We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #127 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having visited Istanbul previously I knew that this hotel was very well located in a good area. I emailed ahead to ask for separate beds for my daughter and I and we were given an absolutely wonderful room - in fact the best room in the hotel :) It had a really laid back vibe, everything about it was perfect. Small but great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 772 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were really pleased with this hotel. It was clean, the staff were friendly (particularly Selcuk), the showers were great, and the food was good. The hotel is located on a busy street but the rooms were surprisingly quiet (we didn't even hear the Blue Mosque which is just outside the window). Don't let the fact that this doesn't have a roof terrace put you off - you can easily head to one of the nearby rooftops for a meal or a drink. The hotel is in a great location and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms in Istanbul are fairly small, these are no exception. It may be worth paying for a slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

My dear guest ,
Thank you for a charming review.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you chose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great value - in general, Turkey is a very affordable destination but this hotel was by far one of the best bangs for our buck. We booked the Imperator room (#407 - which is on the top floor) and we were not disappointed. Very spacious with lots of cupboard space and room to move around - it felt truly luxurious after spending 4 days in a shoe box in London, England. The hotel is a small boutique one - still feels new and is kept very clean. The free WiFi was reliable, which always helps if you find yourself needing to do a bit of work while on vacation.

Selchuk, at the front desk, was very helpful with restaurant and entertainment recommendations. (BTW, if you are from Canada, he is a fan of Leonard Cohen.) He was readily available to assist with directions and setting up transportation to/from the airport (50 euros, roundtrip). We would recommend this as the taxi drivers in Istanbul are supposedly notorious for ripping off foreign tourists. (Tip according to Selchuk for taxis if you want to take one - look for an official "station logo"...it's painted on the side door of the cab, along with the car number.) We avoided taking cabs and instead opted to walk and/or take the tram (the latter option being very economical - about 3 lira for a one way trip...the Sultanahmet stop is about 5 mins from the hotel and there is a kiosk to buy tokens there. They gave us a tramway map at the front desk - the tram is modern, clean and very easy to use...stops are announced in advance and there are multiple lines servicing different districts.)

As for the hotel environs, it's a bustling area with many other hotels and restaurants. There are a number of mini-marts on the street where you can buy bottled water and other groceries. It is a vibrant area so it's not whisper quiet but we had no issues with street noise. We couldn't have picked a better area to stay in for our first trip to Istanbul. There are so many exotic sights and sounds - it was all so wondrous.

In case you are wondering, this hotel (and the general Sultanahmet area) is a world away from the unrest that transpired in Taksim Square - it wasn't an issue during our trip. (Note, you can also take the tram to the European part of Istanbul.)

As mentioned by other reviewers, the Senatus is in an ideal location with the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, etc. no more than a 10 min walk from the hotel. We must have passed the Blue Mosque at least a half dozen times during our 4 day stay at the hotel - a breathtaking sight in the evening. (For attractions, we noticed that they have one day, or two days in the case of Dolmabahce palace, that they are closed. Also, note that there is something called a Museum Pass that gets you access to a bunch of places - had we known about this, we definitely would have bought it as it nets out to the same if you visit 2-3 places AND you avoid what can be very long lines! There seem to be two options, with the more expensive one giving you admission to more places - do some research and save yourself from having to wait in line ups.)

The Grand Bazaar and Spice Market (Egyptian Bazaar) are also within walking distance from the hotel (about 25 mins and 40 mins, respectively, at a moderate pace).

The one thing about Sultanahmet is that people are relentless at attempting to get you into their restaurant or store, buy their wares, or join their tours (as they accost you on the street). Be polite and decline - but be prepared to be cajoled, implored, mercilessly entreated...you get the idea.

Finally - the BEST Turkish delight can be found at Cigdem (on the main road, Divan Yolu, near the Starbucks). A local recommended this place to me as the place where she buys from when bringing gifts. We're savouring the last of the most awesome delight we've ever tasted and are wishing we had more!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nijamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Senatus Hotel is the best value hotel in the Sultanahmet area.

Besides its convenient location in the Sultanahmet area (and all the advantages that it brings), this hotel probably features the largest rooms of all the boutique hotels in the Sultanahmet area. We were blown away by our corner room which boasted décor reminiscent of the Four Seasons, a picture window and a recessed area with 2 smaller windows. We enjoyed lots of storage space, there were 2 cupboards in our room, something that I do not remember in any of the other hotels that I have stayed in (especially in Europe when space only comes at a hefty price). We got to enjoy all this for a fraction of what we would have paid had we stayed at the Four Seasons itself, a mere stone’s throw away.

The only downside was the breakfast. In line with previous reviews, breakfast was disappointing. There were too few hot dishes and insufficient choice of cold items. The fruit juice was particularly bad. However, this was more than made up for by the friendly waiter and pet cat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack_T2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently traveled to Istanbul with a large party. We all stayed at the Senatus Hotel. The hotel is small and located right in the heart of everything. Within walking distance to major sites, shopping and restaurants. We received a friendly greeting, easy check in and had a really adorable and comfortable room. We were pleasantly surprised since we didn't know what to expect. They did an outstanding job handling our large group. The restaurant provides breakfast, but we really enjoyed dining at dinner time. Thank you to the staff for providing a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_traveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cosy, clean and chic hotel in the heart of Istanbul (old city). We could walk to all the key attractions in the city. Very friendly, attentive staff - we changed our itinerary last minute to fly to Cappadocia in the middle of our stay, and they accommodated us by holding our luggage safely and making sure we had a room when we got back. Only potential issue is that some of the rooms can be small, but I would attribute that to the area. The decor and cleanliness clearly compensates for it! Would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the old city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeptiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brilliant location and walking distance of all local attractions and huge choice of local restaurants in the quirky old town of Istanbul. We stayed on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel which we recommended by other travellers. No real noise issues apart from a wedding party that travelled through the street honking horns at midnight. Didn't really bother us. Nice decoration and clean. Restaurant staff were very friendly in the evening and provided good service. The breakfast was disappointing with a small selection of continental meats. cheeses, egg and fruit. Poor quality fruit juice. Much better breakfasts at other restaurants in the area. Overall a good stay. Need more fresh, quality choices for breakfast to improve review.,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,014 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,160 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,160 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,160 in Istanbul
930 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#84 of 1,160 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing