We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Hotel Samil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Samil
Ranked #689 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed October 24, 2013

very good location, very close to tram station, easy to find it for the people come here the first time. Close to the palace, blue mosque. The room is small, and the bed is very small too, but very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate9660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel was good value for the location compared with other hotels in the area. It was within easy walking distance to Galata bridge (about 10-15 minutes) as well as Ayia Sophia and the Blue Mosque (about 15 minutes). The rooms were smaller than we expected but were clean and serviced daily. The trams were a bit noisy but got less and less later at night. They might even have stopped, I'm not sure as I slept through. Breakfast was very good - buffet with eggs, bread, cheese, olives, tomato, cucumber. melon etc. Staff were friendly. Good restaurants close by, especially the ones in a little lane close to the railway station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EternityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location of the hotel is super-ok and the people working here are very nice and kind. Our room has enough space and has also air conditioning and heat. In our vacantion it was cold outside for three days, but in the hotel it was warm and fine. A pleasure to came into the room and find a warm atmosphere. The price for the room is ok.
The staff is great, helpful and kind. Don't hesitate to choose Samil Hotel for your holidays in Istanbul !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariarogojina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and all of the main attractions are within walking distance. For the price, its a great value. The rooms are small, but clean. And the owner is great. I missed the airport shuttle that I had booked for my return flight due to my own error. But he went well out of his way to help me get a cab and get to the airport in time for my flight, even partly paying out of his pocket since I had prepaid for the missed shuttle and was out of lire. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The location of the hotel is ideal: the main attractions (Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar etc.) are within walking distance and you have plenty of choice with restaurants around. You'll reach Eminönu harbour in few minutes. The tram line goes just beside the hotel, making it easy to move around in the city (and to reach the airport by using tram and underground - it'll cost you less than 3 €).

The room was very basic - and very small. There was no cupboard, just two shelves and a couple of hooks for hanging the clothes. I just stayed one night so it wasn't really a problem, but for a longer stay you might like to have more space. In the bathroom the shower is in front of the door, no curtain or anything there. The elevator doesn't go to the ground floor where the entrance is, so unless the personnel helps you, you must carry you luggage to the first floor.

The staff were friendly and were ready to organize the transport to the airport. Actually, before arriving I had got an email from the hotel, advertising transport with a privite car, 35 €. I preferred using shuttle service, price 5 € (as before, my experience of the service was positive: they arrive accurately, help you with your luggage and it's more pleasent way to reach the airport than a cram-full tram). I think the hotel could have fixed it as well, but I already have arranged it with a travel agent nearby. There was a simply breakfast including the room price, served in the lobby.

For a longer stay in Istanbul, I'd recommend to invest 10-20 € more per night and choose a cosier hotel (in Sircesi area there's plenty of choise), offering more spacious rooms. But as a budget choise, Hotel Samil offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meryem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is located in very accessible and reasonable location. It is clean. The hotel staff is excellent, very friendly, very cooperative and humble. Lobby is good and spacious. Rooms are reasonable. Good value for money. Lift is narrow. No Air Conditioning.

Room Tip: It is an good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I think that my title says enough.
Hotel for people who don't want to spend too much money,for people who like talk with the domestic people and find out some things about them (their staff is great,they will tell you all you want to known and help you in any possible way),and for people who don't want to waaaaalk arooound - everything is close to the hotel. I recommend Samil Hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kriss K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#451 of 1,163 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#399 of 1,163 in Istanbul
213 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#567 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sim Hotel
#887 of 1,163 in Istanbul
9 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel California Istanbul
Hotel California Istanbul
#990 of 1,163 in Istanbul
80 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Emir
Hotel Emir
#518 of 1,163 in Istanbul
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samil

Address: Hudavendigar Cad. Serdar Sk. No 3 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sirkeci
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $20 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Samil 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget - Clean - Central - Well Managed - Friendly - Quite Hotel Şamil is located in Istanbul’s historical Sultanahmet district, within walking distance to the shores of the Bosphorus Strait. Its rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV.The soundproofed rooms at the family-run Hotel Samil have private bathrooms stocked with toiletries. Rooms also include a refrigerator and seating area.The Samil has a well-equipped business centre where guests can make use of the free Wi-Fi, fax and photocopying services. The front desk is also open 24-hours a day.The Hotel Samil is situated just 20 minutes’ walk from Topkapi Palace, the Sultan Ahmet Mosque (Blue Mosque) and Hagia Sophia. Guests can enjoy views of these historical sights from the outdoor terrace.Ataturk Airport is approximately 25 minutes’ drive from the hotel. An airport shuttle is available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Samil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing