We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Istanbul”
Review of Sumo Cat Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sumo Cat Hostel
Ranked #415 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in Istanbul”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Thanks to Sumocat Hostel and its stuff we had a wonderful, relaxing time in Istanbul. The brandnew, lovely made up (see the wall paintings on the pics) hostel is located in a calm street near the Istikalstreet - the heart of modern Istanbul. We were two girls travelling on our own and we felt in every time secure coming home late at night. In the morning we had breakfast in front of the hostel beneath a little tree, enjoying the everydaylife of Istanbul. For sure you have to be aware, that you are staying in a hostel and not in a hotel (I'm referring here to an earlier comment). But for this the price, the rooms and the service were really perfect! No "bathroom-lakes" in the bedroom and no smells - everthing was clean, nicelooking and comfortable. Also all rooms are airconditioned by your own choice - and if you're staying in august, you'll need this :) The transfer from the airport with the taxi is about 20 Euros = 40 turkish lira (not expensive for the half-of an-hour-ride) - but also you can make the way easily by public transport. As you can see on the map, the hostel is the perfect place to start one-day-tours through the city because it's between the old town (Sultanahmed) - three stops with the tram - and the more "modern" part - five minutes to walk. Around the hostel you can find many nice coffeeshops and little restaurants and the Galata tower with its lights invites you to stay the evening. Hopefully you will enjoy your trip as much as we did!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
18
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had high hopes for Sumo Cat but was very disappointed. The hostel is very small, as are the rooms. There is no real communal space and that space there is dark and unfinished. The ensuite toilet did not have an extractor fan and after a shower it started to stink. As a result the bedroom stank too.

We were charged €3 for a towel. If the hostel were reasonable priced this would have been ok, but it is very expensive and these added extras were very annoying. Breakfast was very poor.

There is a mosque just up the road and the call to prayer is guaranteed to wake you up. i spent 3 weeks in turkey and this was the only place that the call to prayer was that loud.

The area itself is nice, Galata is a funky place, but it is only 30 mins walk from better accomodation and I would not recommed Sumo Cat at these prices (€50 per double room per night). The price would need to drop substantially for this to offer good value in Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingoirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This place was a rip off at 50 euros for a double room, you'll get much better value in other hostels in Beyoglu or hotels in Sultanahmet. This was the last placed we stay in our three week trip of Turkey and we were sorely disappointed. We chose Sumo Cat because of the excellent reviews it received on trip advisor but having stayed there I find it hard to believe that these reviews were written about the same place.
The hostel is down several dark side streets with building sites all around and I wound defintely caution against any solo female travellers staying there. Our room although it had nice murals on the walls was tiny as was the bathroom. When we used the shower it leaked a pool of water into the bedroom and there was a large damp patch on the wall, thus leaving our room smelling like a dirty hamster cage. The breakfast was cucumber, tomatoes and bread (the cheapest they could offer and still call it breakfast) and the "communal area" was a windowless basement room that looked like a prison cell.
The staff seemed friendly and it's a shame that we had such a bad experience as the hostel seems to have potential. I had a long discussion with the owner and expressed our dissatification and asked for money off our room due to the smell however it fell on deaf ears.
At the start of our trip we stayed in a hotel in Sultanahmet for exactaly the same price and we had a large room with two beds, a nice non-leaking bathroom, a generous buffet breakfast, a lovely communal area and the hotel was on a lively well lit street.

My advice is shop around and don't give Sumo Cat your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kairo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Dieses kleine, neue Hostel hat mich mit dem Charme seiner individuell gestalteten Zimmern ( unseres war das Wolkenzimmer ganz oben!) vollkommen überzeugt. Das junge Personal ist sehr hilfreich und die Lage, unweit des Karakoy, ermöglicht kurze Wege zu allen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Die sanitären Anlagen sind sehr sauber.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcohenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2010

If you desıre a quıet spot ın the mıddle of Old Cıty Istanbul that you can get to anywhere else ın moments, look no further. Good rates, a lıttle dıffıcult to fınd ınıtıally but once your there ıt ıs easy to manuever anywhere else ın the cıty and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed here just for the night, and wish I had been there for longer. It had only been open 3 weeks, and the place was spotless. Great value as well, and I had a 4 bed dorm to myself. The small bathrooms were immaculate too. Funky murals on the walls, a friendly courtyard to watch the world cup matches on, as well as a well equipped kitchen in the basement if you want to cook your own food.

It's a little hard to find, down a couple of small streets (could do with a couple of signs perhaps) but the map on their flyers is adequate. I was recommended it by the guys at the world house hostel, and am grateful to them. Great location, and perfect English spoken by the staff. If there was one criticism, then that would be the breakfast (by their own admission) was a little basic. But don't let that stop you staying here. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I stayed at Sumo Cat for a weekend in early June. The hostel is new, and the rooms and bathrooms were the cleanest of any hostel I've stayed at. I slept very well there. The staff made it their mission to ensure I ad a good time in Istanbul, and pointed out bars and attractions I should go to.

The location is about a 2 minute walk from Galata Tower and 5 minutes from Istikbal Street, putting you in easy walking distance of most attractions in the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Neverland Hostel
Neverland Hostel
#187 of 1,200 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,200 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,200 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Karakoy
Portus House Istanbul
Portus House Istanbul
#11 of 1,200 in Istanbul
418 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumo Cat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumo Cat Hostel

Property: Sumo Cat Hostel
Address: Mueyyedzade Mah. Luleci Hendek Cad. | Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing