We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galata Life Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galata Life Istanbul
Ranked #530 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I've stayed in a few different places in Istanbul and in terms of overall rating, GalataLife is the best one. It's location is great. So close to the tourist places, shopping areas, metro, and bus stations.
The rooms are spacious, there's a roof terrace and a dining area looking onto the street. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I had lunch here too and I enjoyed the food.
When I last visited Istanbul I called into the hotel cafe to have some Turkish tea and snacks.
Great value for money, I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruskie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

When my family came to visit me, we stayed at this hotel for four nights. We loved it! The breakfast is delicious (nutella, eggs, tomatoes, jam, toast and more- yum!), the rooms are spacious, the people working in the cafe downstairs are helpful and friendly and the location cannot be beat! The hotel did not have an elevator, so the man working at the desk carried our HEAVY luggage up three flights of stairs without even being asked. They stored our luggage at no additional charge for several nights while we traveled to other parts of Turkey and then carried it up to our room again when we returned- as I said before, amazing service! And finally, the price simply cannot be beat. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katieinistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stay here if you are in Istanbul! Great neighborhood near all the nightlife on the European side of the city! The rooms are clean, the service is great and the food is great! Next time I'm back in Istanbul I'm staying here for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had a wonderful two night stay at Galata Life. The location was convenient and colourful and the staff speak excellent English. Our room was spacious and clean. The terrace had a nice view. Breakfast was good and served whenever you wake up. Amazing coffee! A great way to end our one month tour of Turkey. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Galata Life is a small, family ran business which offers visitors - in my opinion - the best opportunity to experience the "real" Istanbul, with it's bustling narrow streets, vibrant music scene and wonderful street food. I've been to bigger, fancier hotels in my previous visits to this beloved city (my mother's hometown...), but never felt so close to being a local before. There are only 5 rooms here. The one we were in - a 4 bedrooms suite named Topkapi, if I'm not mistaken - was facing the street, which we liked very much, and yet quiet enough to allow for a good night's sleep. The room was quite simle - no fancy furniture or decoration - but very spacious, well lit and clean. The owners, a young couple, were lovely and helpful. Thank U2 for their 2010 Istanbul show, allowing us to experience Galate Life in the full.

Room Tip: Topkapi room - spacious and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galiavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I was only at the Galata Life for about 7 hours on my last night in Istanbul, but it was in a good location for getting in late at night and crashing. Close to nightlife means there are people around and places to eat even late at night - definitely not isolated area. Staff was very helpful: carrying our bags upstairs, fixing the toilet immediately when we realized it didn't flush.

The room was what one would expect at a hostel, but there was air conditioning! This was the first hostel we stayed in that had AC and it was very welcome in the July heat. Included a private bathroom as well.

Was a bit more expensive than another hostel I stayed in while in Istanbul, but was worth it for better amenities and location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed in the double room. It was small but we like the simplicity of the room. After a long and tiring day from all the wanderings around the city, the beds were really comfortable to relax and have a good rest. If you have time it is really nice to spend some time in the restaurant area from where you can watch all the people passing by the street. It was nice to chat with the staff, the hotel is being runned by a family so it makes it feel at home. After reading the previous reviews we were a little worried about the breakfast, but the it was good compared to the other B&Bs' breakfast and the pancake was included. So except the smallness of the room, it was a really lovely hotel...Thank you guys !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaworld1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#585 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Beyoglu
Anemon Galata
Anemon Galata
#382 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#393 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Troya Hotel
Troya Hotel
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#193 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Beyoglu
Serene Hotel Istanbul
Serene Hotel Istanbul
#414 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Life Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Life Istanbul

Property: Galata Life Istanbul
Address: Galipdede No 75 Galata | Karakoy Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #530 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galata Life Istanbul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Istanbul, Galata Life Istanbul takes you on an unforgettable journey where the sense of hospitality is hold on a high esteem. Our commitment to provide a friendly yet discreet service, makes sure that you feel home in an impeccable ambiance where the orient meets the Occident. Featuring just 5 guest rooms, this cosy boutique hotel distinguishes itself thanks to its small size and individual design. Each guest room is named and dedicated to the most important sightseeing attractions of Istanbul, creating a sophisticated yet inviting and relaxing spirit. Evoking a home like atmosphere, the sense of harmony and intimacy is created by the careful selection of harmonious colours and materials in the interior design.. In walking distance from the most important museums and sight seeing attractions, such as the world renowned Galata Tower and Sultanahmet district, the city is right underneath your doorstep. Next to the most famous artistic district "Tunel" in Taksim with its celebrated bars and restaurants. During the warm season, the fabulous terrace, overlooking the Galata Tower and Hagia Sophia, provides the perfect way to start into the day. For breakfasts, brunches, lunches, coffee breaks and light dinners, you are more than welcome to take a culinary journey at our restaurant offering Turkish specialties and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Galata Life Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing