We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #37 of 1,113 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel is in a good location close to the Blue mosque and tram stop.
Rooms were very clean and modern with nice shower facilities.
Reception had English speaking friendly staff.
We choose bed and breakfast but the breakfast buffet had little choice, a few fruits, cheese bread and egg.
Not sure how the cleaners used to clean, we had a mark on our duvet and the cleaners just turned it over.
Overall a great hotel would stay again if cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 are pretty quiet to outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUDs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    163
    20
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
368
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went to Turkey with my girl friend on May 2014 for Istanbul trip. We find this hotel on tripadvisor.com first I read the reviews then decide that to go this hotel. Actually I love thus hotel and employees.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emreny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have to say that me and my family had a great time at this hotel. The staff especially Canberk was of tremendous assistance. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay. That was the greatest Istanbul trip for me and my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Senatus hotel last week. The staff helped us with the map, which boat to take, etcetera. Very friendly! For the first night we had dinner in het hotel, which was very good (also because you get a drink for free ;) ). The room was very clean, and perfect. No balcony though but thats ok. The best thing I liked was walking to the hotel, passing by the Blue Mosque every night and relax every morning outside in the restaurant with a nice breakfast planning the day ahead.
Have a great trip! Berber

Room Tip: Senator room is perfect, in the back no nice view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I highly recommend this cosy hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I booked the standard double (senator), which was not big but very clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel is located on a busy street with lots of restaurants and bars a few steps away from both Aya sophia and the Blue Mosque. The room was in the back of the building, away from the street, so noise wasn't any problem. Breakfast was quite good and served in the adjacent restaurant. This restaurant is also very good for dinner. Hotel guests get a free drink here every evening between 6 and 8 pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torben88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had perfect time and very friendly people
Room was nice and clean
I really go back there to stay
Also palato restuarant nice too.
I will highly recommend
Staff very helpfully
Good value for hotel and restuarant
You're close to all the historical place's

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dannydanny132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our final leg of our trip to Turkey brought us full circle back to Istanbul. Opting to stay at a different hotel in Old Town than the one we stayed at during our initial leg in Istanbul, we booked a room at Senatus Hotel on Akbiyik Caddesi St., a narrow street of restaurants, hookah bars and hotels that pedestrians share with vehicles.

Arriving at 9:30am, we were able to check into our lower level rooms, which we opted from advice since they are away from the street level noise. Also, upon check-in we were given a slightly lower rate since the room rate had dropped from the time we booked. Nice gesture on the hotel's part.

Also, we were invited to have breakfast too since it did not end until 10:30am. The complimentary breakfast is served at the adjoining Palato Restaurant. The breakfast was nice but over the course of the two days we were there, they do not replenish the food items. So be wary late comers.

The room was on the smaller side, but it was clean and modern with a nice bathroom. The hotel has complementary Wi-Fi with a strong connection.

Overall, a nice modern hotel with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is located on a busy street with the restaurants and bars, a lower level room offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajleong273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#32 of 1,113 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#50 of 1,113 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#39 of 1,113 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,113 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,113 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,113 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing