We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadness”
Review of Hotel Tilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tilia
Ranked #999 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 days in Tilia.I was chocked about the proprety.3 days without changing bed cheet we through the towels on the floor they arranged dirty and put it on the shelves.The room was small . The staff not cordially.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank saunakiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 122 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Despite of cold weather, hotel was warm. Rooms adequately equipped, bathroom little bit too small. Service at reception friendly and good response with reserving two half-day tours.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jarkko-Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room is standard. Nothing fancy. Decoration and structure are quite clumsy for a triple room. There was no bottle water provided. The toilet is kind of small. Breakfast was so-so. The food isn't delicious as they advertised on their homepage at least. But the staff are RUDE. From the manager to the waitress serving you breakfast. NEVER change money here as well. The receptionist offered to change me 2.3 lira for 1£, while outside they offered 2.74lira for a £, and the day before i just got change for 2.8 lira. Ridiculous. Probably he thought Asian tourists are all dumb (I dont think its the hotel service, just that particular receptionist tried to make money out of me). So BE CAREFUL

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gpttruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I spent three nights recently at the Tilia and would like to weigh in. Although, Expedia indicates that the hotel is in the "Grand Bazaar" area, after having visited Istanbul and now know the city a bit, that statement is a stretch. Yes, the hotel is located two or three tram stations away from it but is hardly super close as you might think.
The hotel was fine-clean, decent room. As I was alone it was fine but for two people it would have been quite small.
My main complaint is the area. The area according to my Turkish friends who live there is a bit rough. You probably won't get robbed or knifed late at night but as single woman, I didn't feel comfortable walking near there after 11 PM and was forced to take taxis which added to the cost considerably. My advice would be to pick a hote if you want to be in Sultanahmet which is much closer to the tram stops and where you'd feel better at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eliana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

tilia hotel is location is excellent and service is good. breakfast and lunch is very delicious. we stay 10 days. room cleaning is the best . reception staff is very friendly..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank angelitsa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel was fine overall, some small points left something to be desired though. The rooms are quite small, and ours, while having an excellent, up close view of a mosque, proved to be a nightmare during the night-early hours of the morning, when the sermon started in the mosque. Also, the cleaning part was more tidying up than cleaning, the towels and the bed-sheets weren't changed at all during our 7 night's stay. The breakfast was fine, plentiful, although a bit repetitive. The staff were nice, although their knowledge of English was dismal, very hard to make oneself understood.

All in all, a decent, average hotel, nicely decorated and with a very good, central location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186338Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

'We stayed at Tilia Hotel in IStanbul, Turkey for 10 nights. It was one of the worst experiences I have had with a hotel: bad service, careless staff, bell men asking for money, not allowing bringing water to our rooms. We had to ask for everything including soap, pillows, blankets, our phone did not work, ... The only good thing was location even though they could not even tell us where to go for dinner!' There was no concierge, no bell man to carry our luggage unless we begged them to help and when they did they immediately asked for money! every morning, they ran out of eggs on the buffet, and immediately at 10AM they turned off the lights to kick us out of the breakfast room. Not my idea of a place where you relax and have a good time. You can get much better value for your money in the area. Believe me, DO NOT stay here. A nightmare of a hotel. At the end they overchraged us for Mini bar that we had not used!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank weltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#892 of 1,171 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
#424 of 1,171 in Istanbul
291 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Hamidiye
Hotel Hamidiye
#905 of 1,171 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Klas Hotel
Klas Hotel
#746 of 1,171 in Istanbul
409 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Oran Hotel
Oran Hotel
#606 of 1,171 in Istanbul
210 reviews
Grand Yavuz Hotel
#623 of 1,171 in Istanbul
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tilia

Address: Kemalpasa Mah. Mahmudiye Cesmesi Cad. No: 3 | Laleli-Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #999 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $34 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tilia 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing