We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”
Review of Optimist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Optimist Hotel
Ranked #56 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you don't want to bring bed bugs back home or get food poisoning, please stay away from this place. I have nothing personal against this place. I just want to give people headp-up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evasolyluna, Public Relations Manager at Optimist Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
The team at Optimist Hotel is very sorry to read this review. It clearly shows that there are still areas that need improvement and that something went really wrong during this guest's visit. Unfortunately, no specific details are given as the reason for such a disastrous review. We will do our best to find out more about the problems this guest experienced and we will definitely change whatever is in our hands to solve them. Luckily, as shown in the other reviews, we also have very satisfied and enthousiastic guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    31
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
59
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just spent 3 days in this tiny hotel at the corner of the Sultanahmet Square (Hippodrome). Beside the strategic location and excellent view toward the Blue Mosque, we also find the legendary Turkish hospitality here. Highly recommended for budget travellers's lover!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor, noise from the cafe could penetrate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuMurBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I was lucky to find this hotel having space on a super busy weekend during September. Luckily they'd just had a checkout and I took the terrace room on the top...

I can't quite describe to you the feeling of waking up in the morning with the sun rising behind the blue mosque, and being in a such a place to see it. The views from the room are so scenic, peaceful, we stayed a lot in the morning and evenings just to be around the awesome energy of it.

Muhammet and his lovable staff are brilliant. Nothing is too much bother. The food is great, they make nargile (sheesha) PROPERLY, not like many other places in Istanbul. My girlfriend and I had a truly incredible time here, and a lot of it was down to the location and energy of the place :)

We also stayed in the lower rooms which are also nice, but we had been truly spoiled by the terrace room at the top... Sublime! Will definitely stay there again when I come back to Istanbul, which I hope is soon...

Room Tip: Choose the terrace, it is so so worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Located in a great area,on a very safe street, right in the heart of old town Istanbul, facing Blue Mosque which is just across the street. Everything is short walking distance, less than 5 min to Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar, 7 minutes to Topkapi Palace...There is a shuttle that takes u to the airport for about 5Euros, the staff is friendly and helpful, rooms clean with great view. Very convenient for single travelers. i will be back :)

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank criscrinteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nootdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Optimist hotel in 2009, when they started with the renovations (on the top floor). Location can't be better: at the Hippodrome. An the best, the staff. Very helpful and friendly. In May this year we spent some days there and all the hotel had been renovated. All rooms are new, and you notice it. Some people of the staff have changed but the manager is the same. I would not think it twice, if I go to Istambul again, which I will, I will surely check first this hotel. It is very great solution when you are looking for a central, relative cheap and casual place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgrade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just charming, trust the photos! Rooms are spacious and bright, sleeping comfortable, breakfast fine. Lively and relaxed atmosphere and hosts ready to lend a hand in whatever issue you might think of. Probably not the best spot for those who call for Swiss-like precision in every detail, but excellent for getting acquainted to the city, it’s people and it’s life.

Room Tip: if you're a couple ask for the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nadezdaBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed 7 nights at Optimist Hotel, and it could not have been better.

The rooms are renovated in may and it shows, my room looked completely new when i checked in. A great start.

Stayed on floor three from four floors (there are only four rooms, one on each floor). When you see the view from the two top floors you know that you come to the right place. The Blue Mosque is just roght in front of you, looks spectacular at night.

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. They also have a restaurant in front of the hotel. It is on the square where the Blue Mosque is. Knowing the square was once the center of the roman empire makes you think while having a beer...

If I go back to Istanbul I know where I am going to stay.

Best regards,
Andreas Meyer
Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meYermannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#221 of 1,141 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#482 of 1,141 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#335 of 1,141 in Istanbul
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#312 of 1,141 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#311 of 1,141 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,141 in Istanbul
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Optimist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Hotel

Property: Optimist Hotel
Address: At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Optimist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing