We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnificent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnificent Hotel
Ranked #305 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Near to the historical places in Istanbul.
Food is good, rooms are clean and staff are friendly.
The staff cant speak English properly, one person in the reception is speaking English fairly.
Price of the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTZ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
22
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
307 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I arrived at this hotel without reservation (it had never happened in my life). The competence and kindness of the staff and the manager were something unforgettable, because I found the Magnificent because of a very bad situation. They not only solved my problem, but they made me feel home, safe. They gave me a beautiful room at a very low price and they helped me to spend a fantastic holiday.
The structure has some deficiencies but being a three star you can forgive the lack of an elevator, for example.
The breakfast is delicious and rich, served by a nice lady in a marveillous terrace with fabulous views of the Golden Horn.
Excellent position to reach the most important monuments of Sultanahmet.
Large, bright room with balcony, comfortable bed, big bathroom, huge shower ...
A true gem, would recommend to anyone and I'm sure if I went back to Istanbul would choose the Magnificent without fail!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Great valued hotel that has been recently updated in the old part of Istanbul in Sultanahmet. Clean, big buffet style breakfast and a very nice bathroom. But what made this hotel great was the night manager Serkan. He helped plan our days and gave us some good advice and tips. Most importantly he is such a nice person. Thanks again Serkan!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meditaranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was small but comfortable. Bathroom very modern. Breakfast below average no fruit. Sfaff very friendly and helpful..The hotel appeared to have been modernised,fittings were excellent and new. Wlthin walking distance to the Blue Mosque,Hagia SophiaTopkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Yes, I really suggest you to book your room at the Magnificent Hotel. A part of the position, right in the middle of Sultanahmet, the centre of the hystorical city, this hotel can offer you the perfect place where to spend your few days of holyday in Istanbul. The staff is absolutely kind and friendly. In our particular case, they offer us all their support for getting back oure baggages lost during the flight change in Rome. Moreover, the room was very clean and every service was present: from the fridge to the telephone untill the free wifi access. Spend few minutes to visit the little AyaSophia, just 100 meters from the hotel. One of the most peacefull place of the old city; take a drink, listen to some music and relax in one of the artist bars in front of the mosque. Enjoy Istanbul, what a wonderfull city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucadalfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived pretty early, around 7am. We couldn't check-in yet which is understandable but they did hold our bags so we could explore a bit the morning before check-in time. The basement room that we had, although tiny was neat and modern. The bathroom had new and modern finishes. I do however think in order to create a bit more space the arrangement of the bed needs some thought or perhaps to get a smaller bed in the tiny space. The basement room can also be a bit annoying if you're a light sleeper as you can hear voices and footsteps nearly all through the night and people also have a habit of sitting on the window ledge just outside your window to smoke and chat, sometimes quite loudly. We had 3 different receptionists during our stay, two spoke a fair bit of English but one not so well. Omar was particularly helpful and informative when it came to info about the city and giving suggestions. Our room was not cleaned daily but rather it was cleaned on request so you had to leave your key at reception if you wanted your room cleaned. Our coffee/tea was not replaced either. It seems as if there's one lady who does the room cleaning and arranges the breakfast so she might be a bit busy when the hotel is fully booked. We did enjoy the breakfast. It was fresh and a good range of items and it was included in the price of our stay which was great. The breakfast room was at the very top on the terrace overlooking much of Sultanahmet. There's also a restaurant opposite the hotel and lots of food options all around. The Blue Mosque is mere minutes away. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Magnificent Hotel, would recommend it and would love to return to it and to the wonderful city of Istanbul one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

A small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, it offers good value and a good location. It is close to the centre, and offers easy access to public transport in Istanbul and some of the main sights. The room was fine - a good size and it had obviously been renovated to some extent within the last 12 months, particularly the bathroom. The breakfast was good quality and very adequate. It is a slightly steep climb up the hill to the Aghia Sofia and Blue Mosque, but this would only present a problem of people. There are plenty of small places to eat and drink locally with reasonable prices and quality.

This hotel doesn't pretend to be five star luxury, but it is very good in respect of value for money and trying hard to please its customers. The staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful and were very accommodating.

The road outside does get busy at times - it is narrow and suffers slightly from blockages, but despite being in a room overlooking the road, this was not a problem at night at all, so we had very good nights sleep during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 124RobertS124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#456 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Fors Hotel
#595 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#385 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Erenler
Hotel Erenler
#148 of 1,012 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sunlife Hotel Old City
Sunlife Hotel Old City
#94 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Sultanahmet
Art City Hotel Istanbul
Art City Hotel Istanbul
#68 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnificent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnificent Hotel

Property: Magnificent Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasaofya Mah. Kadirga Liman Cad. No:207-209 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnificent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Hotel is located in the old peninsula of Istanbul within walking distance to its highlights; Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace Museum, Archeological Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Milennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome, all of them in walking distance within few minutes. This hotel is an ideal destination for those who wish to live in old Istanbul in a modern and luxurious environment. During your stay in Istanbul, Magnificent Hotel offers you accommodation with warm hospitality and welcomes you to one of the best located hotels in Istanbul. Nicely located far enough from the noisy streets and close enough to all the touristic and panoramic points. We don’t offer you just an accommodation, we offer you a sweet home, home away home, a pure friendship and assurance with joyful moments. Our hotel also situated very close to the seaside and you can reach the sea within 3 minutes by walking and enjoy a fresh walking or jogging. Magnificent Hotel has got 11 standard rooms. All of the rooms well designed for its visitors' comfort. We will be happy to host you in our clean and fresh rooms with luxurious facilities. We also have got an open air panoramic terrace overlooking Marmara sea. Our terrace is open four seasons. You will really get pleasure in having your drink and dinner here during the romantic Istanbul nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnificent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing