We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Turkish fare under the Galata Tower”
Review of Kiva Han

Kiva Han
Ranked #549 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Turkish fare under the Galata Tower”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We came to Istanbul from New York to hold a Jazz workshop, our host booked this restaurant for us on the third night. The location is fantastic, between the music stores and the tower we had a blast, the food was really good and the staff was friendly and attentive. I even asked them to charge me my phone.We had wine, beers appetizers and various entrees and the check was around $30 us per person. I even forgot my phone there and then i picked it up the next day with no issues whatsoever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    142
    36
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Anatolian Food”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Given that we didn't have time to go to Anatolia on our trip it was really fortuitous that we stumbled upon this restaurant while headed to the Galata Tower. It's really fantastic food in a convenient location and it's unlike most of the food you'll see in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ghoshrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Innovative cuisine”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you are looking for something a little different than the standard Turkish cafe dinner offerings, try Kiva. Don't be fooled by its Galata Tower location-- food is imaginatively prepared, and take standards and does them different.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This restaurant is located right next to the Galata Tower. There are great choices on the menu, and you can see lots of the dishes and select from them. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank timetobeinspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalborg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Anatolian taste with friendly service”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A place where you will certainly enjoy the taste of a long tradition of Anatolian food .You can choose a certain dish or ask them to serve small tastes of a few dishes to satisfy your curiosity . The taste of the food , the whole atmosphere and the surroundings are all support each other to give one a perfect time. A place you will remember with it`s taste and surroundings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sundaysytmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiva Han also viewed

 

Been to Kiva Han? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing