We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The clattering pulse of Sultanahmet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Empress Theodora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Empress Theodora Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The clattering pulse of Sultanahmet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was the second place we stayed in Istanbul. The rooms were clean though very small. It is well located for Sultanahmet. We loved the cleaning lady she was very warm and seemed to care about her job and the people who stayed at the hotel. The walls were thin. We were kept awake one night by a bickering couple. The hotel is situated along the tramway path so it can get very noisy. The windows are well insulated but still the noise is noticeable. Being somewhat laid back, we embraced it as a reminder of the hustle and bustle of city life- a city of 18 million people. You might not feel the same way and I admit I would make sure next time I had a room on the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: the front of the hotel is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    66
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
72
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Empress Theodora hotel in 2 segments. I got there early morning before check-in time and left my luggage at the hotel. The hotel is very close to Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Aya Sofia, Blue mosque etc. All are within a 5-10min walk away. Also, it is right by the tram line, which was helpful.

Breakfast - A huge variety of fruits, cheese, breads etc. Would have been nice if the tea was restocked daily. I'm not a coffee drinker and found limited tea options in the morning.

Staff members were accommodating - We had to leave for Cappadocia for 2 days and had a lot of luggage so the hotel manager, Ahmet Mala said we could leave it behind and they would securely store it.

Rooms - we were 4 friends and had gotten 2 rooms - one had a window and the other didn't. the room with a window didn't have a great view plus we were never really in the room so it doesn't really matter if you get a room without a window - plus you'll save 20 euros/night. it would have been nice if they stocked the bathroom with additional soaps - i had to make a request for them upon our return from cappadocia.

Airport pickup was included - we were coming in 3 different lots and one lot had to wait for over an hour before the guy who was getting them showed up to the airport. he claimed that he was given the wrong time for arrival - which couldn't have been true because i had confirmed 3 times with the reception desk the timings for pickup. We took the airport shuttle on our way back to the airport which was for around 6 euros.

overall, the people were nice and even though the hotel reception wasn't impressive the services were good :) i'd go and stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed a full week at this hotel and were pleased with it. We had seen its lobby prior to our stay as we were in Istanbul for a few days in September and were a bit put off by the non impressive lobby. However, when back in October we were pleased with the room we were given; spacious enough, comfortable, very clean and had a big cupboard for our clothes . The room had a fridge but unfortunately it did not work and was not fixed during our stay despite our enquiries to the front desk. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Haiga Sophia, the Topkapi palace and a tramway stop: its location is very convenient.
The rooftop terrace is nice and accessible all day. The breakfast buffet was impressive : many choices and the attention we received from the host helped start our day on a good note. The staff at the front desk very friendly and helpful.
Points to consider: although the bathroom was spacious, the shower is small. Ask fo a room on the upper floors: there is more light.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsRsmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Fatih from Bonita tour travel agency booked this hotel for us. The location of the hotel is central so you are a walking distance from the major attractions. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Their roof terrace is a great way to start the day for your breakfast where you can sit and see sultanahmet from above. Highly recommend for it's location, staff and reasonable price .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magda_koufariotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a kind of hotel you need just to sleep, coming back to the room late at night and waking up early morning to do more sightseeing. Rooms feature en suite bathroom, satellite TVs, are very clean, not really spacious. There is a breakfast server right on the roof, offering a limited variety of options. The location is unbeatable - 2min to the Hagia Sophia, right in the middle of city. There is a tram line right by hotel, the stop is a couple of minutes walk. The price-quality balance is very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel was ideal for me. I took the metro from the airport and apart from one line change, arrived on the doorstep (practically) of this hotel. Having stayed at the Ilkay and Orient Express hotel on the same street very close by before, I knew this hotel was in the middle of the old city, my favorite place to stay. Whether you want to walk to or take the excellent metro/tram system to the grand bazaar, spice market or Galata bridge you can't beat this location. The staff were polite and helpful and the room was large and clean with a fridge, coffee making facilities and daily large water. All these features especially the last three were a real treat, as a lot of hotels don't offer them. My favorite aspect of this hotel which helped to make my stay wonderful was the rooftop breakfast area. Part indoors, part outdoors, it was the such a lovely way to start my day. The breakfast was at a very good standard and it was difficult to not linger there, enjoying my breakfast for over an hour or so. I also used their computer in this area a few times in the afternoon. I didn't check their Wi Fi connection but preferred to use this facility instead. I hope they keep up this standard as I was very satisfied and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very practical hotel in a fantastic location, close to everything that is worth seeing in Istanbul. Recommend

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Merih 2 Hotel
Merih 2 Hotel
#979 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#138 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kervan Hotel
Kervan Hotel
#531 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#257 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dongyang Hotel Istanbul
Dongyang Hotel Istanbul
#282 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Theodora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Theodora Hotel

Property: The Empress Theodora Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi Alemdar Caddesi No:16 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Empress Theodora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Empress Theodora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing