We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is great, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sevila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sevila Hotel
Ranked #562 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Price is great, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Hello, everyone! We've spend 4 days in Istanbul at may 2013. We booked this hotel. Before we came I read some bookmarks. That time I understand that hotel is great for its price. Very small rooms, small breakfast. But great location. It's only 3-5 min to all seesights. If you're in Istanbul and want to spend time in the city (not at the hotel), this places is for you. Be aware of the friendly man outside, he wants to sell you carpets.
I'm really ok with this place, for that price and location it's probably the best;) also you can use the six floor balcony all day long. Thanks for 2 reception boys.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zubkovaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    16
    7
    17
See reviews for
7
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel Sevila is a short walk from the main attractions in the old town of Istanbul. The complimentary breakfast is good with a couple of cereals, eggs, tea, coffee, bread and cheese. The basement room was cute and nice but the walls are paper thin, we didn't mind that it was small, and stayed there for 5 nights. The staff were friendly and gave us a map and told us how to get everywhere and what to do. Free wifi in rooms was good. Beware of the neighbor (he is friendly) but will take you into his shop and try and sell you carpets and lamps. Only downfall for me personally was the power cut the day I was leaving so couldn't have a warm shower or do one last charge of things.

Room Tip: if you want a cheaper deal take the basement suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed with my friend for a few days in Aug 2012. Good overall, just be prepared to get what you pay for - then yo're guaranteed to have no regrets on this one. Absolutely perfect location, pretty nice breakfast and room. We saw a bit of renovation works taking place however that was not an issue at any level/ time of day or night. The owner is very nice and friendly. What we absolutely loved is the hospitality service! The guy on reception named Önder Köse is perfectly helpful, knowledgeable and professional - so passing on the special Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana_Feb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horná Streda, Trencin, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Walking distance from main attractions is a big advantage. View from the terrace during breakfast is beautiful and rooms are nice and clean. Staff and owner are very friendly, helpful and talkative. Hotel provides airport shuttle which is good especially if you fly from Asian airport. I would highly recommend this hotel and if we decide to go back to Istanbul I wouldnt consider any other but this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

On our last two days in Istanbul, my friend and I suddenly found ourselves without a hotel, and scrambled to find a new one. We picked Hotel Sevila because of it's very reasonable prices. I have no regrets.

The hotel owner is extremely friendly and talkative. He is very passionate about his job, and likes to meet people and answer questions. He tossed in a free breakfast the first morning we were there, and really made us feel welcome in the hotel and in the city. We were not the exception - he acted like this with all of the guests we saw. The rest of the staff, who spoke less English, were equally helpful, and didn't seem to expect a tip (which they refused when I offered)

I've seen other reviewers complain, but for it's price, the Hotel Sevila is spectacular. Our beds were really comfortable, the view from the rooftop terrace and our windows was superb (better close your windows in the evening, though - or you might get woken up once or twice by a call to prayer from the nearby mosques!), and the private bathroom facilities are a nice plus. Add free wifi and a city guide in the room, and the Hotel Sevila is a package I can happily recommend to anyone. It's not a 5 star hotel, but for a budget traveller, it's really something special.

Thanks again to the hotel owner for his hospitality, and I will definitely be staying here on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The best value of the hotel is the location: you're on a short waking distance from major atractions of Sultanahmet, and, if you like to walk as much as i do, you can see all Istanbul's greatest atractions without need of taking a tram or bus :). If you're not such fan, you have transport to everywhere . The staff is nice , despite the big english-talking difficulty. The views from the little terrace are stunning.The room was clean but tiny, and if is hard for you to sleep with sunlight, like it is to me, prepare yourself to few sleeping hours. All in all, i've enjoyed the stay, and recommend the hotel for a budget accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aishe_Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

For the most part, we enjoyed our stay. Hotel Sevila, tucked in behind the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and Basilica Cisterne, is a stone throw away from the Divan Yolu Caddesi where a budget traveler / backpacker will find a string of great stylish cafés and restaurants or catch a tramline to major sights. A small rooftop terrace with views of the Blue Mosque is another nice addition to this hotel where you can easily spend an evening over a glass of wine or Efes beer. Our flight was late in the evening and we were concerned about not having a place to store our suitcase. A hotel staff was receptive to our needs and did not seem to be troubled by the fact that we left our suitcase by the reception desk. This allowed us another full day of wandering around the city and exploring sights we've missed. And yet, Hotel Sevila is not the place we will recommend to our family and friends or choose for our future stay in Istanbul. We booked it through booking.com where the rating was 7.1 (Good). Akin to a hostel, it's a tiny 10-room building with very few amenities, poor ventiliation and in desperate need of refurbishment. Before checking-in, we exchanged silent looks with my significant other: do we really want to spend a four-days-weekend in this dungeon? Firm believers that accomodation play an important role in your impressions of the city, we considered canceling our reservation. In fact, as soon as we got into our room, we turned on the wi-fi and immediately searched for another hotel but all hotels have already been booked for the weekend. We ended up spending four nights in this hotel, reassuring ourselves that the main reason we are here is to enjoy our small weekend getaway and so we did: leaving the hotel early in the morning and returning late at night. In sum, don't expect anyone to change your sheets or clean the floors. Rooms are not soundproof and your neighbors' coughing, talking, unzipping their suitcases, etc. are inevitable parts of your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor but don't hope for a nice view from your room: all rooms are fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dboyarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevila Hotel

Property: Sevila Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah Klodfarer Cad 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevila Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sevila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing