We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Spacious Room With A Décor Reminiscent Of The Four Seasons At A Fraction Of The Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spacious Room With A Décor Reminiscent Of The Four Seasons At A Fraction Of The Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Senatus Hotel is the best value hotel in the Sultanahmet area.

Besides its convenient location in the Sultanahmet area (and all the advantages that it brings), this hotel probably features the largest rooms of all the boutique hotels in the Sultanahmet area. We were blown away by our corner room which boasted décor reminiscent of the Four Seasons, a picture window and a recessed area with 2 smaller windows. We enjoyed lots of storage space, there were 2 cupboards in our room, something that I do not remember in any of the other hotels that I have stayed in (especially in Europe when space only comes at a hefty price). We got to enjoy all this for a fraction of what we would have paid had we stayed at the Four Seasons itself, a mere stone’s throw away.

The only downside was the breakfast. In line with previous reviews, breakfast was disappointing. There were too few hot dishes and insufficient choice of cold items. The fruit juice was particularly bad. However, this was more than made up for by the friendly waiter and pet cat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack_T2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    162
    20
    0
    1
See reviews for
97
363
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently traveled to Istanbul with a large party. We all stayed at the Senatus Hotel. The hotel is small and located right in the heart of everything. Within walking distance to major sites, shopping and restaurants. We received a friendly greeting, easy check in and had a really adorable and comfortable room. We were pleasantly surprised since we didn't know what to expect. They did an outstanding job handling our large group. The restaurant provides breakfast, but we really enjoyed dining at dinner time. Thank you to the staff for providing a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_traveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cosy, clean and chic hotel in the heart of Istanbul (old city). We could walk to all the key attractions in the city. Very friendly, attentive staff - we changed our itinerary last minute to fly to Cappadocia in the middle of our stay, and they accommodated us by holding our luggage safely and making sure we had a room when we got back. Only potential issue is that some of the rooms can be small, but I would attribute that to the area. The decor and cleanliness clearly compensates for it! Would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the old city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeptiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrinton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brilliant location and walking distance of all local attractions and huge choice of local restaurants in the quirky old town of Istanbul. We stayed on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel which we recommended by other travellers. No real noise issues apart from a wedding party that travelled through the street honking horns at midnight. Didn't really bother us. Nice decoration and clean. Restaurant staff were very friendly in the evening and provided good service. The breakfast was disappointing with a small selection of continental meats. cheeses, egg and fruit. Poor quality fruit juice. Much better breakfasts at other restaurants in the area. Overall a good stay. Need more fresh, quality choices for breakfast to improve review.,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
159 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Totally agree with the comments on location - could not be better. Room was clean, nice furnishings, spacious for a city-centre hotel. But breakfast was, frankly, rubbish - hardly any fruit, some omelette that had sat there for ages, and all tasted a bit odd. And for our evening meal (we only ate there once) we ordered a beef stew and rice, and the rice was SO salty it was inedible - and this wasn't down to my tastebuds as this wasn't the case at other places we ate at. The staff, as mentioned here, were (mainly) great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrington_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a short but great stay at the Senatus. We only stayed one night before starting a cruise and we were already familiar with Sultanahmet. We enjoyed the room, the location, the breakfast, and the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. They even allowed us late checkout. The location was perfect for our needs; Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome are very close and an easy walk up to see them one last time. We walked up to the Grand Bazaar in the morning to take care of our souvenir needs. The street the hotel is on is a well established cafe/restaurant/hotel street with a mixture that even includes youth hostels and bars with nargilehs, too much fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lehuasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First stay in Istanbul. Senatus Hotel is well placed in the old area of the city, within easy walking distance from main attractions. We found the hotel very friendly and clean, the staff attentive, relaxed and very helpful. The restaurant is excellent (we ate there each of our three nights). The room we had was excellent, only odd issue being a clear glass door for the bathroom!! Would most definitely recommend a visit and would stay again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are well worth having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#40 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#58 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#35 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#25 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing