We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sur Ocakbasi

Sur Ocakbasi
Ranked #337 of 13,378 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fener & Balat
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

went there with some friends and tried the Büryan kebap and sac tava. Didn't find the Büryan kebap that good, but the sac tava was amazing. We tried something made with Lamb intestine as well. Don't forget to try the Ayran there. we three had food for 60 TL which is very good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mateo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    88
    33
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Turkish throw down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very delicious and authentic food. Must try the buryan kabob and the sac tava. Found it a little pricey, but totally delicious. Will visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lamb. The best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had lamb two ways - the tandor cooked (pit roasted), which came as a "sandwich" with two pieces of pita and kebab, which came as a platter with bulgar, etc. We were first served a plate of salads and bread. We finished with the house dessert which was ice cream with a sweet grain surround. Everything was very very good, but the lamb is fabulous. We liked the tandor lamb a bit better, but the actual lamb was wonderful however it is cooked. The dessert seemed a bit strange but was good, and definitely not something you will have everywhere. The restaurant seemed filled with locals the evening we were there, everyone sharing dishes and having a good time. If you like lamb don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Xenoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Turkish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant offers real authentic Turkish food of excellent quality. They have indoor seating or outside. We sat outside and ordered kebab collection for two. We were also served with Ayran, the traditional Turkish drink. Service was good and although menus were in Turkish only, every dish had a photograph attached, so making the choice was easy. Prices really reasonable, we paid around 28 euro for a full meal and ice cream for two people. This is the real deal when it come to Turkish food

Helpful?
Thank JV_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Udine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good so much so cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Before all, i went here during the Ramadan and in this period they do a special menue.
We were 3 friends we took corba soup, spicy and fresh; rating out of 1 - 10 i'd say 8.
Appetizer small cold ball of cuscus with tomato to grab with a leaf of lattuce 7
timbale of rise chicken and almonds 7.5
Lamb kebab cooked in a pit served on simple brad, delicious rate 8
Mix dish of kebabs with vegetables and cus cus ..Huge quantity, very good quality of meat vote 9
Dessert a sweet polenta-like with cinnamon, butter and icecream inside 7.5.
The staff were always kind and helpful.
The quantity of food is huge and the price is very cheap. With 15 euro eachone you can eat till exploding.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gimul_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sur Ocakbasi also viewed

 

Been to Sur Ocakbasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing