We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Not So Daring Dervish!”

Dervis Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #619 of 13,534 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: Open air garden restaurant located across the busy street (where the tour buses drop off and pick up tourists) from Sultanahmet mosque, and on the edge of the public garden that joins the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Not So Daring Dervish!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We wanted to see the Whirling Dervishes but on the way were persuaded by 2 different locals, with no apparent personal interest, to try one of the restaurants providing a free show rather that pay a fairly hefty fee for a show alone.
As it turned out, we had to agree to a fixed price meal of TL35 to obtain entry to this place. Fortunately the meal was excellent and comprised 3 courses plus a drink. In fact, there was so much food that we chose to ‘doggy-bag’ some for later.
The actual dervish dancing was pretty ordinary and was only one dancer with two accompanying musicians. He came on later than asdvertised and there were large breaks. You can view the same show by arriving late and just having coffees and maybe desert.
Overall, quite good value but not a good example of dervish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paknasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    29
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the first restaurant we went to in Istanbul, after a long trip to get there and just before visiting the mosque, we were so hungry, so we just went to any restaurant. This restaurant has an excellent view of the blue mosque and the food isn't too bad. Two mains, chips and drinks only costed us 40 liras, which was kind of good by the standards we met through our trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seung-Jin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great service and atmospher”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The waiters are very attentive the food is good as are the shiska and tea The dervish show has to be seen as its a real experience with fabulous musicians and dancer

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank witsend18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places for tea”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Perfect location between Blue Mosque and Hagya Sophia, dervish dance, good atmosphere, tea and ice-cream. I like this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YuliaTrunina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
593 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Good place to enjoy sufi music and see a dervish whirl”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After some successful shopping is the pleasant Arasta Bazaar we stopped for a quick meal at this cafe. While we were eating our kebabs, the entertainment started - Sufi music and a dervish whirling. It was the lovely, and for us unexpected, entertainment which made our evening very pleasant. There were many locals in the cafe as well as some tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervis Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dervis Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing