We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding location-Friendly Staff-Nice Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 1,116 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding location-Friendly Staff-Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently traveled to Istanbul with a large party. We all stayed at the Senatus Hotel. The hotel is small and located right in the heart of everything. Within walking distance to major sites, shopping and restaurants. We received a friendly greeting, easy check in and had a really adorable and comfortable room. We were pleasantly surprised since we didn't know what to expect. They did an outstanding job handling our large group. The restaurant provides breakfast, but we really enjoyed dining at dinner time. Thank you to the staff for providing a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_traveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    166
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
114
386
60
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cosy, clean and chic hotel in the heart of Istanbul (old city). We could walk to all the key attractions in the city. Very friendly, attentive staff - we changed our itinerary last minute to fly to Cappadocia in the middle of our stay, and they accommodated us by holding our luggage safely and making sure we had a room when we got back. Only potential issue is that some of the rooms can be small, but I would attribute that to the area. The decor and cleanliness clearly compensates for it! Would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the old city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeptiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrinton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brilliant location and walking distance of all local attractions and huge choice of local restaurants in the quirky old town of Istanbul. We stayed on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel which we recommended by other travellers. No real noise issues apart from a wedding party that travelled through the street honking horns at midnight. Didn't really bother us. Nice decoration and clean. Restaurant staff were very friendly in the evening and provided good service. The breakfast was disappointing with a small selection of continental meats. cheeses, egg and fruit. Poor quality fruit juice. Much better breakfasts at other restaurants in the area. Overall a good stay. Need more fresh, quality choices for breakfast to improve review.,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Totally agree with the comments on location - could not be better. Room was clean, nice furnishings, spacious for a city-centre hotel. But breakfast was, frankly, rubbish - hardly any fruit, some omelette that had sat there for ages, and all tasted a bit odd. And for our evening meal (we only ate there once) we ordered a beef stew and rice, and the rice was SO salty it was inedible - and this wasn't down to my tastebuds as this wasn't the case at other places we ate at. The staff, as mentioned here, were (mainly) great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrington_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a short but great stay at the Senatus. We only stayed one night before starting a cruise and we were already familiar with Sultanahmet. We enjoyed the room, the location, the breakfast, and the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. They even allowed us late checkout. The location was perfect for our needs; Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome are very close and an easy walk up to see them one last time. We walked up to the Grand Bazaar in the morning to take care of our souvenir needs. The street the hotel is on is a well established cafe/restaurant/hotel street with a mixture that even includes youth hostels and bars with nargilehs, too much fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lehuasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

First stay in Istanbul. Senatus Hotel is well placed in the old area of the city, within easy walking distance from main attractions. We found the hotel very friendly and clean, the staff attentive, relaxed and very helpful. The restaurant is excellent (we ate there each of our three nights). The room we had was excellent, only odd issue being a clear glass door for the bathroom!! Would most definitely recommend a visit and would stay again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are well worth having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The Senatus is very clean, comfortable, and centrally located. All the major sites are within a 10 minute walk.

I saw some reviewers complain about the size of the rooms but I was quite pleased with the size which was downright spacious compared to other hotels in the area.

Best part of The Senatus is the staff, especially Gorkam, who are very friendly, helpful and warm.

I don't think you can so any better in this area and within this price range. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desconocido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#35 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#29 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#45 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,116 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing