We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kicked out of room because someone bought our beds after we paid.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hush Hostel Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hush Hostel Lounge
Ranked #7 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kicked out of room because someone bought our beds after we paid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We had 4 people, paid for 4 beds, but upon reaching our room one of the beds was in use. We said we'd be fine with three, and my friends shared the single bed.

Then at 3am the owner of the 4th bed comes in and declares he wants privacy so the hostel dude kicks us out of the room. They stuck us across the street in a moldy storage area with two mattresses on the floor and a bunk bed (which was where the hostel guy sleeps, so that was nice of him to do), but we payed for 4 beds with a bathroom down the hall. Instead got kicked out of the beds we payed for (minus one, technically) and got stuck in a storage room with mattresses. We tried to get a refund, and that's where the friendliness ended. Needless to say we didn't get what we paid for and we were dissatisfied to say the least.

Room Tip: Hope someone doesn't decide to buy your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adplusverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    83
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
90
91
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

The hostel is a perfect place to stay on the Asian —close to everything, shops, bars, activities and ferries to the European side, and very quiet, even when your window overlooks the street.
The young staff is friendly and very helpful. Feels a bit like home when you read in sofas in the lounge!
Do go!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laure38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hostel is just a five minute walk from the Kadiköy pier and thus located conveniently when it comes to transport. It's a bit far away from the pubs and bars though. The rooms are simple but clean, nothing fancy. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere in general is quite relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Inamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is exactly the case, when you get what you pay for. The price is good, but don't expect to feel like in a hotel. It's a hostel. You can eat own food, surf the internet close to others, share the bathroom. The location is good, not far from a ferry to European part of town. And honestly I expected bigger mess outside the street, but except the football match, there was no problem. Maybe the breakfast and a lady from staff that was too friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hush Hostel Moda
#63 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#18 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hush Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hush Hostel Lounge

Property: Hush Hostel Lounge
Address: Rasimpasa Mah. Rihtim Cad. Iskele Sok. 46 Kadikoy, Istanbul 34716, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hush Hostel Lounge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hush Hostel Lounge is the ideal place for travelers seeking the true spirit of Istanbul. We are proud to be able to offer you fun, clean and affordable accommodations in a newly renovated historical and stylish building in the heart of Kadikoy, a vibrant (and safe) entertainment district full of indoor-outdoor bars, live music venues, shops, restaurants and cafes. Located on the Asian Side of the city, Hush is in close proximity to a transportation hub that services the whole city, including the ferry which takes you to the European side. The common area on the main floor consists of a guest kitchen and a cozy lounge area where guests can watch TV/DVDs, play musical instruments or attend to live performances. The hostel also boasts a spacious garden area for full relaxation and a terrace with a panoramic view of the city. With its high ceilings and new furnishings, your experience at the Hush Hostel Lounge will surely be unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hush Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing