We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views from the roof room”
Review of Optimist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Optimist Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,061 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing views from the roof room”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at the Optimist for a week and overall, had a great stay.

We stayed in the roof room which had amazing views of the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and the obelisks on the hippodrome. We didn't find many other views in Istanbul that really beat it. Waking up to the call to prayer every morning with a view of the blue mosque was a great experience.

The room was a good size, the bed fairly comfortable and the room was clean. We did have a small problem with our shower not draining, but overall, the room was good. You do need to climb 4 flights of stairs to reach the room, so bear this in mind if you have particular access requirements.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and made the experience great.

If you want a hotel room that is safe, and consistent in terms of western standards, then this may not be for you. But if you are after a good Turkish experience with amazing views and wonderful local staff, then the Optimist is great.

Room Tip: The roof room is worth the extra money for the spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    31
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
13
59
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

This was hands down the best hotel I stayed in through Europe. The staff were genuinely welcoming and willing to help in any way. We originally were only going to stay for two nights but quickly decided to stay for the rest of our time in Istanbul. The location is fantastic - it is hippodrome adjacent - and the views from the top floor were incredible. Of course it is opposite the blue mosque so be prepared to hear the call to prayer - and be warned it can be quite loud!

The rooms are clean and recently renovated. There are only four rooms, one per floor. Maybe start an exercise regime before you go, the stairs are a bit of climb however there are more than enough strong men to help carry your suitcases and bags up if needed.

The staff were fantastic. We spent quite a few hours in the cafe talking and getting to know the  and by the end of our stay it was more like saying goodbye to friends than a hotel. It was genuine warmth and nothing was too much trouble.

This isn't a five star chain hotel, which I think is a good thing. If that's what you want then this isn't the place for you. If you want somewhere safe, clean, with great staff and an opportunity to interact with real Turkish people then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is THE place to stay in Istanbul for an authentic travel experience.
You won't get this kind of service in a chain hotel.
The staff here are amazing.Its worth staying for a few days, eating in the restaurant downstairs, having a few drinks and getting to know the people that work here, they really are incredible and you'll see real Turkish hospitality in action.
My friend and i spent nearly 2 weeks in Istanbul and stayed in 3 different hotels and this is the ONLY hotel we would stay in when we go back.
The location is excellent. Easy walking distance to everything you want to see in the old town and easy transport links to the Asian side.
There wouldn't be many hotels in Istanbul with views as good as these. The room on the top floor has the most stunning views.
The staff there really are amazing. They made us feel really welcome, looked after us and really went that extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
I can't recommend this place highly enough. There are no elevators though so walking up to the 4th floor after a long day exploring the city can be a bit rough. But the staff were awesome and carried our luggage up/down for us.

Room Tip: The terrace room on the top floor has absolutely amazing views. I cant imagine another hotel in Ista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you don't want to bring bed bugs back home or get food poisoning, please stay away from this place. I have nothing personal against this place. I just want to give people headp-up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evasolyluna, Public Relations Manager at Optimist Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
The team at Optimist Hotel is very sorry to read this review. It clearly shows that there are still areas that need improvement and that something went really wrong during this guest's visit. Unfortunately, no specific details are given as the reason for such a disastrous review. We will do our best to find out more about the problems this guest experienced and we will definitely change whatever is in our hands to solve them. Luckily, as shown in the other reviews, we also have very satisfied and enthousiastic guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just spent 3 days in this tiny hotel at the corner of the Sultanahmet Square (Hippodrome). Beside the strategic location and excellent view toward the Blue Mosque, we also find the legendary Turkish hospitality here. Highly recommended for budget travellers's lover!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor, noise from the cafe could penetrate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuMurBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I was lucky to find this hotel having space on a super busy weekend during September. Luckily they'd just had a checkout and I took the terrace room on the top...

I can't quite describe to you the feeling of waking up in the morning with the sun rising behind the blue mosque, and being in a such a place to see it. The views from the room are so scenic, peaceful, we stayed a lot in the morning and evenings just to be around the awesome energy of it.

Muhammet and his lovable staff are brilliant. Nothing is too much bother. The food is great, they make nargile (sheesha) PROPERLY, not like many other places in Istanbul. My girlfriend and I had a truly incredible time here, and a lot of it was down to the location and energy of the place :)

We also stayed in the lower rooms which are also nice, but we had been truly spoiled by the terrace room at the top... Sublime! Will definitely stay there again when I come back to Istanbul, which I hope is soon...

Room Tip: Choose the terrace, it is so so worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Located in a great area,on a very safe street, right in the heart of old town Istanbul, facing Blue Mosque which is just across the street. Everything is short walking distance, less than 5 min to Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar, 7 minutes to Topkapi Palace...There is a shuttle that takes u to the airport for about 5Euros, the staff is friendly and helpful, rooms clean with great view. Very convenient for single travelers. i will be back :)

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank criscrinteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#222 of 1,156 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#522 of 1,156 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#322 of 1,156 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#339 of 1,156 in Istanbul
342 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#425 of 1,156 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Optimist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Hotel

Property: Optimist Hotel
Address: At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 1,061 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Optimist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing