We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taksim Sopha Hostel
Ranked #291 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“The Best Hostel Ever”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the most fabulous hostel. The staff is friendly, the rooms spacious and clean, the bathrooms are spotless, and it is a great value. I felt at home here, which was a great value. If I have the chance to return to Istanbul I will be staying here. The hostel is in a great location and has everything you could possibly need. The walking tours offered are also very good. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinarboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
5
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
punjab
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well i stayed in Taksim Sofa Hostel for 2 nights in Nov'12. The best part about this hostel is the location , right in the middle of Istiklal street in Taksim Square. Rooms were quite small but neat. The staff is really helpful and they serve good breakfast :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjDaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here for a couple of nights and had a great time. The staff were so friendly making sure we knew where we were going each day. I think I can say for both of us that we were sad to leave all the people behind, we made some great friends and had fun exploring. The hostel itself was right in the heart of all the places we wanted to see and the rooms were comfortable. On the last night a few of us staying there made pasta and had a big meal together, it was nice to be somewhere cosy and comforting, although its not the prettiest place to look at (originally I was a bit unsure) the bedding was clean and the company was great so any worries were soon gone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have a problem rating this hostel. I stayed in a room which wasn't clean, and there was no everyday cleaning service offered. At some point I had to change rooms and I found myself without towels and toilet paper, because the cleaner had forgotten to provide them. On the other hand, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They ensured there would be a cozy atmosphere in the lounge and they went out of their way to offer tips. Breakfast was decent. The hostel lies just a few minutes walk from Istiklal street, the heart of Beyoglu. So, if you care more about the area than the room and cleanliness itself, this hostel would be a good choice. But if you can't stand seeing thick dust on the toilet trashcan and flush, then don't go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is by far one of the best run hostels. When it bowls down to when you're staying in a host it matters most about the management. They went out of their way to accomodate you and they made me feel like a prince. I loved this place, wish I would have stayed here more days! The beds are SUPER comfy, the showers are adequate, and the breakfast actually provides you proteins!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hostel was awesome. Very social, friendly environment, guests and staff were all so nice. It was a great hostel to meet other travelers and share stories. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the main square. There are lots of shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes all around. www.TaksimSofa.com

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was only here for night but had a great time. The lady on day shift was so lovely and gave me lots of tips on travel through Turkey. I was quite sick with Diarreah from drinking water in Cappadocia and the man on night shift made me tea and tried to make me feel better. The bed was comfy, dorm room was clean and cool.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renstak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#527 of 1,156 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#489 of 1,156 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#645 of 1,156 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#130 of 1,156 in Istanbul
647 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#357 of 1,156 in Istanbul
317 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,219 in Istanbul
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Sopha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Sopha Hostel

Property: Taksim Sopha Hostel
Address: Kuloglu Mah. Aga Kulhani Sok. No:5 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (Formerly Taksim Sofa Hostel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwi and Turkish partnership bring in a new style.Taksim Sopha Hostel located in beyoglu/taksim area which is the heart of istanbul and heart of fun &places to see.We aim to give you a home away from home feel so you can make the most of your time in Istanbul as if you were visiting a old friend.We are located only 2 minutes to the famous Istiklal Street (pedestrian) which is the 24 hour party and shopping centre of istanbul. We are 10 minutes to the old city ( Sultanahmet ) where you can visit the famous Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace amongst other things.payments cash upon arrivalcheck in 14 :00check out 11:00 ( but you can hang out all day and leave your stuff here)We have 3 dormitories;10 bed shared bathroom6 bed shared bathroom4 bed with ensuite2 double private rooms with ensuitesFacilities:Free internet(wifi)Free luggage storageFree tea and coffeeFree lockersLaundry facilities to wash your clothes if you've been on the road for a whileA small modest guest kitchen24 hour receptionNo curfew or lockoutTravel information to help you plan the next stage of your journey without getting scammed by dodgy tour guidesCommon roomHot showersFree pub crawlsFree walking tour (not like the typical tourist walking tour scams, we will tell you the local and real stuff.)Free costume party (we have more than a thousand costumes, you will chose or combine your costume, and we will go out well dressed!)and free hug :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Taksim Sopha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing