms with complimentary breakfast, light snacks, hors d'oevres and beverages throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Moda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing