We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecxellent staff”
Review of Pasha Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pasha Moda Hotel
Ranked #509 of 1,048 Istanbul B&B and Inns
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ecxellent staff”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I arrived with a family of 5. The 4yr old loved it! The moody teenagers were happy. The wife was amazingly quite-i guess she was shocked i booked the trip at such short notice :) For me the help from the staff was priceless. It has a family atmosphere and the kids gave a big thumbs up. It is a budget hotel but was comfortable to stay in. It is near to the main sites in Istanbul. Only needing a taxi for the little angel we had with us! I wish i had packed a push chair for the little one. Will stay again without question. Peter.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank petr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    12
    15
    8
See reviews for
41
41
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The staff are extremely helpful at the hotel - service is always with a smile.

However, the room we were given had a bunk bed with a double room when we actually just requested a double bed. The hotel was undergoing major renovations at the time of our stay but we were never advised of them. The room we were given had barely been completed; I guess the owner ran out of money and had to open before the renovations were completed.

The description on the hotel's website is not very acurate either. There are no suites and certainly no bathtubs in the bathrooms. When we pointed it out to the owner when we arrived, he said he had instructed the web designed to change the desciption but its still the same. So I guess, its just a ruse to get people in. The owner did volunteer to cancel our reservation but we had arrived very late in the evening, we could not find any other accomodation to suit our budget at such short notice.

Breakfast is very basic but sufficient. There is also no internet in the rooms, just in the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GudFellaRudeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A summary-type review:

Pros:
- location: 5-8 minute walk to Blue Mosque, 15 minute walk to Ayasofya/Sultanahmet tram station/shopping/restaurant area, 20 minutes walk to Topkapi palace
- in a side street so less noisy than the main roads, although still some noise at night (tolerable)
- friendly staff.
- Communication: The manager (usually only around during the day, weekdays), having lived in England speaks excellent english. The night porter speaks OK english, certainly good enough to communicate with. The breakfast staff less so, but that's not important since they understand what drink you ask for etc. in english, besides one could always learn a few turkish words/sentences
- The shower was good, no complaints

Neutral points:
- Breakfast is buffet with fresh bread, cheese, eggs, tomatoes, cucumber, olives, sweetbreads/snacks, cornflakes, choice of drink: coffee, tea, juice, milk etc. Nothing amazing, but perfectly fine for us
- Aircon worked, but can be a bit loud in some stages of its operation (e.g. when first cooling the room from a hot temperature)
- There is no lift, but that didn't affect us

Cons:
- As others have said, this is classed as a budget hotel, but still, more expensive than a hostel so you expect a certain room quality. I have to stress, I don't personally care about the room quality as long as I can sleep comfortably on the bed and the hotel is not too noisy and doesn't smell bad (all of which were true here), so the following points did not bother us, but they might bother some, hence the inclusion here:
- Our double room had a very thin door, so when other guests made noise downstairs or in the stairwells, everything could be heard
- The bathroom door was very rickety, and would not stay shut unless locked with a key :)
- In some places, exposed wall insulation could be seen, i.e. partly looked like a construction site
- The bathroom tap was loose, so had to be held with one hand while the other opened the tap otherwise it just rotated loose i.e. wasn't really properly attached to the sink :)
- Bathroom mirror light was not working
- One bedroom table lamp was not working

Still ENOUGH of the room was working to make it a comfortable stay for us, so we didn't care about the above too much :). Any noise can also be cancelled out by earplugs

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vaskez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I can't say enough good things about the staff here. They're friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Unfortunately, the rooms fell so short of my (quite low) standards that even their staff couldn't prevent this bad review.

Having backpacked across the world in $8/night hostels, I'm used to getting what you pay for. However, the morning we arrived we were shown to a room on the ground floor. The door was flimsy, the room was so close to the street that we could hear every word the people out front were saying, and the two twin beds took up 90% of the room (note: we're a couple and requested one bed).

We asked to be moved to another room and were shown to a slightly nicer option that had exposed/unfinished construction and smelled of mildew. We figured out why the next morning, when there was a puddle of water under the bed coming from I'm not sure where. After moving two more times over three nights (they needed the first room for another guest and then upgraded us on the last night), we concluded that all the rooms smell of mold and some have visible mildew on the walls or doors. I won't even get into the fact that the toilet in our "upgraded" room had clearly not been cleaned before we arrived.

I love authentic places and am not looking for something fancy, but I wouldn't recommend this place even to the most desperate backpacker -- it's too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

that was a little bit hotel..owner was very friendly like other stuffs..and location was great..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisbeatyfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2011

hotel wasnt big but location and stuffs were really perfect..its kind of family hotel which is like a trustfull and care about their guest..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckertucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Austria
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights. It was a great choice. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and has very friendly ,helpful staff. And the location is perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
Khalkedon Hotel Istanbul
Khalkedon Hotel Istanbul
#266 of 1,140 in Istanbul
102 reviews
My Dora Hotel
#407 of 1,140 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Holiday Inn Istanbul - Kadikoy
#297 of 1,140 in Istanbul
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kadıköy
Melek Hotels Moda
Melek Hotels Moda
#34 of 1,048 in Istanbul
76 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#19 of 1,199 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Kadıköy
Hostel Bahane
Hostel Bahane
#172 of 1,199 in Istanbul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasha Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasha Moda Hotel

Property: Pasha Moda Hotel
Address: Caferaga Mah General Asim Gunduz Cad. No 98 | Kadikoy, Istanbul 34710, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Kadıköy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #509 of 1,048 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free WiFi throughout the property, Pasha Moda Hotel offers accommodation in Istanbul, 5 km from Maiden's Towers. The hotel has a barbecue and views of the sea, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and a minibar. You will find a tea/coffee set up and electric kettle in the room. Each room has a private bathroom fitted with a bath or shower. For your comfort, you will find slippers, free toiletries and a hair dryer. You can start the day with an open buffet breakfast and sample different tastes at Pasha Moda restaurant. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. Car hire service, tour desk, dry cleaning and 24-hour room service is available with at a surcharge. Hagia Irene is 5 km from Pasha Hotel, while Hagia Sophia is 5 km from the property. The nearest airport is Sabiha Gokcen Airport 40 km from Pasha Moda Hotel while Ataturk Airport is 50 km away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Pasha Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing