We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hypnos Design Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$385
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$157
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
258
100
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
100
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquetopkapi palacesmall hotelbreakfast was includedstay there againtram stopsultanahmet squarestayed here for nightshotel is situatedexcellent locationbalconymedusasightsosmansirkecineighborhoodbosphorus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 376 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What makes a hotel a "Boutique Hotel"? ..... Attention to details, this Hotel was definitely no a Boutique one.
This was our experience at Hypnos Hotel:


- Customer service: though the staff is friendly, they barely speak english.
- All rooms share the same AC/ Heater system. So if you want to have ac you may not be able to because other guests may want the heater on. We woke up each night in sweats...
- No basic compliments typically found in Boutique hotels; such as water bottles, fruit plate, umbrellas on a rainy day, or daily replacement of shampoo and soap.
- No toiletries; actually you will get a gel dispenser to be used as shampoo and soap. And doesn't even get replenished daily.
- TV has 600 channels but only two are in English. And you get commercials every 20 minutes that last 30 minutes.
- No common spaces such as a lounge, lobby, bar etc. There is only one small dining area that is also public. And please note that your room will barely fit two, bathroom don't even think about it!
- Private area (room/ bathroom) are very small. Almost too small for two...
- Bathroom shower is outdated, dirty, and mold was growing around the shower head.
- You don't get a balcony regardless what they say. There is one big window that could only be opened 35 degrees.
- Location: hotel sits on a very very busy street, yes it is very close to center if town but if your intention is to rest while here, it won't happen. You will also hear the call to prayer 5 times a day. - There is a mosque very close to the hotel.
- Transportation to and from airport should have been included in the price; however nobody called us back or emailed to set it up. We tried calling, emailing, and facebooking and still couldn't get a hold of anyone in the hotel.
- Internet connection is too slow so don't even bother bringing your computer or iPad.

We normally don't write any reviews, but our experience was so bad we had to.

Good luck to you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yullijimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HypnosH, Guest Relations Manager at Hypnos Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Hypnos Design Hotel Guest,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor recommend. As Hypnos Design Hotel family, we are sorry to hear your complains. It was your second time in Hypnos Design Hotel and we have thought that you had choosen us because of your before satisfaction. Hypnos Design Hotel is located in Sultanahmet area and the area is busy with tourist like all other Sultanahmet Hotels. Visitors who preferred comfortable and well located hotels, should prefer us. Transportation is for charge, as mentioned in our website but we have a cost-effective transportation policy. We would always be pleased to help you, please allow us to know all your views and suggestions to improve our hotel standards.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at the Hypnos Design Hotel. Unfortunately, it rained almost non-stop during our short stay but thankfully, we were staying at this small, perfectly designed hotel where every detail has been lovingly thought out. We stayed in the Arabesque Room which is on the third floor and overlooks Ebusuud Cadessi. All the furniture and fabrics in the room are of a very high quality and made for a very comfortable stay and although the semi-opaque door to the bathroom was initially a surprise you soon get used to it! The glass lift and artwork on the elevator shaft walls are an enchanting talking point, as are the other artefacts in the hotel.Breakfast is taken in the small cafe attached to the hotel and isn't the usual buffet breakfast. You can order whatever you want from the breakfast menu and we especially loved the thick, Turkish yogurt with honey! The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring all the sights in Sultanahmet and is steps away from the Gulhane tram stop. Our only very minor niggles were that our room was too hot at night and we would've loved fresh orange juice for breakfast. But if you're looking for a small, exquisitely designed hotel with friendly, helpful staff then look no further! We loved every minute of our stay there!

Room Tip: If you book through the hotel website you can choose exactly which room you stay in!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a a small boutique hotel - very friendly and a great place to stay.
good restuarant and right in the centre - just where you want to be
Service is good and rooms well appointed and comfortable

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

No doubt that Hypnos hotel has build a good reputation during the 2,5 years of their existence and for a good reason. Small but tastefully decorated rooms, great service, attention to details and located on the footsteps of all the sights, what more would one want from a hotel.
I got the French room on the second floor, and even though it was only one floor from the street, the noise was not a problem.
Breakfast is a la carte, decent. Try the eggs with Turkish sausage, very nicely done. Down side, if you order Fresh orange juice, it's not fresh at all.
Also a minor inconvenience but you could hear the shower of the room next door.
Highly recommend trying Cafe Mese if you stay in Hypnos, you won't regret it, only 5 min walk away.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms are good, although a bit on the small side
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanNomad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Last weekend we stayed at hotel Hypnos in Istanbul...we had the Anatole room witch had a great view and balcony..it was very clean and we felt every time when we came into the room like home..The staff is very helpfull and friendly..I can not say(in my bad English;) ) how much we liked everything at The hotel...When i come back i'm gonna book again for hypnos..it's a beautiful place to stay,nearby everything(we only stayed for 2 day's,but because of The great location we saw everything we've wanted) Thanks for giving us the feeling everytime like we were coming Home!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_belgian_sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews