We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant restaurant off the tourist frenzy!”

Sokullu Pizza & Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 13,724 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: Sokullu Pizza & Restaurant opened its doors in 2007 in the center of Sultanahmet-Old City. By offering unique options to Pizza and Meat lovers, Sokullu Pizza & Restaurant brought extra flair to Pizza and Meat culture. In this family and boutique restaurant, you can have a chance to taste marvellous kind of pizza’s and local kebabs while listening turkish old classic music. Menu is also existed by sea food, vegeterian food and different kind of casseroles. While having your meal , you would have local drinks, red or white wine, beer, and soft drinks. Sokullu Pizza & Restaurant is so close to historical monuments such as Blue Mosque, Santa Sophia,Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar etc. After or before your meal, you might visit all these places. All these places are in walking distance. Sokullu Pizza & Restaurant has 56 capacity seats. The restaurant is consistently growing itself and ready to host all its valued guests.
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant restaurant off the tourist frenzy!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to Sokullu restaurant 3 times during our holiday in Istanbul from Decemnre 23 to 30 2012, not onlu because it was quite close to our hotel (Sokullu Pasa) but mainly for the pleasant atmosphere, the very attentive and nice service and the good food.
Try the Turkish ravioli - Manti - a real surprise that you can share being a large portion.
We also tried the different kebabs all very nice.
Costwise it is defninitely slightly below the average you would pay in more touristic areas e.g. around Divanyolu/Santa Sofia.
Service is top for the category of the restaurant: nice meze and hot bread on arrival, cofee or tea and a lukum to end the meal and a nice small present with your bill!!!
Definitely give it a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RACMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    116
    28
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definetely not a fan.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although the service was very friendly and the decoration nice, there has been a deception on each meal ordered.
A mushroom soup which looked like clear water... an assortment of appetizers where everything was fried and tasteless.
Then we ordered the specialty of the house, which comes in a burning claypot. It was a spectacle but inside was just a mix of regular ragout (chicken, lamb, veggies). Since some of us also ordered other ragouts, we ended up all ordering the same thing. And everything really lacked of salt.
As compared to places we went to in Istanbul, I found it very expensive for what it was.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolan974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had chicken and lamb seekh kebabs and they were beautifully done; moist and tender and well-spiced but not overdone. The service was extremely courteous and prompt, and the restaurant's decor was welcoming and pleasant

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank loveistanbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and simple foods, well prepared”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Small restaurant with a typical Turkish menu of grilled meats, kebabs, and all the Turkish popular dishes. Cozy and quiet, on a hillside, on a side street off the southwest corner of the Hippodrome. Late October, and while many small restaurants in the neighborhood sat empty at night, Sokullu seemed to attract a knowing crowd. We found ourselves back there several times for late lunch or dinner. Very conveniently located for us as it is just around the corner from the ADA Hotel where we stayed. Great service. In a sense, this is what Turkish food is about– simple, fresh food, simply prepared; little pretension, good wine selections, friendly service, and fair prices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SenorTurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average tourist place”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I love turkish food and I really like their Mezes but Istanbul did not give very much of this. This particular restaurant is one step above the avarage but not worth a visit if you are really in to food. For example the whole plate of deep fried starters starters were all prefab.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaxExhact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokullu Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sokullu Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing