We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect day”
Review of Sumo Cat Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sumo Cat Hostel
Ranked #405 of 1,236 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Sumo is really good! If you are searching for quiet place with your girl.. thats the place..
Rooms are small, but who need more than cosy room with bathroom an air counditioner.. There are few more things.. the area is great, because the street is quiet bur really near to Galata tower. The staff.. the basement.. the feeling and the owners who are really nice guys! Peace and Metal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peru42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Sumo Cat Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

A great find, this hostel has it all: excellent location--peaceful yet within pleasant walking distance to all the action; excellent, friendly atmosphere with different room options for different trips; extremely helpful information provided online, and staff whose handling of all matters goes beyond the call of duty and makes for a stand-out hostel experience! (This included help and practical guidance before and during my trip, and even the return of a lost item to my overseas address afterwards!) I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sumo Cat, and am sure myself to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

first time round in a hostel. loved it!
everybody was really friendly, the place is cute, well designed and so central.
if you go there with your significant other, ask for the Sultan room on the top floor with a view of the Galata tower.
just a few minutes walk from Istiklal pedestrian area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I went to Sumo Cat hostel in March as I was in Istanbul on vacation by myself.The staff was really professional and friendly and helped me get acquainted with the city. When I arrived they even had some lunch for me, which was yummy. The staff at Sumo Cat truly helped make my stay in Istanbul awesome. I asked them all my questions about the best places to see and I even made some new international friends at a mixer they had. I highly recommend this place to anyone especially solo travelers, you will definately make friends if you're staying at Sumo Cat! Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Like others, we had quite high expectations for the Sumo Cat hotel and the sultan's room, but what a massive disappointment!

The sultan's room that we payed more than 70 euros is extremely small! There is one power socket in the whole room and one light! We got one tiny bed sheet full of holes and our room hasn't be done in 3 nights!

The bathroom is really nasty! You do not have space at all! You almost have to sit on the toilet to take your shower.

We have been charged in Turkish Liras at an absurd conversion rate of 1euro=2,40 TL, while the exchange was 2,25 TL=1 euros, when you are asked 70 euros, the difference is not so insignificant!

Do not let the nice wall graphics fool you and give the sultan's room a miss if you don't want to be disappointed! MIght be ok for backpackers but not when you pay more than 70 euros. At this price you can find a much better deal!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greguar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Sumo Cat is one of the few "normal" hostels in the Taxim area. The staff is ultra nice, the hostel clean and neat. Best of all, it's located right next to the Galata tower in an area that is unfamilliary peaceful for Istanbul. I've visited few hostels around Taxim and not one gets even near this place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borja81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

the sumocat team is very sweet in a genuine way. Everybody is helpfull and understanding. The location is perfect, the best part of the centre because of the interesting shops, cute bars and restaurants, and still not overcrowded. I stayed in different rooms, they were all clean and neat. The only thing that I didn't like, was the fact that the dorm at the ground floor wasn't soundproof at all. Unfortunately I woke up with receptionnoises every morning. But in the other rooms, everything was perfect!

Room Tip: every room, except the ground floor-dorm is great.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muismuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Jumba Hostel
Jumba Hostel
#94 of 1,236 in Istanbul
31 reviews
Beyoglu
Neverland Hostel
Neverland Hostel
#398 of 1,236 in Istanbul
104 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,236 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,046 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#84 of 1,159 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#687 of 1,159 in Istanbul
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumo Cat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumo Cat Hostel

Address: Mueyyedzade Mah. Luleci Hendek Cad. | Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 1,236 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing