We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hypnos Design Hotel
Ranked #192 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fantastic little hotel; They were very helpful as we weren't able to get on the flight we were suppose to and they held the room. We booked the pick up which seemed a bit chaotic when we got there as you get one man holding a sign, another taking you to the mini bus and another driving the bus. The driver was friendly and informative and gave us a welcome bottle of water and even some Turkish delight. The welcome at the hotel was great and we got a drink and some information before being guided up to the room. The room was as we'd seen on the internet and very nice. You get to choose breakfast and the choice for me was simple "Istanbul Breakfast". The location is slap bang in the middle of the tourist area, 10 minutes walk from Hagia Sofia, less than 10 from the New Mosque. Only negative was that the neighbours shower was next to the head of the bed (on the other side of the wall) so take some ear plugs in case your neighbour is an early riser. Otherwise absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richiric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

this hotel is anything but an hotel. it is friendly and so cozy that it feels like home. i want to return every time i am in the vicinity. the staff is helpful and terrific, the rooms are all individual and super. the shower bathroom and beds are exceptional standard and it just feels like home. i did not want to leave... and i always want to stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the moment you arrive you can expect and will receive first class service. The building , location , staff and food are great. We have just visited for a second time and found it to be even better than our last visit.We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehmet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hypnos Hotel for 15 days and it was a very good experience. The trip was part business and part vacation. The room (77) was a good size and one of the first to have enough starage space for us both, we have been working our way through mainly boutique hotels in Istanbul.
The hotel has an excellent team running it and combined the elements of being respectful, efficient and friendly. . The room, and the whole hotel was very clean, if interesting decoration, when you go to the Hypnos pay attention in the lift one side is all glass and the wall is also interesting. The location is very good less than 5 minutes from a tram stop and is in an area we know well.

We are already planning to return to the Hypnos at the end of August.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great hotel, great location,very nice staff, this is my second time to istanbul and I would stay here again. Food was very good as well,walking distance to all you want to see and do. Have some coffee and enjoy your stay...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I feel compelled to write my first ever review following a wonderful stay at the Hypnos hotel.

Everything from the arranged pickup at the airport to leaving for home 11 days later was top notch. This was my second stay at the Hypnos (and it will not be the last). The first was a one night stopover that confirmed this as a fantastic place to stay.

Central to all the sights and 1 minute from the tram line. The hotel has a small but stylish cafe on the ground floor with both inside and outside seating. Great for breakfast ( my wife like the Turkish omelet so much she had it for 10 straight days!), a quick lunch, coffee, dinner or just chilling with a glass of. Wine. Our room was the top floor suite with balcony with fantastic views of Hagia Sophia. We enjoyed many evenings sharing a bottle of wine there.

The shower is to say the least a feature, having a glass wall onto the bedroom! Everything was top notch throughout. And it was a shame to have to pack up and leave.

All the staff spoke excellent English which made things so much easier.

just 5 doors down the street is an excellent Pub come sports bar where it was great to join in with the locals watching top English, Italian, Turkish and European football.a

Last tip for those planning to visit Istanbul. Consider the Istanbul Eats walking tour, especially the two markets two continents tour. As well as gaining a real understanding of the Turkish food scene it was an invaluable introduction to the Asian side which we re visited later on several other occasions.

We are very much looking forward to revisiting Hypnos in a few years time

Room Tip: The Anatolia suite is the most expensive room but has more space and fantastic views of Hagia Sophia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Best city hotel i have ever stayed.The staff was very helpful and well trained. Hotel is located in the sultanahmet square you just walk 5 minutes to see Hagia Sofia and other historical places. Each room has different designs we stayed at glamour room and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#222 of 1,160 in Istanbul
396 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#136 of 1,160 in Istanbul
285 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#26 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#248 of 1,160 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Sultanahmet
Blu Hotel Istanbul
Blu Hotel Istanbul
#532 of 1,160 in Istanbul
103 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#416 of 1,160 in Istanbul
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hypnos Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hypnos Design Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Str. No:10, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hypnos Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hypnos Design Hotel has been family owned, designed and managed since 2010, as a family we believe in our Turkish heritage of hospitality and we are happy to welcome your our boutique hotel, and welcome any questions or comments. Hypnos guests have the opportunity for an unique experience depending on the room of their choice. Each of our rooms are individually designed to its own theme, Ottoman-style patterns and details, arabesque visions, walls covered with nostalgic poetry, vintage movie posters, a gypsy ambiance of dancing colour, glamorous and sexy, modern and outstanding. "At the Hypnos Design Hotel the only common thread is a warm welcome, quality and comfort." Travel in time starting with the 6th century; the historic sites such as Topkapi Palace, the Hagia Sophia Museum, Basilica Cistern, the Sultan Ahmet Mosque, Museum of Archaelogy, the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar are only a few steps away from Hypnos. Apart from the attractions, enrich your experience with the nearby shopping centres, the hub of the city's famous nightlife and fascinating Bosphorus cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hypnos Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing